Lineman and Fleming Win Again at New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ – At New Egypt Speedway’s Fan Appreciation Night presented by the Hammer Companies, Bob Lineman Jr. won the Hammer Sportsman feature for the second consecutive week while Dan Fleming grabbed his second Crate Modified main event in a row. Heidi Hedin grabbed her first career checkered flag in the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Car feature. Jon Meyer was victorious in the Street Stock race while Justin Dunn topped the field in the 4-Cylinder contest.

As the 20-lap Hammer Sportsman feature began, Jimmy Amato pedaled to the front with Ryan Heim and Bob Lineman Jr. next in line. On the second circuit, Lineman Jr. motored past Heim for second just before the yellow lights illuminated on the track for Pat Wall. When action resumed, Lineman Jr. swept past Amato for the lead. Heim regained second place by slipping by Amato on the fourth lap. Seventh place starting Cale Ross continued his advancement towards the front by gaining third place on the fifth revolution. At the halfway point, Lineman Jr. was comfortably in front with Heim, Ross and David Burns in tow. With a good stretch of green flag racing, Lineman Jr. continued his solid advantage over his rivals until Mickey Kessler’s ride stopped in turn two with one lap remaining. On the ensuing restart, Lineman Jr. kept his lead and he was approaching the finish line when a fourth corner incident between Heim and Ross brought out the caution flag for the final time. As the green flag waved again, Lineman Jr. kept his advantage over the new second place runner, Burns, to take his second consecutive win and third of the year. With the runner-up spot going to Burns, Art Liedl came from the ninth starting spot to finish third. Will Dupree was fourth and Joseph Brown was fifth. The Hammer Sportsman heat race victors were Bob Lineman Jr. and Cale Ross.

Following a skirmish with three laps to go between the first and second place competitors, Dan Fleming inherited the top running position and led the rest of the way for his second 20-lap Crate Modified feature win in a row. After Aaron Weaver was in front for the opening circuit, John Criscione took over with Joe Toth proceeding into second. As the race advanced in the second half, the top two of Criscione and Toth remained intact with Dan Fleming riding in third. Racing in tight quarters, Toth was able to take the lead from Criscione on lap seventeen just before contact by Criscione sent Toth spinning in turn one. Due to the incident, Criscione was relegated to the back of the field and Fleming became the new leader. Fleming would lead the final circuits to score the victory. Kyle Kania wound up in second with Eric Palmer finishing third. Fourth place went to Ryan Simmons and Johnny Bangs finished in fifth. Johnny Bangs, George Gareis Jr., and John Criscione won the Crate Modified qualifying races.

In the 20-lap main event for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Heidi Hedin wired the field to garner her first career checkered flag. Hedin repelled challenges by Karl Freyer to claim the win in the non-stop race. With the point leading Freyer finishing second, Jermain Godshall was third. Heat winner Brian Spencer netted fourth place and Rich Mellor was fifth.

After taking the lead from Jerry Stanzione on the third circuit, Jon Meyer paced his rivals the remaining distance to win the 15-lap Street Stock race.
The victory was Meyer’s fourth of the year and sixth of his career. Bill Liedtka came home in second place. Third place was taken by Jimmy Avery.
Mick Search and Billy Wroble completed the top five.

In the non-stop 15-lap affair for the 4-Cylinders, Justin Dunn led every step of the way and held off the advances of the Garey clan to capture his first feature win of the season. Joe Garey Jr. nipped his father at the line to claim second. With Joe Garey Sr. taking third, JC Duvall was fourth and Doug Ashford was fifth.

The Flemington Car & Truck Country Family of Dealerships presents Twins Night at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday, September 1. All twins arriving together at the track will receive free grandstand admission. On the dirt oval, the Modifieds return to action with twin 20-lap features leading up to their championship night on Saturday, September 8. The Mid-Atlantic Sprint Car Series will be in competition with a complete show including a feature and the held over feature from April 14. The Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars and Crate Modifieds fill out the four-division program. Competitors can begin to enter the pits at 3:00 p.m.
and the grandstand ticket windows open at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps start at 5:00 p.m. and racing gets underway at 6:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is
$25 for adults, $23 for seniors 65 and older, $15 for teens 12-15, $15 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and kids 11 & under are FREE.
Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Bob Lineman Jr. 2. Will Dupree 3. Pat Wall 4. Joseph Brown 5.
Jimmy Amato

Heat 2 – 1. Cale Ross 2. Ryan Heim 3. Art Liedl 4. David Burns 5. Mickey Kessler


1. BOB LINEMAN JR. 2. David Burns 3. Art Liedl 4. Will Dupree 5. Joseph Brown 6. Jimmy Amato 7. Shaun Ratchford 8. Pat Wall 9. Marty Resnick 10.
Cale Ross 11. Jason Kosch 12. Ryan Heim 13. Mickey Kessler

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Johnny Bangs 2. Eric Palmer 3. Joe Toth 4. Robby Dunn 5. John Aumick

Heat 2 – 1. George Gareis Jr. 2. Ryan Simmons 3. Kyle Kania 4. Aaron Weaver 5. Jeremy Martino

Heat 3 – 1. John Criscione 2. Dan Fleming 3. Steve Hicks 4. Bobby Holzwarth 5. Kevin Borden


1. DAN FLEMING 2. Kyle Kania 3. Eric Palmer 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Johnny Bangs 6. Steve Hicks 7. Jeremy Martino 8. John Aumick 9. Tom Princiotta 10. Seth Spayd 11. Kevin Borden 12. George Gareis Jr. 13. Bobby Holzwarth 14. John Criscione 15. Joe Toth 16. Matt Miller 17. Rob Mancini 18. Robby Dunn 19.
Glenn McIntyre 20. Lowell Snyder 21. Mike Barbieri 22. Aaron Weaver

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. Brian Spencer 2. Heidi Hedin 3. Rich Mellor 4. Karl Freyer 5.
Jermain Godshall 6. Duane Nixon


1. HEIDI HEDIN 2. Karl Freyer 3. Jermain Godshall 4. Brian Spencer 5. Rich Mellor 6. Lee Nardelli 7. Al Cheney 8. Duane Nixon 9. Paul Comstock 10. Mike Haggenbottom


1. JON MEYER 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Jimmy Avery 4. Mick Search 5. Billy Wroble 6. Jerry Stanzione 7. Roy Maurer 8. Chris Felber 9. Marty Derr


1. JUSTIN DUNN 2. Joe Garey Jr. 3. Joe Garey Sr. 4. JC Duvall 5. Doug Ashford 6. Kyle Pagano 7. Ian Ashford