Brandon Grosso Takes 40 Lap Feature At New Egypt

NEW EGYPT, NJ – Brandon Grosso of Belle Mead, NJ won the 40 lap Vahlco Wheels Modified feature event at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night. Grosso took the lead from Brian Papiez then had to out run previous race winner Mike Gular to the checkered of the extra distance affair on Little League Night.

Kevin Vaclavicek and John McClelland led the field at the start of Saturday night’s 40 lapper as Brian Papiez gave chase.  These three put on a spirited battle for the top spot in the opening laps as Papiez tried to no avail to sneak by Vaclavicek. Finally Papiez found a groove to get by on lap 8 and took command, and once in front he began to open up on the field.  Once in front Papiez appeared to be the fastest car on the track as he ran away from the field until a yellow on lap 14 closed everyone back up.  The restart saw Papiez continue to control things as he powered away from the pack as Brandon Grosso and Mike Gular moved into second and third. As the race passed halfway no one seemed to have anything for Papiez until a restart on lap 26. Grosso used this opportunity to get under Papiez and grab the lead with Gular following suit.  Gular stayed with Grosso, getting under him several times. With 5 laps remaining Grosso began to slowly open up some breathing room, and despite a final caution on lap 38, went on to post his sixth career Modified victory.  Gular, winner last time out, settled for second with opening night winner Dominick Buffalino coming home third.  Wade Hendrickson and Billy Osmun rounded out the top five. With the win Grosso takes over the championship point lead as point leader Billy Pauch Jr. did not make the call for the feature due to an electrical problem in the #96.

The Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars 20 lap feature event was won by Brad Schaale, as he became the fourth different NEWS Sprint winner in four races. Mick D’Agostino took over the point lead with his runner-up finish, followed by Rich Mellor, Brian Spencer and Heidi Hedin.

The Crate Modified 20 lap feature was won for the third time by Pat Wall, making him 3 for 4.  Justin Grosso, trying to make it a brother sweep, had to settle for second with his best run so far of 2021 in the Crates. Johnny Bangs raced home third chased by Joe Nappi and Nick Van Wickle.

The Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie feature saw Sarah Napora win her first ever feature, as she held off Point leader Adam Buchel in the late stages.

The John Blewett, Inc 4-Cylinder feature went to Justin Dunn for the third time in three starts, keeping him perfect so far in 2021. His dad, Scott Dunn, gave him a run but fell short finishing second. Rich Page, back at NES in a new division, took third in his 4-cyl debut. Mike Fox and Dom “the Bomb” Antonelli rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday night May 8th it is Ladies Night on Mother’s Day weekend at New Egypt Speedway. The Vahlco Wheels Modifieds will be in action along with the Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s NEWS Sprint cars, the Open Sportsman, Street Stocks and the Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie Sportsman.  Gates will open at 4pm, with warm-ups at 5pm and the first race taking the green at 6pm.


New Egypt Speedway

Little League Night/Senior Night

Vahlco Wheels Modifieds

Feature (40 Laps): 1.) BRANDON GROSSO 2.) Mike Gular 3.) Dominick Buffalino 4.) Wade Hendrickson 5.) Billy Osmun 6.) David Van Horn 7.) Rick Laubach 8.) Brian Papiez 9.) John McClelland 10.) Bryan Kuhl 11.) Jim Housworth 12.) DJ Hunt 13.) Frank Venezia 14.) Dakota Kessler 15.) Chris Grbac 16.) Mike Butler 17.) Jimmy Blewett 18.) Cale Ross 19.) Kevin Vaclavicek 20.) Kory Fleming 21.) Blaine Bracelin 22.) Frank Cozze 23.) JR Fulper 24.) Ryan Krachun

DNS: Billy Pauch Jr

DNQ: Nick Keefe, PJ Oliver, Jack Swain, John Aumick

Heat Race Winners: Mike Gular, Kevin Vaclavicek, Brian Papiez

Consi Winner: David Van Horn

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars:

Feature (20 Laps): 1.) BRAD SCHAALE 2.) Mick D’Agostino 3.) Rich Mellor 4.) Brian Spencer 5.) Heidi Hedin 6.) Larry Drake 7.) Ken Nealis 8.) Shea Wills 9.) Duane Nixon 10.) Al Cheney 11.) Rob Ward DNS: Stan Ploski

Scratched: Lee Nardelli, Greg Shepsis, Gary Huston

Heat Race Winners: Rich Mellor, Brad Schaale

Racersguide Crate Modifieds

Feature (20 Laps): 1.) PAT WALL 2.) Justin Grosso 3.) Johnny Bangs 4.) Joe Nappi 5.) Nick Van Wickle 6.) Ryan Krushinski 7.) Anthony Tramontana 8.) Ryan Simmons 9.) Jon Meyer 10.) Will Dupree 11.) Dan Fleming 12.) Jeremy Martino 13.) Glenn McIntyre 14.) John Scarpati 15.) Jim Avery 16.) Scott Maher Jr. 17.) Nick Stephan 18.) Ricky Moran 19.) Tom Princiotta 20.) Will Protinick 21.) Matt Martino 22.) Paul Mancini 23.) George Gareis Jr 24.) Adam Buchel

Heat Race Winners: Pat Wall, Glenn McIntyre

Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman

Feature (8 Laps): 1.) SARAH NAPORA 2.) Adam Buchel 3.) Tommy Klimkowski 4.) Brandon Shipley 5.) Ricky Moran 6.) Matt Dealaman

John Blewett Inc. 4-Cylinders

Feature (15 Laps): 1.) JUSTIN DUNN 2.) Scott Dunn 3.) Rich Page 4.) Mike Fox 5.) Dom Antonelli 6.) Joe Garey Sr 7.) Joe Garey Jr 8.) Chris Gall 9.) Chris Elsner 10.) Joe Wolfe 11.) John Ciallella 12.) Jim Tinnes 13.) Brian Barker 14.) Tim Jones DNS: Bob Johnson

Heat Winners: Justin Dunn, Joe Garey Jr