Ryan Godown Returns To New Egypt Victory Lane

NEW EGYPT, NJ – Four time track champion, Ryan Godown, made his return to the New Egypt Speedway a memorable one as a power move on the last lap of the thirty lap feature saw the Ringoes driver record career win number fifty.

The large crowd in attendance was anxiously awaiting the start of the 2023 season and the new speedway configuration, and by the luck of the draw, defending track champion, Brandon Grosso picked the pole position and took command of the race as the green flag fell with Wade Hendrickson second. Starting the event in the number six slot, it was second generation driver Matt Stangle who began to show his strength early as he reeled in the Grosso Homes #32. Stangle became the new leader prior to the halfway point of the race as the nonstop event saw action throughout the field. With the laps winding down, it was with ten laps to go that Godown, who started in ninth, began to make his move as he cracked the top three and began to quickly zero in on second place Grosso.

The Belle Mead driver held his ground and battled hard before the Camp Out #26 was shown in second with the five to go sign readily approaching. By now Stangle had built up a comfortable lead and with no caution flags in sight appeared to be well on his way to his second career win. But Godown put his many years of experience to use as he now had his sights set on the Stangle #6. With the white flag flying, the fans were on their feet as they knew it would be an exciting last lap shootout. Stangle remained on the low side of the speedway as Godown opted for the upper groove. The two were side by side going down the backstretch and as they entered turn three it was still anyone’s race.

Godown held his ground and had just enough power to nip Stangle at the line. Brandon Grosso finished a strong third with Hendrickson fourth and Billy Pauch Jr. fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Justin Grosso, D J Hunt, John McClelland, Kevin Vaclavicek, and Louden Reimert.

New number same results as defending Crate champion, Joe Toth won the twenty lap main event. Winning the title last season in his Belmont Garage #9, the team switched to a very familiar #917 this season for personal reasons. It was Joseph Brown and David Burns who led a field of twenty five into action and once the competitors settled down, it was Burns who had control of the event. Appearing as though he might have this event well under control in the Flemington Department Store #13R, it was Toth who methodically worked his way to the front of the field. Sitting on Burns rear bumper just past the halfway point of the race, Toth made his move and  was never seriously challenged, recording the big opening night win. Burns and Brown finished second and third with Matt Ellery fourth and Steve Kemery fifth.

​The fifteen lap street stock feature saw Rob Ormsbee return to the Route 539 oval after a one year absence to win the fifteen lap headliner in the John Blewett Inc. #19. The victory was the twelfth of his career for the 2021 track champion. Second spot went to Vern McLaughlin with Bill Liedtka third, TJ Hewitt fourth, and early leader Gary Klimeczak fifth.

​Defending MASS 305 champ Buddy Schweibinz won the twenty five lap main event. It appeared as though Brian Carber had the race all but won, but when the caution flag flew on lap twenty four, Carber rolled into the pit area and out of the race. On the restart, Schweibinz held off Tim Iulg ro rake the season opener. Phil Meisner was third, Dave Brown fourth, and Jeff Paulson fifth.

Flemington Department Store Rookie Feature Quick Results (8 Laps):
1.) RYAN MAHER 2.) Duncan Molesworth 3.) Tim Franks 4.) Isaac Elsner

602 Crate Sportsman Heat Race Quick Results (8 Laps):
Heat #1: 1.) David Miloszar Jr. 2.) George Gareis Jr. 3.) Wayne Weaver 4.) Joe Nappi 5.) Aaron Weaver 6.) Sarah Napora 7.) Mike Baldwin 8.) Tommy Klimkowski
DNS: Steve Davis
Heat #2: 1.) David Burns 2.) Nick Van Wickle 3.) Steven Kemery 4.) Pat Wall 5.) Dan Fleming 6.) Ryan Simmons 7. Glenn McIntyre 8.) Therese Aumick
DNS: Will Protinick
Heat #3: 1.) Joe Toth 2.) Joe Brown 3.) Matt Ellery 4.) Johnny Bangs 5.) Amanda Buchel 6.) Ryan Heim 7.) Ryan Krushinski 8.) Mike Toth 9.) Dylan Morris

602 Crate Sportsman Consi Quick Results (8 Laps):
1.) Ryan Krushinski 2.) Glenn McIntyre 3.) Duncan Molesworth 4.) Tommy Klimkowski 5.) Therese Aumick 6.) Mike Baldwin 7.) Dylan Morris 8.) Tim Franks 9.) Isaac Elsner 10.) Mike Toth
DNS: Steve Davis, Will Protinick

602 Crate Sportsman Feature Quick Results (20 Laps):
1.) JOE TOTH 2.) David Burns 3.) Joe Brown 4.) Matt Ellery 5.) Stephen Kemery 6.) Amanda Buchel 7.) Pat Wall 8.) Nick Van Wickle 9.) George Gareis Jr 10.) Dan Fleming 11.) Aaron Weaver 12.) Johnny Bangs 13.) Joe Nappi 14.) Wayne Weaver 15.) Ryan Heim 16.) Sarah Napora 17.) Tommy Klimkowski 18.) Ryan Krushinski 19.) Ryan Maher 20.) Mike Baldwin 21.) Ryan Simmons 22.) David Miloszar Jr. 23.) Duncan Molesworth 24.) Glenn McIntyre 25.) Therese Aumick

Heat Race Winners: David Miloszar Jr, David Burns & Joe Toth

MASS 305 Heat Race Quick Results (8 Laps):
Heat #1: 1.) Phil Meisner 2.) Tim Iulg 3.) Bob Devault 4.) Mark Bitner 5.) DJ Tanner 6.) Eddie Wagner 7.) Larry McVay 8.) Aidan Borden 9.) Dale Eggert 10.) Kenny Laureno
Heat #2: 1.) Dave Brown 2.) Brian Carberry 3.) Jon Brennfleck 4.) Buddy Schweibinz 5.) Cory Cornell 6.) Logan Diehl 7.) Shelby Kelly 8.) Darren Cox 9.) Jacob Kreider 10.) Jeff Paulson

MASS 305 Feature Quick Results (25 Laps):
1.) BUDDY SCHWEIBINZ 2.) Tim Iulg 3.) Phil Meisner 4.) Dave Brown 5.) Jeff Paulson 6.) Eddie Wagner 7.) Jacob Kreider 8.) DJ Tanner 9.) Dale Eggert 10.) Larry McVay 11.) Darren Cox 12.) Brian Carberry 13.) Logan Diehl 14.) Kenny Laureno 15.) Jon Brennfleck 16.) Bob Devault 17.) Aidan Borden 18.) Mark Bitner 19.) Cory Cornell 20.) Shelby Kelly

Heat Race Winners: Phil Meisner & Dave Brown

Modified Heat Race Quick Results (10 Laps):
Heat #1: 1.) Matt Stangle 2.) Louden Reimert 3.) DJ Hunt 4.) Kevin Vaclavicek 5.) Kevin Borden 6.) Clay Butler 7.) Chris Grbac 8.) Bryan Kuhl
Heat #2: 1.) Ryan Godown 2.) John McClelland 3.) Billy Pauch Jr 4.) Wade Hendrickson 5.) Ryan Godown Jr. 6.) Anthony Tramontana 7.) Frank Venezia 8.) Ryan Simmons
Heat #3: 1.) Justin Grosso 2.) Brandon Grosso 3.) Jim Housworth 4.) Paul Mancini 5.) Jack Butler 6.) Will Dupree 7.) Kory Fleming

Modified Feature Quick Results (30 Laps):
1.) RYAN GODOWN 2.) Matt Stangle 3.) Brandon Grosso 4.) Wade Hendrickson 5.) Billy Pauch Jr 6.) Justin Grosso 7.) DJ Hunt 8.) John McClelland 9.) Kevin Vaclavicek 10.) Louden Reimert 11.) Jim Housworth 12.) Chris Grbac 13.) Paul Mancini 14.) Ryan Godown Jr. 15.) Jack Butler 16.) Clay Butler 17.) Anthony Tramontana 18.) Kevin Borden 19.) Frank Venezia 20.) Will Dupree 21.) Kory Fleming 22.) Ryan Simmons 23.) Bryan Kuhl
Heat Race Winners: Matt Stangle, Ryan Godown & Justin Grosso

Street Stock Heat Race Quick Results (6 Laps):
Heat #1: 1.) Vern McLaughlin 2.) Gary Klimeczak 3.) Bill Liedtka 4.) Chris Felber 5.) Scott Freed 6.) Joe Biederman 7.) Whitey Miller
Heat #2: 1.) Rob Ormsbee 2.) TJ Hewitt 3.) Spider Ensinger III 4.) Ron Pavia 5.) Dennis Seeley
DNS: Nick Keefe

Street Stock Feature Quick Results (15 Laps):
1.) ROB ORMSBEE 2.) Vern McLaughlin 3.) Bill Liedtka 4.) TJ Hewitt 5.) Gary Klimeczak 6.) Spider Ensinger III 7.) Chris Felber 8.) Whitey Miller 9.) Joe Biederman 10.) Dennis Seeley 11.) Scott Freed
DNS: Ron Pavia, Nick Keefe

Heat Race Winners: Vern McLaughlin & Rob Orsmbee