Stangle Triumphs At New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ – At New Egypt Speedway’s Throwback Night, Matt Stangle won his first career Modified feature. The Mr. Crate Classic for the Crate Modifieds went to Connor King. Jermain Godshall bested the field in the main event for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars. Jon Meyer was the victor in the Street Stock race and Joe Garey, Sr. took top honors in the 4-Cylinder contest.

As the green flag waved to start the 30-lap Modified feature, Modified rookie Matt Stangle grabbed the lead with Steve Davis, Kevin Vaclavicek, Jim Bobbitt and Blaine Bracelin in the chase. Vaclavicek motored by Davis into second with four circuits recorded. On lap eight, the first of two cautions in the event took place for Davey Sammons. When action  resumed, Stangle maintained his advantage with Vaclavicek and Davis still in second and third respectively.

Behind the top three, two racers, Ryan Godown and Danny Bouc, were making moves to the front of the pack. Godown, who started in eighth and was steering the Steve Searock owned Modified on this night, motored into fourth with eleven laps in the books. The sixteenth place starting Bouc zipped into fifth as the lap counter displayed fourteen.

At the halfway point, Stangle was still on top with Vaclavicek in second and Godown in third. As a good stretch of green flag racing continued and only ten lapsremaining, the top three of Stangle, Vaclavicek and Godown were almost nose-to-tail and approaching the back end of the field. As the final third of the event began, Stangle began to knife his way through traffic.

With six laps remaining, Bouc slipped by Davis to gain fourth place. One lap later, the caution flag waved for the second and final time as the third place running Godown developed a flat right rear tire. On the single file restart, Stangle held onto the front running position with Bouc moving past Vaclavicek to take over the runner-up spot.

Over the final few laps, Stangle drove flawlessly to secure his first ever Modified feature victory. Bouc came home in second with Vaclavicek finishing third. A strong run by Davis
resulted in a fourth place finish. Modified rookie JR Fulper completed the contest in fifth. The Modified heat races were taken by Brandon Grosso and Ryan Godown.

In the 30-lap Mr. Crate Classic for the Crate Modifieds, Connor King grabbed first place just before the halfway point to win his second feature of the season. Steve Desmelyk paced the pack for the opening two tours before Jeremy Martino proceeded to the front. King, who started the extra distance event from thirteenth, swept by Martino and into the lead for good on the thirteenth circuit. Eric Palmer finished in second. Third place was claimed
by eighteenth place starting Sammy Martz, Jr. John Aumick was fourth and fifth went to Martino. Johnny Bangs, Steve Hicks and John Criscione were the victors in the Crate Modified heat races.

Jermain Godshall headed the field the entire distance to win the 20-lap main for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars. The victory was the first career win for Godshall. Brian Spencer chased Godshall throughout the contest to finish second. Third place went to Heidi Hedin. Karl Freyer was fourth and Rich Mellor completed the race in fifth. The winners in the qualifying events for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars were Brian Spencer and Jermain Godshall.

In the 15-lap Street Stock race, Jon Meyer regained the lead on the eighth circuit as he scored his third checkered flag of the season. Meyer inherited the top running spot on the fourth tour after early leader Bill Liedtka developed a flat tire. Following a caution period, Spider Ensinger, Sr. drove by Meyer to take the lead on the seventh revolution. On the next lap, Meyer charged past Ensinger, Sr. and he paced the field for the remaining distance. With Ensinger, Sr. finishing in second, Billy Wroble was third. Jerry Stanzione and newcomer Doug Fresh completed the top five.

Joe Garey, Sr. led every step of the way to win the 15-lap 4-Cylinder race for the fourth time this season. Tom Stavola was second and Mike Fox was third.

The Firecracker 40, presented by Pakenham Motorsports, takes place on Saturday, July 7 at New Egypt Speedway as the Modifieds will partake in an extra distance 40-lap main event. The USAC East Coast Wingless Sprint Cars will be invading New Egypt Speedway for their only appearance this season.

The Crate Modifieds, 4-Cylinders and Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club round out the slate. The pit gates open at 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand turnstiles unlock at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps get started at 6:00 p.m. with racing getting underway at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $25 for adults, $23 for seniors 65 and older, $15 for teens 12-15, $15 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is
$30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



Heat 1 – 1. Brandon Grosso 2. JR Fulper 3. Davey Sammons 4. Steve Davis 5. David VanHorn 6. Blaine Bracelin 7. Roger Manning 8. PJ Oliver 9. Jim Bobbitt

Heat 2 – 1. Ryan Godown 2. Billy Pauch, Jr. 3. Ryan Krachun 4. Matt Stangle 5. John McClelland 6. Danny Bouc 7. TJ Lilly 8. Kevin Vaclavicek 9. Brian Papiez


1. MATT STANGLE 2. Danny Bouc 3. Kevin Vaclavicek 4. Steve Davis 5. JR Fulper 6. David VanHorn 7. Billy Pauch, Jr. 8. John McClelland 9. Ryan Krachun 10. Brandon Grosso 11. Davey Sammons 12. Blaine Bracelin 13. Brian Papiez 14. Tim Apgar 15. TJ Lilly 16. Jim Bobbitt 17. Roger Manning 18. Ryan Godown 19. PJ Oliver 20. Bryan Kuhl

DNS: Rich Rutski

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Johnny Bangs 2. John Aumick 3. Jeremy Martino 4. Joe Toth 5. Rob Mancini

Heat 2 – 1. Steve Hicks 2. Eric Palmer 3. Seth Spayd 4. Steve Desmelyk 5. Jordon Cox

Heat 3 – 1. John Criscione 2. Connor King 3. Kyle Kania 4. Aaron Weaver 5. Ryan Simmons


1. CONNOR KING 2. Eric Palmer 3. Sammy Martz, Jr. 4. John Aumick 5. Jeremy Martino 6. Joe Toth 7. Steve Hicks 8. Johnny Bangs 9. John Criscione 10. Jordon Cox 11. Tom Princiotta 12. Kyle Kania 13. Kevin Borden, Jr. 14. Steve Desmelyk 15. Glenn McIntyre 16. Bill Lester 17. Matt Miller 18. Ryan Simmons 19. Rob Mancini 20. Seth Spayd 21. Dan Fleming 22. Aaron Weaver

DNS: George Gareis, Jr.

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. Brian Spencer 2. Eric Jennings 3. Duane Nixon 4. Paul Comstock

Heat 2 – 1. Jermain Godshall 2. Karl Freyer 3. Rich Mellor 4. Heidi Hedin


1. JERMAIN GODSHALL 2. Brian Spencer 3. Heidi Hedin 4.Karl Freyer 5. Rich Mellor 6. Duane Nixon 7. Eric Jennings 8. Al Cheney 9. Lee Nardelli 10. Paul Comstock

DNS: Nick Wean, Larry Drake


1. JON MEYER 2. Spider Ensinger, Sr. 3. Billy Wroble 4. Jerry Stanzione 5. Doug Fresh 6. Jim Avery 7. Bill Liedtka 8. Ryan Freshneck


1. JOE GAREY, SR. 2. Tom Stavola 3. Mike Fox