Mike Butler Battles To New Egypt Checkers

NEW EGYPT, NJ – On Toms River Night at New Egypt Speedway, Mike Butler registered his second Vahlco Wheels Modified feature win of the year. The Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series main event went to Tim Tanner Jr. John Criscione was the victor in the Hammer Sportsman feature. Brian Spencer topped the field in the Street Stock race.

As the 30-lap feature began for the Vahlco Wheels Modifieds, Billy Osmun grabbed the lead with Cale Ross, Pat Wall, Rich Rutski and Blaine Bracelin next in line. By the third circuit and just before the first yellow flag waved for a multi-car tangle, Wall passed Ross for second with eighth place starting Mike Butler advancing into fifth. On the ensuing restart, Osmun maintained his edge with Butler motoring to the runner-up spot. Following another caution period on the fourth tour, Butler bolted to the front as action resumed with Wall in second and Osmun in third. Just as action was beginning to heat up on the fifth lap, Dakota Kessler’s ride came to a stop near the pit entrance and the yellow lights illuminated for the final time. When green flag racing returned, Butler fended off Wall to keep the lead with Osmun running in third. At the halfway point of the contest, Butler was increasing his margin over Wall and Osmun with Ryan Krachun in fourth and Danny Bouc in fifth. On lap sixteen, Bouc slipped by Krachun to move into fourth. With ten circuits left, the top two of Butler and Wall had pulled away from their rivals with Butler having a comfortable advantage. Over the final moments of the contest, Butler went unchallenged as he scored his second career Vahlco Wheels Modified feature win. Wall’s strong run netted him second place. With Osmun finishing third, Bouc came home in fourth after starting eleventh. Fifth place was claimed by Krachun. The winners in the Vahlco Wheels Modified heat races were Blaine Bracelin and Cale Ross.

In the 20-lap main event for the Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series, Tim Tanner Jr. powered by Tyler Brehm on a lap six restart to take his second checkered flag of the season. With Brehm finishing second, Mark Bitner completed the race in third. Eddie Wagner’s last lap pass earned him fourth place over Ricky DiEva. Jason Dunn and Mark Bitner won the Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series qualifying events.

John Criscione led from start to finish to win the non-stop 20-lap Hammer Sportsman feature. The victory was the first for Criscione in the division.  Tenth place starting Bob Lineman Jr. finished in second place. With Joseph Brown in third, fourth place was captured by David Burns. Will Dupree completed the top five. John Criscione and Art Liedl were victorious in the Hammer Sportsman heat races.

After taking the lead from Vern McLaughlin on the seventh circuit, Brian Spencer paced the field the rest of the way to snare the victory in the 15-lap Street Stock race. The win was the second in a row for Spencer. Ninth place starting Mick Search took the runner-up spot. Third place went to Bill Liedtka. McLaughlin crossed the finish line in fourth. After an early race visit to the pits, Todd Dige came back through the field to take fifth.

The 2nd Annual Back to School Monster Truck Summer Smash will take place at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday, August 17 and Sunday, August 18. Each day will be action packed with Monster Trucks, Quad Wars and a Demolition Derby. On Saturday, August 17, the gates open at 5:00 p.m., the pit party starts at 5:00 p.m. and lasts until 6:30 p.m. The show gets underway at 7:00 p.m. On Sunday, August 18, spectators can be begin to enter the facility at 2:00 p.m. and can visit the pit area from 2:00 p.m. up to 3:30 p.m. Action starts at 4:00 p.m. Tickets and further information are available at www.monstertrucksmash.com.

“New Jersey’s Premier Dirt Track Facility”, New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


Vahlco Wheels Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Blaine Bracelin 2. Billy Osmun 3. Ryan Krachun 4. Wade Hendrickson 5. David VanHorn 6. Pat Wall 7. Davey Sammons 8. Kevin Vaclavicek

Heat 2 – 1. Cale Ross 2. Rich Rutski 3. Danny Bouc 4. Mike Butler 5. John McClelland 6. Billy Pauch Jr. 7. Jimmy Blewett 8. Brandon Grosso

VAHLCO WHEELS MODIFIEDS – 30 LAPS FEATURE: 1 MIKE BUTLER 2. Pat Wall 3. Billy Osmun 4. Danny Bouc 5. Ryan Krachun 6. Davey Sammons 7. Rich Rutski 8. Kevin Vaclavicek 9. Brandon Grosso 10. David VanHorn 11. Jimmy Blewett 12. Cale Ross 13. John McClelland 14. Billy Pauch Jr. 15. Wade Hendrickson 16. Chris Grbac 17. Blaine Bracelin 18. Mickey Kessler 19. Bob Rambone 20. Dakota Kessler 21. TJ Lilly

Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series

Heat 1 – 1. Jason Dunn 2. Keith Anderson 3. Eddie Wagner 4. Randy Wilbert 5. Scott Frack 6. Tom Carberry

Heat 2 – 1. Mark Bitner 2. Ricky DiEva 3. Logan Diehl 4. Tim Tanner Jr. 5. Tyler Brehm 6. Joe Kay

DELAWARE AUTO EXCHANGE MID-ATLANTIC SPRINT SERIES – 20 LAPS FEATURE: 1. TIM TANNER JR. 2. Tyler Brehm 3. Mark Bitner 4. Eddie Wagner 5. Ricky DiEva 6. Jason Dunn 7. Samantha Lieberman 8. Scott Frack 9. Logan Diehl 10. Joe Kay 11. Rick Stief 12. Larry McVay 13. Dom Melair 14. Keith Anderson 15. Randy Wilbert 16. Marie McVay 17. Chad Connor 18. Chuckles Stone 19. Tom Carberry 20. Jon Brennflech 21. Steve Voorhees

Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. John Criscione 2. Joseph Brown 3. Joe Nappi 4. Jimmy Amato 5. Bob Lineman Jr. 6. Ryan Heim

Heat 2 – 1. Art Liedl 2. David Burns 3. Jim Housworth 4. JT Trstensky 5. Will Dupree 6. Jason Kosch

HAMMER SPORTSMAN – 20 LAPS FEATURE: 1. JOHN CRISCIONE 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Joseph Brown 4. David Burns 5. Will Dupree 6. Jim Housworth 7. JT Trstensky 8. Art Liedl 9. Joe Nappi 10. Ryan Heim 11. Jason Kosch 12. Jim Hawkes 13. Will Trstensky 14. Marty Resnick 15. Jimmy Amato 16. Jake Roveda

STREET STOCKS – 15 LAPS FEATURE: 1. BRIAN SPENCER 2. Mick Search 3. Bill Liedtka 4. Vern McLaughlin 5. Todd Dige 6. Billy Wroble 7. Marty Derr 8. Joe Reid 9. Dennis Seeley 10. Chris Felber