Wall Wins The Mr. Sportsman Classic at New Egypt Speedway

NEW EGYPT, NJ – At New Egypt Speedway, Pat Wall won the Mr. Sportsman Classic. Dan Fleming was the victor in the Crate Modified feature. The main event for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars went to Karl Freyer. Bill Liedtka took home the checkered flag in the Mr. Street Stock Classic. Rob Longo was the victor in the 4-Cylinder contest.

After the original start of the 30-lap Mr. Sportsman Classic for the Hammer Sportsman was marred by an incident, Pat Wall grabbed the lead on the ensuing green with Jimmy Amato and Will Dupree in his tracks. Following several additional appearances of the yellow flag in the opening tours of the extra distance contest, Wall was still in top with five laps recorded.
Behind Wall, a tight battle for second between Cale Ross and Kyle Kania was occurring and Kania passed Ross on lap six for the position. With a third of the race completed, the top three of Wall, Kania, and Ross were in close quarters and Bob Lineman Jr. was trying to fend off David Burns for fourth.

On lap fourteen, Lineman’s race night came to end when a mechanical issue caused him to slow and stop on the track. When action resumed, Wall maintained his lead with Kania and Ross still dueling for position. On lap seventeen, Ross slipped by Kania to regain the runner-up spot. Following a caution period for Jason Kosch on the eighteenth circuit, racing got back underway with Wall still on top as Kania worked his way past Ross to retake second. Over the final ten laps of the race, Wall survived two additional restarts and continued to use the low groove of the dirt track to win his third feature of the year. Kania finished in the runner-up spot with Ross taking third. Burns was fourth and Joe Nappi netted fifth. Billy Osmun and Cale Ross were the Hammer Sportsman heat race victors.

After a June 30 accident destroyed his race car, Dan Fleming returned to the Crate Modified ranks and led from start to finish to win the 20-lap feature.

Using a car previously wheeled by Modified driver Ryan Godown, Fleming racked up his second victory of the season. Rookie Kevin Borden Jr. was second. Third went to Ryan Simmons. Jeremy Martino completed the race in fourth and fifth was claimed by Eric Palmer. The Crate Modifieds qualifying races went to Ryan Simmons and Kyle Kania.

Following a late race miscue by Jermain Godshall, Karl Freyer inherited the lead and went on to snatch his second checkered flag of the season in the 20-lap main event for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Car. Godshall led the contest from the start until he brushed the inside wall with four circuits remaining. Nick Wean followed Freyer across the finish line. Rich Mellor was third. Lee Nardelli took fourth and fifth place was grabbed by Duane Nixon. The heat races in the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars division were won by Rich Mellor and Karl Freyer.

For the second year in a row, Bill Liedtka topped the field in the 35-lap Mr. Street Stock Classic. Marty Derr led the opening two tours before Jimmy Avery took command. Following a restart, Liedtka became the new point man on lap four. One revolution later, Jon Meyer passed Liedtka to assume the lead.

After another caution period, Liedtka returned to the top of the pack with six laps completed. Liedtka fended off several challenges from Meyer in the first half of the contest to gain his fourth win of the year. Meyer finished in second. A strong run netted Mick Search third place. Fourth went to Avery and Billy Wroble was fifth.

After taking the lead on the fourth circuit, Rob Longo paced the field the remaining distance to capture the 15-lap 4-Cylinder race. Longo survived a restart and challenge from Joe Garey Sr. with two laps to go to secure the win in his first appearance at New Egypt Speedway this year. With Garey Sr. finishing second, Ian Ashford, who led the first three laps, came home in third. Brian Osborne and Bruce McClaren completed the top five.

On Saturday, August 4 at New Egypt Speedway, National Parts Supply presents Scout Night. All scouts in uniform will be admitted for free to the grandstand. On the track, the Modifieds, Hammer Sportsman and Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars will be in action.

Competitors can begin to enter the pits at 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand ticket windows open at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps start at 6:00 p.m. and racing gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Billy Osmun 2. David Burns 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Marty Resnick
5. Will Dupree 6. Mickey Kessler 7. Jimmy Amato

Heat 2 – 1. Cale Ross 2. Pat Wall 3. Ryan Heim 4. Art Liedl 5. Shaun Ratchford 6. Kyle Kania 7. Jason Kosch


1. PAT WALL 2. Kyle Kania 3. Cale Ross 4. David Burns 5. Joe Nappi 6. Joseph Brown 7. Shaun Ratchford 8. Marty Resnick 9. Ryan Heim 10. Jimmy Amato 11.
Bob Rambone 12. Mickey Kessler 13. Jason Kosch 14. Bob Lineman Jr. 15. Billy Osmun 16. Will Dupree 17. Art Liedl

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Ryan Simmons 2. John Aumick 3. Aaron Weaver 4. Eric Palmer 5.
Steve Desmelyk 6. Dan Fleming 7. Tom Princiotta

Heat 2 – 1. Kyle Kania 2. Jeremy Martino 3. Kevin Borden Jr. 4. Steve Hicks 5. Connor King 6. Joe Toth 7. John Criscione


1. DAN FLEMING 2. Kevin Borden Jr. 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Jeremy Martino 5.
Eric Palmer 6. Steve Hicks 7. Connor King 8. Kyle Kania 9. John Aumick 10.
Joe Toth 11. Tom Princiotta 12. George Gareis Jr. 13. Rob Mancini 14. Johnny Bangs 15. Bobby Holzwarth 16. Alonzo Morales 17. John Criscione 18. Steve Desmelyk 19. Matt Miller 20. Aaron Weaver

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. Rich Mellor 2. Heidi Hedin 3. Lee Nardelli 4. Jermain Godshall

Heat 2 – 1. Karl Freyer 2. Eric Jennings 3. Brian Spencer 4. Nick Wean


1. KARL FREYER 2. Nick Wean 3. Rich Mellor 4. Lee Nardelli 5. Duane Nixon 6.
Corey Wood 7. Jermain Godshall 8. Al Cheney 9. Paul Comstock 10. Heidi Hedin 11. Brian Spencer 12. Eric Jennings


1. BILL LIEDTKA 2. Jon Meyer 3. Mick Search 4. Jimmy Avery 5. Billy Wroble 6. Ryan Freshneck 7. Chris Felber 8. Jerry Stanzione 9. Marty Derr 10. Vern

DNS: Spider Ensinger Sr.


1. ROB LONGO 2. Joe Garey Sr. 3. Ian Ashford 4. Brian Osborne 5. Bruce McClaren 6. Kyle Pagano 7. Scott Dunn 8. Joe Garey Jr. 9. Neil Rutt III