Berryhill Captures Sprint Car Win at Lincoln Park

Travis Berryhilll (No. 77) works the low line underneath Brent Beauchamp on his way to winning the sprint car feature on Saturday night.


PUTNAMVILLE, IN – The return of racing at Lincoln Park Speedway after a pair of rain outs the past two weekends capped a lucrative weekend for a couple of drivers at the Putnamville oval.

Greencastle’s Josh Boller followed up a Friday night super stock win at Paragon Speedway with another win at LPS on Saturday. Likewise, Jordan Almanza, who won two bomber features at Paragon on Friday evening, added a third at the Putnamville oval. Travis Berryhill passed Shane Cockrum with five laps remaining to win the sprint car main event and Tim Prince powered to the UMP Modified victory.

Brayden Fox and Brent Beauchamp started on the front row for the 25-lap sprint car feature, but it was Berryhill that quickly became a challenger for the lead.

Beauchamp took the top line on the cushion by lap five with Berryhill finding a quick way around the bottom ahead of Chad Boespflug. Berryhill was able to assume the lead by lap 10 and appeared to be pulling away from the field as Boespflug gave chase. However, Cockrum, who started 17th, had rocketed into contention as he got past both Beauchamp and Tim Creech at the halfway point. On lap 13, Cockrum flashed into the lead coming off the top of turn two just before a caution bunched up the field.

On the restart, Cockrum began to pull away as Berryhill and Boespflug battled wheel-to-wheel for the second spot ahead of Beauchamp, Creech and Dave Darland. Cockrum had opened up a solid gap on the field by lap 19, but it would unravel quickly.

Cockrum’s right rear tire went flat with five laps remaining and it opened the door for Berryhill, who shot back into the top spot and didn’t look back.

Berryhill ran with his good fortune and took the checkered flag as Boespflug ran second ahead of Beauchamp, Creech and Darland.

Over the early circuits of the UMP Modified feature it was a fight for the lead between Derek Groomer and Jordan Wever.

Wever was fending off Groomer through the first five laps before Groomer would eventually spin and be forced to start from the back of the field.

Prince took the opportunity to move into second-place and snagged the lead on lap eight and began to pull away as Wever would also eventually get caught up and come to a stop in turn two just after the halfway mark.

Brazil’s Tyler Loughmiller took over second-place after fending off a three-wide challenge that included Jacoby Hines and Dustin Beck. However, it was Prince that would not be caught. The Heltonville driver cruised away to pick up his second win at LPS this season as Loughmiller came home second ahead of Hines, Beck and Randy Shuman.

In the UMP Super Stock feature, Jeff Starks and Tucker Chastain started on the front row as Chastain took over the lead over the initial laps as Kris Starks and Boller ran door-to-door by lap five.

By lap 10, Chastain had his hands full with Boller closing quickly with Larry Raines in third followed by a side-by-side fight between Kris Starks and Matt Jordan. Boller had the hammer down on the cushion alongside Chastain with five laps remaining as a caution flew to re-set the field. On the re-start, Boller would make the pass for the lead with two laps to go and made it stick for his eighth feature victory of the season. Chastain held down second ahead of Raines, Jordan and Wes McClara, who charged from 19th at the start.

In the final feature of the evening, Almanza was able to get to the front on lap five and then held off a late challenge from Megan Cavaness over the final five laps to get the victory.

Cavaness was able to pull nearly even with Almanza just before a caution with one lap remaining. On the re-start, Almanza got a strong re-start and picked up the win by a couple car lengths. Josh Litton came home third after a strong challenge from Joseph Raber with David Wallen finishing fifth.

Lincoln Park Speedway
Sprint car feature
1. Travis Berryhill, 2. Chad Boespflug, 3. Brent Beauchamp, 4. Tim Creech II, 5. Dave Darland, 6. Bill Rose, 7. Jesse Vermillion, 8. Jadon Rogers, 9. Kent Christian, 10. Nate McMillin, 11. Tye Mihocko, 12. Blake Vermillion, 13. Matt Moore, 14. Troy Link, 15. Shane Cockrum, 16. Brayden Fox, 17. Koby Barksdale, 18. Lee Underwood, 19. Harley Burns, 20. Evan Mosley

UMP Modified feature
1. Tim Prince, 2. Tyler Loughmiller, 3. Jacoby Hines, 4. Dustin Beck, 5. Randy Shuman, 6. Jeff Bland Jr., 7. Rob Brickert, 8. Jake Leitzman, 9. Cody Wright, 10. Michael Wesselman, 11. Nathan Krengle, 12. James Grider, 13. Nate Zimmer, 14. Jordan Wever 15. John Warner, 16. Boomer Houk, 17. Jerry Bland Jr., 18. Scott Crouch, 19. RT Gamble, 20. Derek Groomer

UMP Super Stock feature
1. Josh Boller, 2. Tucker Chastain, 3. Larry Raines, 4. Matt Jordan, 5. Wes McClara, 6. Bryce Shidler, 7. Daniel Norman, 8. Kyle Johnson, 9. Trey Chastain, 10. Austin Phelps, 11. Hayden Rogers, 12. Jeff Starks, 13. Josh Litton, 14. Scott Ricketts, 15. Justin Massie, 16. Kris Starks, 17. Doug McCullough, 18. Kenny Fields, 19. Paul Wright, 20. Nick Kinnett, 21. Chad Casassa

Bomber feature
1.Jordan Almanza, 2. Megan Cavaness, 3. Josh Litton, 4. Joseph Raber, 5. David Wallen, 6. Barry Hicks, 7. Devin Wallen, 8. Mark Dickerson, 9. Jerry Hutto, 10. Frank Horvath, 11. Matt Raber, 12. Keivan Clodfelter, 13. Joey Cox, 14. Tom Cox, 15. Ron Smith, 16. Justin Litton, 17. Rick Goodale, 18. Bob Farris, 19. Matthew Grimes, 20. Jeff Allen, 21. Tyler Rodgers, 22. David Daniels, 23. David Bumgardner