Perrego Dismantles 358 Field at Orange County


MIDDLETOWN, NY- Anthony Perrego started on the pole for the 358 feature at Middletown and utterly destroyed the field with ease. Facing no challenges during the 25 lap event, Perrego scored an easy victory over Tom Hindley, Jesse Lieby, Gary Edwards Jr, and Frank Venezia.

Perrego fresh off his huge win at Accord in the Superior Remodeling Teo, came to Orange County ready to take on all comers and it showed. Simply the class of the field on this night. Perrego has been running the Superior Remodeling 44 at Grandview on Saturday nights over the last few weeks as his big-block ride in the Bill Pascual owned Middletown entry has had two terminal engine failures in a row. Perrego has vacated this big-block ride under strained circumstances. Look for Perrego to race this Tuesday night at New Egypt and also at The Mr. Dirt race at Lebanon Valley aboard the Superior 44 but with a Billy The Kid big-block the team is securing.

This feature for the 358’s marked only the 3rd time this year the small block’s have hit the track because of rain outs earlier in the year. Going into the event, Craig Mitchell and Tyler Boniface were tied in the points for the 358 title. Unfortunately for Mitchell, he lost oil pressure aboard his Bicknell chassis J&J Auto Maintenance, FP Hats sponsored entry and was done for the night. Mitchell also had trouble in hot laps with his small block as a torque arm fell off.

The top five finishers in the feature were quarantined for a tech inspection where all competitors were deemed legal and the feature was ruled official.

The small block modified’s return on August 5th for another 25-lap feature event.

Small Block Feature (25 Laps) 1 – Anthony Perrego, 2 – Tom Hindley, 3 – Jessie Lieby, 4 – Gary Edwards Jr. 5 – Frank Venezia, 6 – Zach Vavricka, 7 – Donnie Elliot, 8 – Jerry Higbie, 9 – Rob Rowe, 10 – Allison Ricci, 11 – Chris Stevens, 12 – Tyler Boniface, 13 – Scott Flammer, 14 – Mike Horton, 15 – Patrick Reiser, 16 – Tyler Treacy, 17 – Joe Falanga, 18 – Rich Eggers, 19 – Craig Mitchell, 20 – Roger Henion Sr. 21 – Paul Hyde, 22 – Bobby Hentschel