Familiar Faces Return to Victory Lane at Lincoln Park Speedway

Shane Cockrum powers into turn four over the final laps of his sprint car victory on Saturday night.


PUTNAMVILLE, IN – A group of familiar faces made their return to victory lane on Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Shane Cockrum, Derek Groomer, Josh Boller and Josh Litton each claimed feature wins at the Putnamville oval to start the month of June.

Cockrum held off a late charge by Jarrett Andretti to pick up the sprint car feature win from the third starting spot in the field.

Brent Beauchamp lead the first several circuits after starting on the pole, but would be forced to pull into the infield with mechanical issues by lap five. Cockrum would assume the top spot and would remain out front the remainder of the way despite Andretti’s final challenge.

Cockrum had opened up a solid lead by lap 10 of the 30-lap A-main as Joe Stornetta Jr. ran second ahead of a wheel-to-wheel fight between Colten Cottle and Jesse Vermillion.

However, on lap 13 it was Stornetta getting upside down on the front stretch to end his chase for the win.

On the restart, Cockrum again set the pace as Andretti joined the fray after starting in the ninth spot. With 10 laps remaining, Cockrum had his hands full with Andretti, who slid to the bottom and pulled even with Cockrum. However, Cockrum would hold on to the top spot and would eventually pull away to the win.

Travis Berryhill claimed the third spot and Mario Clouser, who started 17th, would take fourth ahead of Matthew McDonald.

Groomer would repeat as the UMP Modified winner after getting past Jake Leitzman with eight laps remaining.

Leitzman set the pace after starting on the pole with Cody Wright running second as Groomer looked to get past a side-by-side battle between Tyler Loughmiller and RJ Pruitt.

By the midway point of the race, Leitzman was still on the point, but Groomer was all over his back bumper looking for an opening. Heading into turn four with eight laps remaining, Groomer took his shot and made the race-winning pass coming out of turn four. Once he had assumed the lead, Groomer checked out from the rest of the field as Leitzman came home second ahead of Loughmiller, Jordan Wever and Pruitt.

In the UMP Super Stock feature, Boller duked it out early with Doug McCullough for several laps before opening a several car length lead. Bryce Shidler and McCullough fought for the second spot for much of the rest of the 20-lap A-main with Wes McClara in contention as well. By lap 15, Boller had firm control of the lead as Shidler opened up some breathing room over McCullough with Jonny Newgent grabbing the fourth spot.

At the finish, Boller took the checkered flag as Shidler remained in second ahead of McCullough, Newgent and Matt Jordan.

In the bomber feature, Josh Litton got past Justin Litton by lap five and managed late lapped traffic to pick up another victory.

Justin Litton was able to hold off a charging Jordan Almanza at the finish line as Matthew Cooley came home fourth ahead of Barry Hicks.

Thursday evening will feature the return of USAC “Midget Week” with mini sprints and sprint cars also on the docket.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint Car Feature
Mid-season championship
1. Shane Cockrum, 2. Jarrett Andretti, 3. Travis Berryhill, 4. Mario Clouser, 5. Matthew McDonald, 6. Jesse Vermillion, 7. Jadon Rogers, 8. Tye Mihocko, 9. Alec Sipes, 10. Brayden Fox, 11. Joey Parker, 12. Harley Burns, 13. Brandon Mattox, 14. Blake Vermillion, 15. Jacob Wilson, 16. Colton Cottle, 17. Matt Moore, 18. Zach Hampton, 19. Joe Stornetta Jr., 20. Brent Beauchamp

UMP Modified Feature
1. Derek Groomer, 2. Jake Leitzman, 3. Tyler Loughmiller, 4. Jordan Wever, 5. RJ Pruitt, 6. Sydney Landes, 7. Nathan Voorhies, 8. Michael Fish, 9. Rob Brickert, 10. Cody Wright, 11. James Grider, 12. Scott Crouch, 13. RT Gamble, 14. Nathan Krengle, 15. Michael Wesselman, 16. Donald Smiley, 17. Alex Reid, 18. Jerry Bland Jr., 19. James Walters, 20. Michael Kettnich

UMP Super Stocks
1. Josh Boller, 2. Bryce Shidler, 3. Doug McCullough, 4. Jonny Newgent, 5. Matt Jordan, 6. Paul Bumgardner, 7. Larry Raines, 8. Kyle Johnson, 9. Scott Ricketts, 10. Austin Phelps, 11. Paul Wright, 12. Travis Heramb, 13. Wes McClara, 14. Josh Litton, 15. Justin Massie, 16. Jeff Starks, 17. Mason Adams, 18. Wade Goodale, 19. Jeff King, 20. Justin Cundiff

Bomber feature
1. Josh Litton, 2. Justin Litton, 3. Jordan Almanza, 4. Matthew Cooley, 5. Barry Hicks, 6. Joseph Raber, 7. Ethan Litton, 8. David Bumgardner, 9. Tom Cox, 10. Jacob Steinway, 11. Jerry Hutto, 12. Mark Dickerson, 13. Megan Cavaness, 14. Adam Perkins, 15. Jeff Allen, 16. Chris Campbell, 17. Tyler Rodgers, 18. Cody Wright, 19. Devin Wallen