Wade Hendrickson Hustles To Win At New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ – After taking wild ride following a broken right-front spindle which launched the Michael Bros. No 51m through the air during his heat race on July 11th, Wade Hendrickson rebounded in a big way on Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway winning the Vahlco Wheels Modifed feature. It was his third win at the Ocean County D-Shaped oval and his first since 2011.

“I got to hand it to all my family, Pat (Michael) and my entire crew. Everyone worked so hard. My daughter and her boyfriend had to go up to Bickell because the two-by-fours were bent up like a foot to get a new frame. These guys built this car in a week,” said Hendrickson following the event.

A pair of 13’s led the field to the green in Steve Davis and PJ Oliver. The first yellow of the event would fly before a lap was completed as Brian Roemer would spin in the first corner. After a complete restart, Steve Davis jumped out to the early lead before the second caution of the event flew when Mickey Kessler and Steve Young tangled in between turns one and two. When racing resumed, Wade Hendrickson would get by Davis for the lead at the completion of lap three. Hendrickson would start to check out on the field until a lap 16 yellow flew for Dominick Buffalino who had charged up from the eighth starting position, suffered a left rear flat tire while running second. When green replaced yellow Hendrickson would continue to lead the way but there was a new challenger in Billy Pauch Jr. who had rocketed toward the front of the pack from his 15th starting position when the caution would again come out when JR Fulper and Chris Grbac made contact in turn four. On the ensuing restart second place man in points Ryan Krachun and Cale Ross tangled, bunching the field up yet again. Hendrickson would be the leader followed by Pauch Jr.,Danny Bouc who came from the 14th position, Billy Osmun III and Mike Butler who had marched forward from 12th. Hendrickson would again get away as point leader Danny Bouc was able to get by Pauch Jr. for second at the five to go signal. Pauch Jr. would then suffer a broken driveshaft yoke ending his race setting up a five lap dash to the finish between Hendrickson, Bouc, Butler, and now Davey Sammons who had started 16th and Osmun III. After the restart Hendrickson would go untouched though as he scored his first NES win in almost a decade over Danny Bouc, Davey Sammons, Mike Butler and Billy Osmun III.

“In the heat race, we came out and the car wouldn’t run, I figured I hurt the motor in the wreck. Mark Blackwell came in and found a coil wire that had come off that had shorted. They fixed that and, man. These guys are just little guys and they have faith in an old guy like me. I like that high, wide and handsome stuff. I set the car up too little, too free. I wasn’t too good on the bottom, but those last few laps I figured I’d better go into block mode”, explained Hendrickson after the race.

Rich Mellor picked up his second straight Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Car Presented By: The Meat Shoppe main event. Mellor snuck past Brian Spencer just prior to halfway and never looked back. Spencer would chase Mellor across the stripe followed by Heidi Hedin, Brad Schaale and Dan Malley rounded out the top five.

Jim Housworth is now three-for-three in Sportsman competition in 2020 after winning again on Saturday night. David Burns would be the runner-up for the second week in row to Housworth while John Criscione raced home third with Howie Finch and Art Liedl completing the top five.

Shanon Mongeau led wire-to-wire in the Street Stocks winning his first of the season, Todd Dige, Brian Ludwig, Spider Ensinger Sr. and Drew Brocklebank finished out the top five.

Jimmy Avery was the winner in the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman.

New Egypt Speedway returns to competition again this Saturday night August 1st with Jeep Night 3. All Jeep Owners will receive ½ price General Admission when they show their Jeep key at the gates, they will also be invited to take place in our Jeep parade on the Speedway during intermission. Divisions in action will be the Vahlco Wheels Modifieds, Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars Presented By: The Meat Shoppe, Ice Less LLC Crate Modifieds, 4-Cylinders and the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman. Pit gates will open at 4pm, grandstands at 5pm with hot laps hitting the speedway at 6pm and the first green flag of the night flying at 7pm. Adult (16+) admission is $20, Seniors (65+) are $18 with Teens (12-15) & Military w/ID being $10 and Kids 11 & Under being FREE.

Anyone with any questions about this Saturday night’s events can contact the New Egypt Speedway office at 609-758-1900 or via e-mail at nesoffice@comcast.net.

New Egypt Speedway, which is New Jersey’s premier dirt racing facility, is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.

New Egypt Speedway Results 7/25/20

Vahlco Wheels Modifieds (30 Laps) 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Danny Bouc 3. Davey Sammons 4. Mike Butler 5. Billy Osmun 6. Brandon Grosso 7. David Van Horn 8. John McClelland 9. Chris Grbac 10. Dakota Kessler 11. Ryan Krachun 12. Mickey Kessler 13. Danny Carlough 14. Bruce Gsell 15. Billy Pauch Jr 16. Steve Davis 17. Cale Ross 18. Blaine Bracelin 19. Jimmy Blewett 20. JR Fulper 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. Kory Fleming 23. Brian Roemer 24. Steve Young 25. PJ Oliver

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars Presented By: The Meat Shoppe (20 Laps) 1. Rich Mellor 2. Brian Spencer 3. Heidi Hedin 4. Brad Schaale 5. Dan Malley 6. Steve Kyser 7. Charles Weslowski 8. Jeremy Quick 9. Mark Bitner 10. Duane Nixon 11. Larry Drake 12. Ken Nealis 13. Greg Shepsis

Sportsman (20 Laps) 1. Jim Housworth 2. David Burns 3. John Criscione 4. Howie Finch 5. Art Liedl 6. Bob Lineman 7. Will Dupree 8. Matt Ellery 9. Ryan Heim 10. Ryan Simmons 11. Tom Princiotta 12. Marty Resnick 13. Mason Magee 14. Joe Brown 15. Jimmy Avery 16. Lee Taylor 17. Jimmy Amato 18. Amanda Buchel 19. Paul Mancini 20. Will Protinick 21. Aaron Weaver 22. Stan Hawk 23. Mike Toth

Street Stocks (15 Laps) 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. Todd Dige 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Spider Ensinger Sr 5. Drew Brocklebank 6. Dennis Seeley 7. Sean Wall

Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman (8 Laps 1. Jimmy Avery 2. Will Protinick 3. Paul Mancini 4. Mason Magee 5. Gary Bozowski 6. Amanda Buchel