Dominick Buffalino Blasts To Another New Egypt Victory

NEW EGYPT, NJ – On Bike Night at New Egypt Speedway, Dominick Buffalino pedaled to his second consecutive win by topping the Modified field. Bob Lineman, Jr. scored the checkered flag in the main event for the Hammer Sportsman. The Street Stock feature was taken by Jon Meyer.

Ryan Heim visited victory lane twice as he won both features for the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman. Joe Garey, Sr. claimed the 4-Cylinder race.

As the 30-lap Modified feature began, polesitter Steve Davis grabbed the lead with Chad Barney, Bryan Kuhl and Rich Rutski next in line. A slowing Matt Stangle brought out the first caution of the event with three circuits recorded. On the ensuing restart, Davis and Barney remained in the top two spots with PJ Oliver moving into third and Dominick Buffalino climbing into fourth. After two additional appearances of the yellow flag on laps five and six, Davis was still in control with Oliver in second and Buffalino advancing to third. On the tenth circuit, Buffalino motored by Oliver to gain the runner-up position. Quickly, Buffalino began to track down Davis.

On lap twelve, Buffalino used an inside move going into turn one to gain the lead. As the top two of Buffalino and Davis were in the second corner, Davis’s left front wheel collided with the rear of Buffalino’s ride. The incident allowed Oliver to regain second with John McClelland, Billy Pauch, Jr. and Danny Bouc racing past Davis as well. Once on top, Buffalino began to pull away from the field. With ten laps to go, Buffalino had a comfortable advantage and was catching the rear of the field with Oliver still in second and McClelland holding off Pauch, Jr. in a tight race for third. By lap twenty-five, Buffalino had passed several slower competitors and his lead was continuing to grow. After encountering another batch of lap traffic in the final two laps, Buffalino crossed the finish line with a notable edge to gain his second consecutive win. Oliver’s strong run netted him second place. With McClelland finishing in third, Pauch, Jr. came home in fourth and Bouc was fifth. The winners in the Modified heats were Ryan Godown, Ryan Krachun and Billy Pauch, Jr.

Bob Lineman, Jr. fended off Cale Ross in the closing moments to win his first 20-lap Hammer Sportsman feature of the year. Jimmy Amato set the pace for the first four circuits before the tenth place starting Lineman, Jr. seized the lead. In the final four tours, Ross closed in and began to pressure Lineman, Jr. for the top running spot. At the end, Lineman, Jr. edged Ross by less than a car length for his seventeenth career victory.

Third place was taken by Billy Osmun. Art Liedl was fourth and Will Dupree finished in fifth. Billy Osmun and Will Dupree were victorious in the Hammer Sportsman qualifying races.

Jon Meyer held off Bill Liedtka to win the very competitive 15-lap Street Stock race. Billy Wroble led the opening tour before Liedtka took over.

Meyer became the leader on the eighth circuit after a tough battle with Liedtka. Two revolutions later, Liedtka returned to the front following a restart. On the white flag circuit, Meyer stormed past Liedtka and survived a last lap charge by Liedtka to win his second race of the year. Jim Avery, Wroble and Jerry Stanzione rounded out the top five.

In the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman division, Ryan Heim took the checkered flag in both 8-lap features. In the first event, Heim took the lead from Matt Miller on the fifth circuit and paced the field the rest of the way. Bobby Holzwarth finished in second. Kevin Borden, Jr. completed the race in third. Miller was fourth and Paige Brown finished fifth.

In the second feature for the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman, Heim passed Miller on the third tour and led the remaining distance for his sixth feature victory of the year. Second place was taken by Brown. Holzwarth was third, Borden, Jr. finished in fourth and fifth place was claimed by Miller.

For the third time in four events, Joe Garey, Sr. took top honors in the 15-lap 4-Cylinder feature. Joe Garey, Jr., who exchanged the lead with his father several times during the contest, came home in second place. Newcomer Kyle Pagano was third with Jim Backowski finishing fourth.

On Saturday, June 16, Graduation Night takes place at New Egypt Speedway.
The final races in the JTee’s Screen Printing May Modified Madness Series and Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman Series highlight the schedule. The Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Hammer Sportsman, and Crate Modifieds will be on the agenda as well. All 2018 graduates will receive free grandstand admission. The pit gates unlock at 4:00 p.m. and the spectator ticket windows open at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps crank up at 6:00 p.m. with racing getting underway at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



Heat 1 – 1. Ryan Godown 2. David VanHorn 3. Brandon Grosso 4. PJ Oliver 5. Steve Davis 6. JR Fulper

Heat 2 – 1. Ryan Krachun 2. Danny Bouc 3. John McClelland 4. Bryan Kuhl 5. Davey Sammons 6. Rich Rutski

Heat 3 – 1. Billy Pauch, Jr. 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Chad Barney 4. Matt Stangle 5. John Pakenham 6. TJ Lilly


1. DOMINICK BUFFALINO 2. PJ Oliver 3. John McClelland 4. Billy Pauch, Jr. 5. Danny Bouc 6. Brandon Grosso 7. Ryan Krachun 8. Rich Rutski 9. Chad Barney 10. JR Fulper 11. Ryan Godown 12. David VanHorn 13. Davey Sammons 14. Kevin Vaclavicek 15. Bryan Kuhl 16. Dakota Kessler 17. Jim Bobbitt 18. Tim Apgar 19. Blaine Bracelin 20. Steve Davis 21. Derek Krum 22. Matt Stangle 23. John Pakenham

DNS- TJ Lilly

Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Billy Osmun 2. Cale Ross 3. Shaun Ratchford 4. Art Liedl 5. Jimmy Amato 6. Marty Resnick

Heat 2 – 1. Will Dupree 2. Joseph Brown 3. David Burns 4. Bill Liedtka 5. Bob Lineman, Jr. 6. Pat Wall


1. BOB LINEMAN, JR. 2. Cale Ross 3. Billy Osmun 4. Art Liedl 5. Will Dupree 6. Bill Liedtka 7. David Burns 8. Pat Wall 9. Shaun Ratchford 10. Ryan Simmons 11. Ryan Heim 12. Jimmy Amato 13. Marty Resnick 14. Joe Nappi 15. Bob Rambone 16. Joseph Brown 17. Jason Kosch 18. Erich Conk 19. Jim Hawkes 20. Kevin Borden, Jr. 21. Bobby Holzwarth 22. Paige Brown

DNS: Matt Miller


1. JON MEYER 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Jim Avery 4. Billy Wroble 5. Jerry Stanzione 6. Marty Derr 7. Ryan Freshneck 8. Spider Ensinger, Sr.


1. RYAN HEIM 2. Bobby Holzwarth 3. Kevin Borden, Jr. 4. Matt Miller 5. Paige Brown 6. Erich Conk


1. RYAN HEIM 2. Paige Brown 3. Bobby Holzwarth 4. Kevin Borden, Jr. 5. Matt Miller 6. Erich Conk


1. JOE GAREY, SR. 2. Joe Garey, Jr. 3. Kyle Pagano 4. Jim Backowski