Frank Cozze Ends 10 Year Drought At New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ – Frank Cozze returned to New Egypt Speedway Modified Victory Lane for the first time in almost a decade on Saturday night aboard the Dave Renaldo owned No. 401. The two-time Modified track last graced New Egypt Speedway victory lane on September 4, 2010.

Steve Davis led the Vahlco Wheels Modified field to the green-flag but it would be Kory Fleming leading lap number one. The first yellow flag of the event flew with a lap completed for Jimmy Horton in turn number four. On the restart Cozze shot to second and began to stalk Fleming for the lead. The second caution of the event flew on lap five for Matt Stangle stopping in the short shoot heading into turn three. When green replaced yellow Cozze shot to the outside of Fleming in turn one and emerged the leader on the backstretch. Debris was the cause of caution number three on lap seven.

Cozze jumped back out to the lead with a new challenger in PJ Oliver for the lead. Once out in front Cozze would maintain the lead until the yellow flew again on lap 14, this time for Cale Ross who had spun in turn one.

Again Cozze shot out to the lead on the restart, but he would then have a new second-place man in Dakota Kessler who dove to the inside of Oliver as the field entered turn one. Kessler would remain in the runner-up spot for the next six laps as now David VanHorn entered the picture as Cozze’s latest challenger.

As the laps started to wind down, Cozze would reach lapped traffic on lap 23 with VanHorn on his horse trying to catch Cozze at a frantic pace. At the two-to-go signal VanHorn appeared to be closing in on Cozze but he would run out of time as Cozze scored his first star in the New Egypt Speedway win column since September 4, 2010 and his 27th overall at the Route 539 speed plant. VanHorn would come home second with Billy Pauch Jr., Dakota Kessler and PJ Oliver completing the top five.

“It’s been a long time since we’ve been here. This has always been home, this the place I love coming to. The fans are the greatest here, I think,” said Cozze post race. “It feels good to finally have the monkey off our back. I gotta thank Dave Renaldo, we’ve had a rough couple weeks and he’s gotten us everything we need. I can’t thank the guys on my team, they all worked so hard. It was a good win tonight.

Mark Bitner led wire-to-wire in USAC East Coast Sprint Car competition but it would not come as easy as that sounded. Bitner led the field to the green but before a lap would be completed JR Berry would spin in turn number three. When the green flag flew again, Bitner jumped back out to the lead with the best battle on the speedway being for second between Kyle Lick, Ryan Watt and Chris Allen Jr. Allen would rim-ride his way to second and begin his chase of Bitner who now was roughly a half a straightaway out in front.

With Bitner now entering lapped traffic on lap 15, that allowed Allen to close up right to the tail tank of Bitner as the two weaved in and out of lapped traffic all while battling for the race lead. Entering turn three Allen threw his No. 71 machine hard into the corner trying to drive around Bitner but he was not able to make it stick and slipped up the race track allowing Bitner to pull back away. The yellow flag flew for the final time on lap 23 when David Swanson came to a stop in turns one and two setting up a green-white-checkered finish. When racing resumed Allen threw everything he had at Bitner but it would be to no avail as Bitner picked up the win at what is considered to be his “home track” Allen would be the runner-up followed by Ryan Watt, a hard charging Billy Pauch Jr. and defending USAC East Coast Sprint Car champion Steven Drevicki.

Howie Finch picked up his first career Sportsman win aboard his Ice Less LLC No. 4 machine and the first for a 604 Crate Motor. Finch took over the lead from race long leader Jimmy Amato and never looked back. Ryan Heim would finish second followed by Dan Fleming in third who utilized a 602 Crate, David Burns and Joseph Brown.

Shanon Mongeau was the victor in the Street Stock event, he was followed to the stripe by Bill Liedtka, Brian Ludwig, Spider Ensinger Sr. and Sean Wall.

Paul Mancini won the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman event.

New Egypt Speedway returns to action next Saturday night August 15th with Ladies Night. All ladies will receive ½ price general admission. In action will be the Vahlco Wheels Modifieds, Sportsman, Ice Less LLC Crate Modifieds, Street Stocks and the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman. Plus, there will be Powder Puff races held at the end of the night for the ladies.

Pit gates will open at 4pm, grandstands at 5pm with hot laps hitting the speedway at 6pm and racing firing off at 7pm promptly. Adult (16+) admission will be $20, Seniors (65+) will be $18, Teens (12-15) & Military w/ID are $10 with Kids 11 & Under being FREE!.
For more information call the New Egypt Speedway office at 609-758-1900, email or visit

New Egypt Speedway, which is New Jersey’s premier dirt racing facility, is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.

New Egypt Speedway Results 8/8/20
Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS

Feature (30 laps): 1. Frank Cozze 2. David Van Horn 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. Dakota Kessler 5. PJ Oliver 6. John McClelland 7. Ryan Krachun 8. Mike Butler 9. Dominick Buffalino 10. Danny Bouc 11. Wade Hendrickson 12. Bryan Kuhl 13. Davey Sammons 14. Cale Ross 15. Matt Stangle 16. Billy Osmun 17. Jimmy Horton 18. Chris Grbac 19. Rocco Infante 20. Steve Davis 21. Craig Mitchell 22. Kory Fleming 23. Frank Venezia 24. Blaine Bracelin 25. Brandon Grosso 26. Geoff Quackenbush


Feature (25 laps): 1. Mark Bitner 2. Chris Allen Jr. 3. Ryan Watt 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Steven Drevicki 6. Kyle Lick 7. Ed Aiken 8. Ryan Quackenbush 9. Alex Yankowski 10. Bill Unglert 11. Bruce Buckwalter 12. Rich Mellor 13. Mick D’Agastino 14. JR Berry 15. Jonathen Swanson 16. Zach Burd 17. David Swanson 18. Heidi Hedin 19. Ken Nealis 20. Lee Kaufman


Feature (20 laps): 1. Howie Finch 2. Ryan Heim 3. Dan Fleming 4. David Burns 5. Joseph Brown 6. Kevin Borden 7. Ryan Krishinski 8. Mason Magee 9. Jimmy Amato 10. Matt Miller 11. Glenn McIntyre 12. Matt Ellery 13. John Criscione 14. Amanda Buchel 15. Nick Trapasso 16. Jim Avery 17. Frank Frasco 18. Will Dupree 19. Marty Resnick 20. Jim Housworth 21. Gary Bozowski 22. Bob Lineman Jr. 23. Paul Mancini 24. Art Liedl 25. Tom Princiotta


Feature (15 laps): 1. Shanon Mongeau 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Spider Ensinger Sr. 5. Sean Wall 6. Chris Felber 7. Drew Brocklebank 8. Todd Dige 9. Dennis Seeley 10. Art Liedl

Lyons Construction/MetalFab ROOKIES

Feature (8 laps): 1. Paul Mancini 2. Mason Magee 3. Jim Avery 4. Gary Bozowski 5. Amanda Buchel DNS: Will Protinick