California’s Kody Swanson puts the Epperson 2e sprint car team in victory lane at Lincoln Park Speedway

California's Kody Swanson outran the competition to score the sprint car victory on Saturday.


PUTNAMVILLE, IN ‑ Lincoln Park Speedway opened the holiday weekend with a big night of racing on the Putnamville oval and several drivers returned to victory lane after a long hiatus.

California’s Kody Swanson has joined the Epperson No. 2e team for the sprint car portion of his season and he took home the checkered flag. Dan Lewellen scored the UMP Modified A-main victory on night number two at Lincoln Park Speedway. In the UMP Super Stock division it was Chris Hillman returning to the winners’ circle along with Cody Wright in the first bomber feature and Matt Raber in the second. Andy Bradley was the Midwest Mini Sprint Association feature winner.

Thirty sprint cars packed into the pits looking for a win on Saturday evening. Shane Cottle, Tyler Thomas, Cole Smith and Mitch Wissmiller were heat race winners.

Swanson started on the pole alongside Oklahoma’s Koby Barksdale with Shane Cockrum and AJ Hopkins in the second row.

The first of 25 laps proved to be a difficult end for a couple of strong challengers for the feature win. AJ Hopkins flipped coming out of turn one. He was uninjured, but his evening was finished prematurely. Wissmiller was also sent to the pits with mechanical issues as the field prepared to re-take the green flag.

Swanson was the man to beat on this evening and he would lead from the beginning as the rest of the field gave chase. Cockrum gave Swanson an early challenge, but by the midway point it was Cottle that was becoming a factor ahead of Jeff Bland Jr. and Thomas.

A caution re-set the field with seven laps remaining, but Swanson got a strong start to maintain his lead. Over the final five laps, Cottle and Cockrum were in a fight for second wheel-to-wheel. On this evening, it was Cockrum, who held off the Kokomo native for the runner-up spot. Bland and Thomas wrapped up the top-five.

Twenty-six UMP Modified drivers had their sights set on a feature win at LPS, but it was Lewellen, who won his first feature since 2015. On an evening on which his parents were celebrating their wedding anniversary, Lewellen provided the perfect gift as he held off RJ Pruitt and Travis Shoulders.

Josh Boller and Travis Shoulders battled side-by-side over the first 10 laps of the 20-lap feature as Lewellen ran sixth overall. As lapped traffic became a factor at the midway point, Tyler Nicely was challenging Boller for third and got into the back of the No. 05B machine. The front of Nicely’s car jumped over Boller’ right rear tire as both cars became locked together to bring out the caution flag.

With Boller and Nicely restarting at the back of the field, Lewellen moved into the second spot and he dove to the bottom on lap 15. Lewellen was able to nose past Shoulders to take the lead and quickly began to open up a solid lead. Once he had gained the top spot, Lewellen cruised to the win as Pruitt overtook Shoulders late for the second spot ahead of Michael Fish and Tyler Loughmiller at the finish.

Hillman returned to victory lane for the first time in four years at Lincoln Park Speedway after he got past Jonny Newgent at the halfway mark of the 20-lap feature.

Despite a couple of late race cautions, Hillman ran the bottom to perfection after taking over the top spot. The Camby, Ind. native powered to the victory over Newgent, Wes McClara, Steve Hawkins and Cullen Goodman.

In the bomber main event, Wright started on the pole and held down the top spot despite losing his power steering over the final five laps of a caution marred feature.

Wright was on a rail along the bottom of the track and had Glen Ogden close behind him for most of the race as Josh Litton ran third ahead of Jordan Almanza and Jason Hunt.

By lap 10, Wright had built a solid margin as Litton and Ogden were battling side-by-side followed by Almanza. Over the final five circuits, a late caution re-set the field and opened the door for a challenge to Wright. However, the Indianapolis driver kept the top spot locked down as Litton tracked down Ogden for the second position. Hunt came home fourth and C.J. Bryan charged from 17th to claim fifth.

Raber was the winner of the second bomber feature, topping Adam Farr of Reelsville, Justin Litton, Devin Wallen and Harley Burns.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint car feature

1. Kody Swanson, 2. Shane Cockrum, 3. Shane Cottle, 4. Jeff Bland Jr., 5. Tyler Thomas, 6. Jon Stanbrough, 7. Kyle Robbins, 8. Hunter O’Neal, 9. Matthew McDonald, 10. Koby Barksdale, 11. Cole Smith, 12. Billy Cribbs, 13. Lee Underwood, 14. Nate McMillin, 15. Tyler Hewitt, 16. Nevil Algie, 17. Shelby VanGilder, 18. Tim Creech II, 19. Mitch Wissmiller, 20. AJ Hopkins

UMP Modified feature

1. Dan Lewellen, 2. RJ Pruitt, 3. Travis Shoulders, 4. Michael Fish, 5. Tyler Loughmiller, 6. Cole Parker, 7. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 8. Bradley Sterrett, 9. Jason Sims, 10. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 11. JR Watkins, 12. Sydney Landes, 13. Jay Humphrey Jr., 14. Dave Popielarz, 15. Josh Boller, 16. Tyler Nicely, 17. Brent Hudson, 18. Carlos Bumgardner, 19. Josh McDaniel, 20. Aaron Zellers

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Chris Hillman, 2. Jonny Newgent, 3. Wes McClara, 4. Steve Hawkins, 5. Cullen Goodman, 6. James Campbell, 7. Paul Wright, 8. Chris Harcourt, 9. DJ McCullough, 10. Kenny Fields, 11. Doug McCullough, 12. Justin Massie, 13. Scotty Massie, 14. Jerry Hepworth, 15. Randy Brawley, 16. Larry Raines, 17. CJ Bryant

Bomber feature one

1. Cody Wright, 2. Josh Litton, 3. Glen Ogden, 4. Jason Hunt, 5. CJ Bryan, 6. Justin Bumgardner, 7. Jordan Almanza, 8. Matthew Cooley, 9. Josh Settles, 10. Megan Cavaness, 11. Keivan Clodfelter, 12. David Wallen, 13. Aaron Sloan, 14. Travis Heramb, 15. Tom Cox, 16. Robert Farris, 17. Mark Dickerson, 18. Ray Walters, 19. Ethan Litton, 20. Michael Conner

Bomber feature two

1. Matt Raber, 2. Adam Farr, 3. Justin Litton, 4. Devin Wallen, 5. Harley Burns, 6. Tyler Rodgers, 7. Bobby Tarrh, 8. Larry Cowan