Non-Stop Racing Action Scheduled for Saturday of Eastern States Weekend

MIDDLETOWN, NY – The Small-Block Modifieds, powered by 358-cubic inch engines, will be the Saturday, October 21 headline attraction during the 56th Annual Eastern States Weekend at Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown, New York. This year’s 41st Annual Eastern States Small-Block Modified Championship Presented by Halmar International, WLR Construction, and Arkel Motors race will be 100 laps in distance.

A star-studded lineup of top Small-Block Modified drivers from the entire Northeast dirt track Modified circuit will battle Orange County’s weekly competitors for the trophy and top prize money in this prestigious event.

Since its inception in 1977, the Small-Block Modified race has had several different formats, having been run at 50-, 75-, 100-, and 150-laps distances. The field for this year’s 100-lap race will be set through time trials and heat races, with the final starters coming from consolation races all run prior to Saturday’s main event.

Two drivers, Brett Hearn, Orange County’s all-time race winner and eight time Small-Block Modified point champion, and twice Small-Block Modified titlist Danny Johnson have won more than one-half of the previous 40 races in this annual fall classic which dates from 1977. Hearn has 16 Eastern States Small-Block Modified victories to his credit, while arch-rival Johnson has won this race five times. Other multi-time winners include Doug Hoffman (four victories), Kenny Tremont (three), and Jeff Heotzler (two wins).

Single Eastern States Small-Block Modified champions include 2016 winner Brian Krummel, Stewart Friesen, Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, Jerry Higbie, Alan Johnson, Dickie Keiper, Mike Petruska Sr., Harry Behrent, and Anthony Ferraiuolo IV.

Saturday’s card is one of the busiest in all auto racing. In addition to the Small-Block Modified Championship 100 race, they will be joined by the 305 Sprint Cars, with timed hot laps and qualifying races leading up to their 25-lap Eastern States Championship feature race. Jeremy Quick won the 2015 Eastern States Sprint Car race. The 2016 race was canceled due to inclement weather.

On Eastern States Saturday, the fairgrounds and pits open at 8:00 am, with spectator gates opening two hours later at 10:00 am. Following the drivers meeting at 11:00 am, non-stop racing action begins on the five-eighths-mile Hard Clay speedway, concluding first with the CRSA feature and then wrapping up with the 41st Annual Eastern States Small-Block Modified 100-lap Championship race.

Advance tickets for Saturday or the entire Eastern States Weekend as well as camping and parking permits are available at the Speedway Office during regular business hours, or credit card sales (Visa and MasterCard) by calling 845-342-2573. Tickets may also be ordered online at the official Orange County Fair Speedway website,