DUNDEE, NY…..130 cars jammed into the pit area at Outlaw Speedway Friday night for the Scorpion Security Products Spring Nationals, which also served as the Don Loucks Memorial race.  The track crew worked overtime to bring around the surface after the area was pummeled by up to 3 inches of rain the night before, which made for challenging track conditions for the racers.

Jared Zimbardi and Jason Barney brought the field to the green for the 25-lap ESS/URC/PST 360 Sprint car feature,   Zimbardi grabbed the early lead as Dave Franeck and Steve Poirier moved  into the top five before the first yellow flew for Steve Collins spinning on the backstretch on lap 4.  Barney and Zimbardi battled for the lead until Poirier hooked a rut and flipped in turn 1, bringing out a red on lap 8.   Franeck also went for a wild end-for-end flip in nearly the same spot after a restart.

Zimbardi pulled away on the next restart and hit lapped traffic as Barney battled Dylan Westbrook and Bobby Breen.  Westbrook made the move to go into second but hooked a rut and lost spots.  Breen moved to second and ran up on Zimbardi, challenging on several occasions.  At the finish, Zimbardi held on for the win over Breen, Jordan Thomas, Coleman Gulick, and Barney.

Sprint car heats were won by Johnathan Preston, Dylan Westbrook, Bobby Breen, and Jordan Thomas.

Coleman Gulick  won the Sprint Dash and the B-Main was captured by Paulie Colagiovanni.

The 40-lap Modified feature began with Matt Sheppard taking the lead while Steve Paine charged into the second spot.  Tyler Siri moved into third as the yellow flew for Ron Cartwright on lap 7.  Paine had part of nerf bar dragging off the right rear of the car and had to pit to remove it, restarting in the rear.  Alan Johnson moved into second on the restart and battled Sheppard for the lead while Marcus Dinkens made some strong moves to get into the top five.  Don Lawson’s night came to an end as he stopped in turn four on lap 14, with Paine retiring under the caution.

Johnson grabbed the lead in his Friendly Ford machine on the restart as a wild battle erupted for third between Tyler Siri, Dinkens, and Eric Rudolph.   Sheppard could not catch Johnson under green as the red flag waved on lap 23 after Dinkins took a wild ride, flipping his car in turn one.   Johnson pulled away on the final restart to grab the opening night win and his 43rd consecutive year with a Modified feature win.  Sheppard, Rudolph, Tyler Siri, and Jordan Siri rounded out the top five.

Modified heats were won by Don Lawson, Matt Sheppard, and Joe Dgien.

The GRIT Sportsman Series were also a part of the night’s action, and Don Lawson grabbed the lead at the start but found himself in a torrid battle with Mike Buchanan until Buchanan spun off the outside of turn 3 on lap 5.  Dave Marcuccilli had moved from the 7th spot into the 2ndposition and was battling Lawson for the lead on lap 9 when Dale Welty’s car stopped in turn one to bring out a yellow.

Marcuccilli grabbed the lead on the restart as Lawson fought off Stacey Jackson for second spot with Brett Buono  getting in the mix as well.  Welty spun in turn four on lap 15, which brought the race to a conclusion as the 1am curfew hit.

GRIT Sportsman heats were won by Stacey Jackson, Dave Marcucilli, Don Lawson, and Chris Fisher.

Quinn Sutherland took off from his pole position to lead the Street Stock feature event with Glenn Whitenour giving chase as the pair hit lapped traffic at the halfway point.  Eric Boynton charged to third as Chuck Winslow and Kurt Stebbins battled behind them.  Sutherland extended his lead to a full straightaway in the final laps as Boynton fell out with mechanical issues.  A lap 24 yellow for Bob Buono’s stopped car bunched the field for a restart, with Sutherland being pressured by Writenour and Winslow over the final few laps.  At the finish, Sutherland grabbed the win by a car length over Writenour, Winslow, Stebbins, and Carl Cleveland.

Street Stock heats were won by Bob Buono and Quinn Sutherland.

The 4 Cylinder feature event was unable to be run before curfew and will be held over until next Friday night’s program.

4 Cylinder heats were won by Cody Baker, Andy Proper, and Ray Hyer.

ESS/URC/PST FEATURE-JARED ZIMBARDI, Bobby Breen, Jordan Thomas, Coleman Gulick, Jason Barney, Dylan Westbrook, Mark Smith, Joe Trenca, Robbie Stillwagon, Brandon Kidd, Kyle Drum, Glenn Styres, Matt Billings, Billy Van Inwegen, Alex Vagneault, Paulie Colagiovanni, Paul Kinney, Steve Collins, Darryl Ruggles, Dan Bennett, Dan Kuhn, Dave Just, Steve Poirier, Johnathan Preston, Dave Franeck, Chad Miller, Brett Wright.

MODIFIED FEATURE-ALAN JOHNSON, Matt Sheppard, Erick Rudolph, Tyler Siri, Jordan Siri, Jim LaRock, Eric Fisher, Marcus Dinkins, Brandon Martin, Kyle Coffey, Brady Fultz, Dillon Groover, Joe Dgien, Derrick Podsiadlo, Steve Paine, Don Lawson, Cory Costa, Lee Bills, Randy Chrysler, Stacey Jackson, Ron Cartwright Jr, Justin Wright.

GRIT SPORTSMAN FEATURE-DAVID MARCUCCILLI, Don Lawson, Chris Fisher, Brent Ayers,Br ett Buono, Dustin Jordan, Stacey Jackson, Josh Keesey, Mike Jackson, Ray Bliss, Brandon Butler, JJ Courcy, Brent Ayers, Karl Comfort, Mike Austin, Todd Hayward, Pat LaPage, Clay Wehat, Frank Guererri Jr, Nick Guererri, Jake Dgien.

STREET STOCK FEATURE-QUINN SUTHERLAND,  Glen Writenour, Chuck Winslow, Kurt Stebbins, Carl Cleveland, Bob Buono, Eric Boynton, James Kreidler III, Jake Holcomb, Jared Hill, Christian Thompson, Dennis Cummings, Tracy Dunn, Jayson Smart, CJ Guererri, Gene Balmer, Jeremy Trank.