Short Second Sprint Win of the Weekend at Lincoln Park

Carson Short (No. 21) battles side-by-side with Kyle Cummins during the sprint car A-main on Saturday night. Short went on to take home his second feature win of the weekend.


PUTNAMVILLE, IN ‑ Out of state drivers fared well Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway, especially those traveling from the Land of Lincoln.

Marion, Ill. hot shoe Carson Short took home the victor’s share of the purse in sprint car action at the Putnamville oval and he was followed across the finish line by fellow Illinois driver Shane Cockrum as Garett Aitken of Paris, Ill. came home fourth ahead of Missouri’s Clinton Boyles. The lone Hoosier state representative in the top-five was Kyle Cummins with a third-place run.

Paragon’s Josh Litton recorded his fourth bomber feature win of the season to wrap up the action following Cole Parker’s first UMP Modified win of the season and Greencastle’s Jonny Newgent rolling to the UMP Super Stock win.

For Short, the weekend proved quite lucrative after he claimed his first POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Wildcard feature win of his career with a Friday victory at Lincoln Speedway in his home state.

Cockrum, Short and Aitken picked up heat race victories and it was Casey Shuman that started on the pole for the 25-lap A-main event.

Once the field took the green flag it was Cummins that chose to run the cushion and he proved it was a fast line around, but Shuman was nearly even while running the bottom as the pair duked it out. AJ Hopkins and Short were nipping at their tail tanks through five laps. However, Hopkins’ night was short lived as he flipped coming out of turn four on that same lap and was forced to the pits. The luck wasn’t much better for Shuman as he ran second deep into turn one and was spun in front of the field in turn two on lap seven. The melee collected Joe Stornetta Jr. and Colten Cottle as well. All three went to the tail and restarted.

Once the green flag returned it was Short that ripped to the lead coming off the bottom of turn four. However, he ran side-by-side with Cummins for an entertaining battle for several circuits ahead of Cockrum, Brandon Mattox and Aitken. The lead pack was just getting into lapped traffic on lap 14 when a caution slowed the field and re-established the clean air for the leaders.

Short got a strong start as the field took the green flag again and he would run a flawless 10-lap finish, pulling away over the last few laps to pick up the victory.

In the UMP Super Stock 20-lap feature, Newgent proved dominant, running a smooth and razor sharp line around the bottom side of the track to claim the victory after winning his heat race and starting on the front row. Newgent pulled away after several close laps with Bryce Shidler and added to his lead late over Brazil’s Larry Raines. Wes McClara ran a strong third ahead of Shidler and Kris Starks.

Jordan Wever and Derek Groomer picked up UMP Modified heat race wins, but it was Coal City’s Parker that started on the pole. He battled Travis Shoulders in the early stages of the feature with Groomer and Wever in tow ahead of James Walters.

Parker ticked off the laps after a lap seven caution and looked to have things locked up with a several car length lead heading into the final five laps. However, the lapped car of James Grider spun Parker heading down the front stretch. Grider was black flagged for the incident and Parker was given his spot back. From there, Parker had his hands full however with Walters showing his nose on the final half lap. Walters got as close as a half car length as Parker edged him at the finish line for the victory. Shoulders placed third ahead of Wever and Groomer.

A super sized feature field of 27 cars started in the bomber feature with Jim Litton Jr. and Tom Cox on the pole ahead of Jerry Hutto and Josh Litton.

The field took the green flag as Cox and Josh Litton were door-to-door ahead of Cody Wright and Jim Litton Jr. through five laps. The tightly knit field provided two and three-wide racing throughout the 15-lap A-main as cars diced and sliced for coveted positions.
Josh Litton took over the definitive lead on lap seven as Cox had a tire going flat and slipped back into the field. Once he had taken over the top spot, Litton worked to stay there as Wright closed the gap and challenged him over the final few laps with Almanza on their bumpers. Litton would manage to hold off the last challenge of Wright over the final two corners to score win number four. Almanza took home third ahead of Jim Litton Jr. and David Wallen.

Ohio’s Anthony Haas claimed his first win with the Midwest Mini Sprint Association by topping Ryan Barr, Brad Strunk, Justin Lewis and Cody Trammell.

This weekend will be the Slick Griffin Super Stock Mid-Season Championship race along with modifieds, sprints and bombers.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature
1. Carson Short, 2. Shane Cockrum, 3. Kyle Cummins, 4. Garrett Aitken, 5. Clinton Boyles, 6. Tim Creech II, 7. Casey Shuman, 8. Joe Stornetta Jr., 9. Colten Cottle, 10. Jadon Rogers, 11. Joe Bares, 12. Kevin Studley, 13. Aaron Davis, 14. Matt McDonald, 15. Korbyn Hayslett, 16. Brad Wyatt, 17. Brandon Mattox, 18. Brian VanMeveren, 19. Travis Berryhill, 20. AJ Hopkins
Heat winners: Cockrum, Short, Aitken
B-main winner: Berryhill

UMP Modified feature
1. Cole Parker, 2. James Walters, 3. Travis Shoulders, 4. Jordan Wever, 5. Derek Groomer, 6. Rob Brickert, 7. Tyler Loughmiller, 8. Jay Humphrey Jr., 9. Jake Leitzman, 10. Josh Boller, 11. Michael Fish, 12. Dan Lewellen, 13. Aaron Zellers, 14. James Grider, 15. Justin Cundiff, 16. Carlos Bumgardner, 17. Dustin Bruce, 18. Jimmy Hayden
Heat winners: Groomer, Wever

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Jonny Newgent, 2. Larry Raines, 3. Wes McClara, Bryce Shidler, 5. Kris Starks, 6. Austin Phelps, 7. Ralph Groomer, 8. Joey Archer, 9. Michael Clark, 10. Shelburn Meeks Jr., 11. Paul Wright, 12. Edward Freeman, 13. Michael O’Conner, 14. Doug McCullough, 15. Kenny Weaver, 16. Matt Jordan, 17. Hayden Rogers

Heat winners: Raines, McClara

Bomber feature
1. Josh Litton, 2. Cody Wright, 3. Jordan Almanza, 4. Jim Litton Jr., 5. David Wallen, 6. Matt Raber, 7., Megan Cavaness, 8. Bob Farris, 9. Jerry Hutto, 10. Travis Heramb, 11. Mark Dickerson, 12. Joseph Raber, 13. Barry Hicks, 14. Corey Anstead, 15. Glen Ogden, 16. Jeremy Tate, 17. Devin Wallen, 18. Gary Hayden, 19. Chad Casassa, 20. Chad Stewart, 21. David Bumgardner, 22. Larry Cowan, 23. Albert Orr, 24. Tom Cox, 25. Keivan Clodfelter, 26. Justin Bumgardner, 27. Ethan Litton

Heat winners: David Wallen, Wright, Josh Litton