Dave Darland scores Lincoln Park Speedway sprint car victory

Dave Darland picked up his seventh sprint car win of the season on Saturday with a victory at Lincoln Park Speedway.


PUTNAMVILLE, IN – Dave Darland’s late season surge continued Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway as the Lincoln, Ind. driver captured sprint car win number seven during the 2017 campaign. The same could be said for Greencastle’s Jonny Newgent as he pulled away after a late restart to win his third straight UMP Super Stock victory. Roy Bruce Jr. tuned up for this weekend’s Patriot 100 American Modified Series race by winning his second A-main of the year at LPS. Tyler Neal claimed the final feature of the night by edging Josh Litton for the bomber victory.

Twenty-six sprint cars were on hand at the Putnamville oval as Worthington’s Jadon Rogers and Brazil’s Nate McMillin started on the front row.

Jeff Bland Jr. started strong and led early on as McMillin ran second ahead of Darland and Rogers. Scott Hampton held the fifth spot as Shane Cockrum closed on the leaders by lap five. Cockrum would throttle into the top spot coming out of turn two on the 12th circuit before a caution flew.

Cockrum maintained that advantage after the restart as Darland held the second spot over a charging Brent Beauchamp and Bland. Moments later Rogers got upside in turn four to bring out a red flag. Rogers walked away from the incident.

On the restart, Cockrum’s night would come to a close with a broken front end as Darland assumed the top spot. Darland wouldn’t be denied the win after a couple of late restarts, running the bottom line to perfection as Bland came home second ahead of Beauchamp, Brandon Mattox and Scott Hampton.

In the UMP Modified feature, Bruce made the most of starting on the pole, wiring the field despite several strong challenges.

James Walters gave Bruce an early battle before the Bloomington driver began to open up some breathing room by lap 10. However, Jeff Deckard and Caleb Demoss were working to close the gap ahead of Richie Lex and Scott Ricketts.

A caution flag on lap 15 re-set the field as Lex got a big run on the restart and began to close on the lead group of Bruce and Deckard. Lex would make the pass into the second spot with a couple laps to go and pulled even with Bruce. Coming into the final two corners, Lex ran the high line into three as Bruce got a bit sideways in turn four. However, Bruce was able to out drag race Lex to the finish line to win by several feet. Deckard held down third ahead of Walters and Dustin Beck.

In the UMP Super Stock feature, Newgent took the lead in the opening couple laps and didn’t look back on the way to the win ahead of Wes McClara. The pair started on the front row and held the rest of the field at bay to run 1-2 as Steve Hollars snagged third ahead of Aubrey Eagan and Kenny Carmichael Sr.

The final feature of the night provided another battle to the wire as Neal was able to track down initial leader, Josh Litton, with three laps remaining.

Litton held the top spot from the opening green flag with David Bumgardner running second ahead of CJ Bryan and Neal. The lead pack quickly found lapped traffic by lap eight and one lap later a mechanical issue in Bryan’s car caused the No. 86 car to get upside down to bring out the red flag. Bryan was able to walk away from the incident.

When the field went green once again, Litton maintained his lead as Neal closed on his rear bumper with five laps remaining. Neal pulled even with Litton and edged ahead moments before a caution slowed the field.

Neal restarted out front and held down the top spot over the final two circuits as Bumgardner placed third ahead of Jordan Almanza and Jason Hunt.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature
1. Dave Darland, 2. Jeff Bland Jr., 3. Brent Beauchamp, 4. Brandon Mattox, 5. Scott Hampton, 6. Nate McMillin, 7. Koby Barksdale, 8. Dakota Jackson, 9. Kent Christian, 10. Bub Cummings, 11. Josh Cunningham, 12. Chris Phillips, 13. Kyle Robbins, 14. Tim Creech II, 15. AJ Hopkins, 16. Shane Cockrum, 17. Braxton Cummings, 18. Jadon Rogers, 19. Tony DiMattia, 20. Cole Ketcham
B-main winner: Phillips
Heat winners: Hopkins, DiMattia, Darland

UMP Modified feature
1. Roy Bruce Jr., 2. Richie Lex, 3. Jeff Deckard, 4. James Walters, 5. Dustin Beck, 6. Caleb DeMoss, 7. Tyler Loughmiller, 8. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 9. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 10. Jake Leitzman, 11. Jay Humphrey Jr., 12. Jesse Cramer, 13. Paul Bumgardner, 14. Sydney Landes, 15. Dave Popielarz, 16. Scott Ricketts, 17. Josh McDaniel, 18. Brent Hudson, 19. Jason Clark, 20. RJ Pruitt
B-main winner: Cramer
Heat winners: Bumgardner, Leitzman, Deckard, Pruitt

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Jonny Newgent, 2. Wes McClara, 3. Steve Hollars, 4. Aubrey Eagan, 5. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 6. Paul Wright, 7. Bryce Shidler, 8. Doug McCullough, 9. Kenny Fields, 10. Chucky Walden, 11. Ray Walters, 12. Chris Harcourt, 13. Steve Johnson Jr., 14. Matt Jordan, 15. Ken Kelley, 16. Brandon Morin
Heat winners: Hollars, Harcourt

Bomber feature
1.Tyler Neal, 2. Josh Litton, 3. David Bumgardner, 4. Jordan Almanza, 5. Jason Hunt, 6. Megan Cavaness, 7. Kyle Prince, 8. Tom Cox, 9. Ethan Litton, 10. Cody Wright, 11. David Wallen, 12. Glen Ogden, 13. Jeff Allen, 14. Bob Farris, 15. Tyler Rodgers, 16. Keivan Clodfelter, 17. Travis Heramb, 18. Devin Wallen, 19. Gary Hayden, 20. Chad Casassa, 21. Adam Farr, 22. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 23. Corey Anstead, 24. CJ Bryan, 25. Aaron Acres, 26. Matt Raber
Heat winners: Neal, Almanza, Bryan