Mike Gular Gets First Career Victory At New Egypt

NEW EGPYT, NJ – In just his third start as a NES regular, Mike Gular of Boyertown, PA won his first ever Vahlco Wheels Modified feature event at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night. Gular, who also won his heat, made it a clean sweep of the evening when he passed Brandon Grosso in the latter stages of the 30 lap event and went on to claim the victory.

“We decided to run New Egypt this year because we like new challenges”, stated Gular to track announcer Nick Leach, “Terry (Fasnacht) gives us great equipment and I am happy we were able to break thru so quickly.”

Frank Venezia & Kory Fleming brought the 26 car field to the start with Fleming assuming command. Fleming opened up a comfortable lead in the early going with PJ Oliver and John McClelland battling with Venezia for second. Tenth starter Brandon Grosso was the fastest car in the early going as he wasted no time slicing his way into the top five and quickly began to pick off cars each lap. By lap 6 he had taken over second and quickly reeled in the speedy Fleming, with Fleming leading the duo away from the pack. Meanwhile Gular was getting faster as he took over third from Oliver but found himself more than half a straightaway behind the two leaders. However it only took Gular 5 laps to run them down and make it a three car race for the lead. Grosso, feeling the pressure from Gular, finally made a move past Fleming, and Gular followed him by the next time around. It was now a crowd pleaser as Gular looked for a way by with Grosso holding him off at every turn. Gular finally found the line he was looking for flying around Grosso for the lead.  With just five laps remaining heavy lapped traffic loomed just ahead of Gular, and as he approached it the following lap, two of those cars tangled directly in front him.  Gular took quick evasive action darting out to the fence in turn four and barely missing the incident thus retaining his lead as the yellow lights flashed on for the final time.  This final restart gave Grosso renewed hope, but Gular proved to be too much to handle on this night as he went on to win by 1.9 seconds. Grosso, who has been fast in every event so far this season, settled for a hard earned second. First heat winner PJ Oliver finally put things together to come home third, chased by last week’s winner Billy Pauch Jr. and early leader Fleming, placing all three heat winners in the top five at the finish.

The Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars 20 lap feature event was won by last year’s champ Rich Mellor.  Lee Nardelli, last week’s winner, keeps his point lead as he finishes in the top two for the third straight week.  Shea Wills continues to improve, as the NEWS rookie moves up two more spots this week to finish third.  Heidi Hedin and week one winner Mick D’Agastino rounded out the top five.

The Racersguide.com Crate Modified 20 lap feature was again won by Pat Wall, making him 2 for 2.  Ryan Simmons and Tom Princiotta looked strong again finishing second and third respectively. Johnny Bangs came home fourth with Anthony Tramontana finishing fifth.

The Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie feature saw Adam Buchel make it 3 for 3 so far in 2021. Buchel grabbed the lead from Sarah Napora on lap 5, with Napora chasing Buchel across the finish for her best finish. Brandon Shipley again was at the front posting another top three finish.

The John Blewett Inc 4-Cylinder feature went to Justin Dunn for the second time in two starts. Early leader John Ciallella had his best finish ever in the runner-up spot, chased by Tim Jones, Mike Fox & Joe Garey Jr.

Next Saturday night April 24th the MASS 305 Winged-Sprint cars will be in action on Bike Night at New Egypt Speedway. They will be joined by the Racersguide.com Crate Modifieds, the Open Sportsman, Street Stocks and the Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie Sportsman.  Gates will open at 4pm, with warm-ups at 5pm and the first race taking the green at 6pm.

New Egypt Speedway Results

Truck Night


Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS

Feature (30 laps):  1. Mike Gular 2. Brandon Grosso 3. PJ Oliver 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Kory Fleming 6. David Van Horn 7. Cale Ross 8. Dakota Kessler 9. Rick Laubach 10. JR Fulper 11. John McClelland 12. Bryan Kuhl 13. Brian Papiez 14. Mike Butler 15. Kevin Vaclavicek 16. Wade Hendrickson 17. Jim Housworth 18. Frank Venezia 19. Chris Grbac 20. Larry Hendershot 21. Blaine Bracelin 22. Davey Sammons 23. DJ Hunt 24. Nick Keefe 25. Jimmy Blewett 26. Jack Swain

Heat Winners: PJ Oliver, Mike Gular, Kory Fleming

Racersguide.com CRATE MODIFIEDS

Feature (20 laps):  1. Pat Wall 2. Ryan Simmons 3. Tom Princiotta 4. Johnny Bangs 5. Anthony Tramontana 6. Kevin Borden 7. Jason Dunn 8. Paul Mancini 9. Nick Van Wickle 10. Joe Nappi 11. Dan Fleming 12. Justin Grosso 13. Jeremy Martino 14. Jon Meyer 15. Ryan Krushinski 16. Nick Stephan 17. Will Protinick 18. Glenn McIntyre 19. Brandon Shipley 20. Matt Miller 21. Ricky Moran 22. Tom Klimkowski 23. Matt Dealaman 24. Sarah Napora

Heat Winners: Justin Grosso, Joe Nappi


Feature (20 laps): 1.  Rich Mellor 2. Lee Nardelli 3. Shea Wills 4. Heidi Hedin 5. Mick D’Agastino 6. Brian Spencer 7. Al Cheney 8. Ken Nealis 9. Stan Ploski 10. Duane Nixon 11. Larry Drake 12. Rob Ward 13. Chris Pelosa 14. Gary Huston DNS: Greg Shepsis

Heat Winners: Heidi Hedin, Larry Drake                                                                                     

John Blewett Inc. 4 CYLINDERS

Feature (15 laps):  1. Justin Dunn 2. John Ciallella 3. Tim Jones 4. Mike Fox 5. Joe Garey Jr. 6. Joe Garey Sr. 7. Robby Dunn 8. Joe Wolfe 9. Dom Antonelli 10. Chris Elsner 11. Jim Tinnes 12. Ashley Wroble 13. Scott Dunn 14. Chris Gall 15. Paul Hartwig 16. Decker Morrow

Heat Winners: Justin Dunn, John Ciallella

Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookies

Feature (8 laps): 1. Adam Buchel 2. Sarah Napora 3. Brandon Shipley 4. Emily Fleming 5. Matt Dealaman 6. Ricky Moran 7. Tom Klimkowski