Brian Papiez Parks In Victory Lane at New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ –  At New Egypt Speedway’s Bordentown/Chesterfield Night, Brian Papiez piloted his ride into victory lane as he won the Vahlco Wheels Modified feature. JT Trstensky was declared the winner in the Hammer Sportsman race. The Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars main event was claimed by Rich Mellor. Jon Meyer won the Street Stock contest while DJ Hunt took top honors in the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman race.

As the 30-lap Vahlco Wheel Modified feature began, outside polesitter Brian Papiez sprinted out to the front. After a quartet of caution periods and six tours recorded, Papiez was still on top with TJ Lilly, fourteenth place starter Billy Pauch Jr. and PJ Oliver next in line. By lap ten, Papiez had built a solid advantage over Lilly and Pauch Jr. with Danny Bouc advancing into fourth and Oliver falling back into fifth. At the halfway point, Papiez’s margin was nearly a full-straightaway over Lilly, Pauch Jr., Bouc and David VanHorn. With seven circuits remaining, Papiez was beginning to approach the tail end of the field with Lilly and Pauch Jr. dueling for second. On lap twenty-six, Pauch Jr. swung by Lilly to gain second place. Over the final revolutions, Papiez continued his torrid pace to grab his second win of the season. Pauch Jr. captured the runner-up position. Bouc and VanHorn were able to pass Lilly as well in the closing laps to finish third and fourth respectively. Lilly finished in fifth. Cale Ross, Brian Papiez and Danny Bouc were victors in the Vahlco Wheels Modified heat races.

In the rain shortened Hammer Sportsman feature, JT Trstensky was declared the winner of the 12-lap affair. Ryan Heim crossed the line finish line first but his car failed to make the minimum weight. The victory was the second of Trstensky’s career. David Burns took second place. Will Trstensky, Steve Davis and Joseph Brown filled out the top five. Jason Kosch and Art Liedl won the Hammer Sportsman heat races.

In the 20-lap main event for the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Rich Mellor held off John Brammell on a final tour restart to claim his second checkered flag of the season. Mellor took the lead from Jermain Godshall with five circuits left. With Brammell finishing second, Heidi Hedin came home in third. Duane Nixon was fourth and Stan Ploski completed the race in fifth. The Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars qualifying races were taken by Rich Mellor and Al Cheney.

Jon Meyer passed Bill Liedtka with five circuits remaining and led the remaining distance to grab the victory in the 15-lap Street Stock race. The win was the second in a row for Meyer. With Liedtka taking second, Vern McLaughlin came home in third. Billy Wroble and Brian Ludwig rounded out the top five.

DJ Hunt led from start to finish to capture his first win in the 8-lap Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman race. Ryan Godown Jr. slipped by Anthony Tramontana Jr. on the last circuit to take the runner-up spot. Ryan Krushinski was fourth and Zachary Merola finished fifth.

On Saturday, May 18, Jeep Night rides into New Egypt Speedway. Jeep owners will be admitted to the main grandstand for half-price and can participate in a Jeep show and parade. On the track, the Vahlco Wheels Modifieds, Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Crate Modifieds, Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders and the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman will be in competition. The pit gates swing open at 3:00 p.m. and the grandstand ticket window opens at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps start at 5:00 p.m. with the first green flag waving at 6:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 without.

“New Jersey’s Premier Dirt Track Facility”, New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway


Vahlco Wheels Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Cale Ross 2. Ryan Godown 3. David VanHorn 4. John McClelland 5. Dakota Kessler 6. John Pakenham

Heat 2 – 1. Brian Papiez 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Davey Sammons 4. Bryan Kuhl 5. PJ Oliver 6. JR Fulper

Heat 3 – 1. Danny Bouc 2. Rich Rutski 3. Brandon Grosso 4. TJ Lilly 5. Wade Hendrickson 6. Kyle Kania


1. BRIAN PAPIEZ 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Danny Bouc 4. David VanHorn 5. TJ Lilly 6. Brandon Grosso 7. John McClelland 8. Mike Butler 9. PJ Oliver 10. Rich Rutski 11. Wade Hendrickson 12. Ryan Krachun 13. Ryan Godown 14. Davey Sammons 15. Cale Ross 16. John Pakenham 17. Bryan Kuhl 18. Dakota Kessler 19. Ryan Simmons 20. Kevin Borden 21. JR Fulper 22. Pat Wall 23. Kyle Kania

Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1.  Jason Kosch 2. Joseph Brown 3. John Criscione 4. Jim Housworth 5. Bob Lineman Jr. 6. Steve Davis 7. Ryan Heim

Heat 2 – 1. Art Liedl 2. David Burns 3. JT Trstensky 4. Will Dupree 5. Brad Roberts 6. Will Trstensky 7. Steve Desmelyk


1. JT TRSTENSKY 2. David Burns 3. Will Trstensky 4. Steve Davis 5. Joseph Brown 6. DJ Hunt 7. John Criscione 8. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 9. Joe Nappi 10. Ryan Krushinski 11. Rob Anderton 12. Will Dupree 13. Mickey Kessler 14. Jason Kosch 15. Jim Housworth 16. Marty Resnick 17. Bob Lineman Jr. 18. Brad Roberts 19. Art Liedl 20. Ryan Godown Jr. 21. Steve Desmelyk 22. Zachary Merola

DNS: Jimmy Amato

DQ: Ryan Heim

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. Rich Mellor 2. Larry Drake 3. Jeff Schall 4. Stan Ploski

Heat 2 – 1. Al Cheney 2. Jermain Godshall 3. Brian Spencer 4. Heidi Hedin


  1. RICH MELLOR 2. John Brammell 3. Heidi Hedin 4. Duane Nixon 5. Stan Ploski 6. Brian Spencer 7. Jermain Godshall 8. Charles Weslowski 9. Brad Schaale 10. Eric Degler 11. Jeff Schall 12. Al Cheney 13. Ken Nealls 14. Larry Drake 15. Chace Leahy


  1. JON MEYER 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Vern McLaughlin 4. Billy Wroble 5. Brian Ludwig 6. Spider Ensinger Sr. 7. Joe Reid 8. Chris Felber 9. Dennis Seeley 10. Marty Derr


  1. DJ HUNT 2. Ryan Godown Jr. 3. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 4. Ryan Krushinski 5. Zachary Merola