Strunk Victorious at New Egypt in All Star Cup Shootout

NEW EGYPT, NJ – Jeff Strunk of Boyertown, PA has won many prestigious events in his career. Saturday night he added yet another title to his long resume of success, as he came home victorious in the All-Star Cup Shootout 100 at New Egypt Speedway. Strunk took the lead from Max McLaughlin on lap 86 then withstood several challenges from 2018 track champion David Van Horn to pocket the $10,000 victory, his first in over 10 years at the central Jersey track.
“Max was very fast early on, but I thought he was pushing the pace a little fast,” stated Strunk in Victory Lane, “I was just trying to stay in second and see if lapped traffic would be a factor, and that’s exactly how it played out.”
Frank Venezia and Billy Osmun brought the field to the start of the 100 lap grind, with Venezia pacing the field for the first several laps. Osmun was applying heavy pressure for the lead and he finally slipped by on lap 7 for the top spot. McLaughlin moved into second a couple of laps later and chased the leader as Strunk and John McClelland battled for third. 2021 track champ Mike Gular was on the move as he charged from his 11th starting spot into the top five on lap 15. Osmun continued to hold the lead thru several cautions until lap 26, when McLaughlin used a restart to take the lead away. Once in front he pulled away to a comfortable advantage, as Osmun held off a very fast McClelland for second. However, a lap 37 restart would change the complexion of the race for several drivers. As the field exited turn two following the green flag, second place Osmun would spin wildly in front of the field, resulting in a red flag for a nine car pileup, involving many of the top ten drivers including Brandon Grosso, Rick Laubach, Cale Ross, Mike Butler, Bryan Kuhl and 21st starter Ryan Godown who had drove to 8th position before this crash. All cars drove away from the accident scene under their own power, with varying damage, with several cars taking trips to the pits before returning.
On the restart, McLaughlin picked up where he left off as Dominick Buffalino was now in the top five and on the move. At the halfway point Strunk was a distant second to the leader McLaughlin as Buffalino and Van Horn were now closing in on him quickly. By lap 63 these two had caught Strunk and an exciting three way battle ensued for second as they raced thru lapped traffic, all the while reeling in leader McLaughlin. Strunk prevailed, holding onto second as he quickly marched toward the leader, catching him by lap 75. McLaughlin fought valiantly to hold off Strunk’s assault, but after 10 laps of battling, Strunk proved to be too much as he assumed command. Van Horn followed Strunk past McLaughlin 4 laps later and quickly caught Strunk setting up a final 10 lap shootout. But on lap 94 the action was slowed as McLaughlin came to a stop ending his night. The double file restart saw Strunk control the field only to be stopped immediately by a red flag for Osmun who flipped wildly in turn one. He was uninjured in the crash. The next restart would be the last as Strunk controlled the field and pulled away, winning by 5 car lengths at the checkered. David Van Horn finished second and won the $100 “Pistol Pete Sr.” hard charger award for advancing the most positions from his 18th starting spot. Mike Gular drove a steady race to come home third, while track regular Bryan Kuhl made a very impressive second half charge thru the field to finish fourth. Dominick Buffalino rounded out the top five.

The Crate Modified All-Star Cup 25 saw a first time winner as Nick Van Wickle posted his first career victory at New Egypt Speedway. Van Wickle got the lead on the final lap when leaders Paul Mancini and Pat Wall tangled hard in turn number 3, forcing a restart with one lap remaining. Van Wickle then held off invader Chris Lilick, Sammy Martz Jr. and George Garies Jr. for the win. Johnny Bangs came home fifth.

Eric Jennings won the Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s 20 lap All-Star Cup NEWS Sprint race for the second year in a row. Larry Drake and Heidi Hedin were second and third respectively.
It was Jennings 4th win of his career at NES.

Scott Dunn took top honors in the 4-cyl main event. Scott held off his son & division champ Jusrin Dunn, who pressured him most of the race. Justin Dunn finished second followed by Joe Garey Sr.

In 3 weeks, on Saturday Oct. 23nd, it will be the annual Legends of the Fall event to close out the racing season. The Vahlco Wheels Modifieds will compete in a 50-lap $5000 to win feature event. The 602 Crate Modifieds will race in a 30 lap/$1200 to win race, and the Eastern 600 Sprints will be on hand for the first time with a 20 lap main event. Pit Gates will open at 2pm, Grandstands at 3pm, Hot Laps for all divisions will start at 4pm, and racing gets underway at 5pm.

Then on Halloween weekend it’s the Monster Truck Spooky Smash, Sat. Oct. 30th and Sun. Oct. 31st. On Saturday gates swing open at 3pm with the show starting at 5pm. Then Sunday, Halloween Day, Gates will open at 1pm with a 3pm Show. There will also be a Trunk or Treat for all kids in costume ages 1-11 at 1pm. Tickets can be purchased online at TicketLeap. For more info please visit the speedway’s website at , follow us on social media (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter & SnapChat) or call the track at 609-758-1900.

New Egypt Speedway 10/2/21 – 9th Annual All Star Cup Shootout 100 Day 2

Modified All-Star Cup Shootout Results (100 Laps):
1.) JEFF STRUNK 2.) David Van Horn 3.) Mike Gular 4.) Bryan Kuhl 5.) Dominick Buffalino 6.) Brandon Grosso 7.) John McClelland 8.) Max McLaughlin 9.) Davey Samamons 10.) Rick Laubach 11.) Ryan Godown 12.) Cale Ross 13.) Mike Butler 14.) JR Fulper 15.) Frank Venezia 16.) DJ Hunt 17.) Billy Osmun 18.) Chris Grbac 19.) Matt Stangle 20.) Bucky Kell 21.) Louden Reimert 22.) Danny Bouc 23.) Jack Butler DQ: Dakota Kessler
Heat Race Winners: Rick Laubach, Max McLaughlin & Danny Bouc
Locked in from Friday: Dominick Buffalino & Brandon Grosso
B Main winner: Ryan Godown
DNQ: Ryan Grim, Rich Rutski, Mickey Kessler, Danny Creeden, Kory Fleming, Jim Bobbitt, Wade Hendrickson, Justin Grosso

Crate Modified Feature Results (20 Laps):
1.) NICK VAN WICKLE 2.) Chris Lilick 3.) Sammy Martz Jr 4.) George Gareis Jr 5.) Johnny Bangs 6.) Anthony Tramontana 7.) Eric Palmer 8.) Glenn McIntyre 9.) Tommy Klimkowski 10.) Paul Mancini 11.) Ryan Simmons 12.) Matt Miller 13.) Justin Grosso 14.) Doug Dubiel 15.) Will Protinick 16.) Dan Fleming 17.) Tom Princiotta 18.) Jordon Cox 19.) Ryan Godown Jr DQ: Pat Wall
Heat Race Winners: Jordon Cox & Paul Mancini

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Car Feature Results (20 Laps):
1.) ERIC JENNINGS 2.) Larry Drake 3.) Heidi Hedin 4.) Al Cheney 5.) Duane Nixon 6.) Ken Nealis 7.) Eric Miller 8.) Dustin Miller 9.) Stan Ploski 10.) Shea Wills 11.) Rob Ward 12.) Walter Fletcher 13.) Bill Hoff DQ: Rich Mellor
Heat Race Winners: Eric Jennings & Rich Mellor

4-Cylinder Feature Results (15 Laps):
1.) SCOTT DUNN 2.) Justin Dunn 3.) Joe Garey Jr 4.) Joe Garey Sr 5.) Tim Jones 6.) Richie Page 7.) Kyle Hurley 8.) Mike Fox 9.) Bob Johnson 10.) Chris Gall 11.) Ed Ford 12.) Ricky Gergasko 13.) Dom Antonelli 14.) Jim Tinnes 15.) Jared Hale