“The Hurricane” Makes Landfall At Outlaw Speedway

DUNDEE, NY – After some afternoon rain, the sun came out and the fans did too as Outlaw Speedway hosted the annual 

Douglas B Miles Agency Fireworks Extravaganza with a Super 6 Show.

Lee Bills led through turn two of the first lap of the 30-lap Friendly Dodge Outlaw Modified feature, but Alan Johnson 

grabbed the lead in turn three as the yellow flew at the end of lap 1 for Steve Perry’s damaged car.  Matt Sheppard spun 

into the infield on lap 2 and had to fall to the rear, then a multi car pileup on lap 3 involved Dillon Groover, Colton Wilson, 

Derrick Podsiadlo, Steve Davis, and Joe Dgien.  When racing resumed, Johnson maintained the lead with Steve Paine in 

second as Sheppard tore through  the pack, challenging Dinkins for 3rd on lap 13 and taking the spot.  Johnson started 

working his way through traffic and that allowed Paine to catch up, as well as Sheppard.  In a wild exchange on lap 24, 

Paine used the traffic to take the lead from Johnson and Sheppard moved into second.  Sheppard and Paine battled over 

the final two laps, but Paine held him off by half a car length to win his first of the season at Outlaw.  Sheppard and Johnson 

were followed by Dinkins and Justin Wright in fourth and fifth.

Lee Bills, Alan Johnson, and Eldon Payne won the Friendly Dodge Outlaw Modified heats.

Brett Ayers grabbed the top spot as the 20-lap Crate Sportsman feature began, with Fran Hilton emerging out of a scramble 

to move into second.  Todd Heyward was battling in the top five but he sustained front end damage and spun to the inside of 

the frontstretch, bringing out the first yellow on lap 6.  Chris Fisher got a great restart as he charged into second behind 

Ayres and pressured him for the lead until Mike Buchanan spun on lap 13.  Fisher grabbed the lead on the restart and three 

laps later, Dale Welty moved by Ayers for second spot.  Ayers fell into a battle with Doug Smith and Brett Buono as the top 

two streaked away.  The yellow flew again on lap 20 for Doug Kline’s spin, and over the final five laps Welty tried high and 

low, but could not get Fisher, who took the victory.  Welty, Ayers, Doug Smith, and Buono rounded out the top five.

Zach Zigenhagen and Fran Hilton won the Crate Sportsman heats.

In the 20-lap Crate Late Model feature event, Chris Fleming grabbed the early lead from Wayne Robertson and led the 

entire distance to take the win.  Robertson’s car failed on lap 13 and he dropped out, leaving Brad Smith in second and Billy 

DuBois in third as they came across at the checkers.

Chris Fleming won the Crate Late Model heat.

The 30-lap IMCA Modified feature began with Rich Michael shooting from his third starting spot into the race lead.  As 

Michael pulled away, Shawn Bruce and Phil Yaw settled into second and third as Keith Lamphire and Gary Lamphire were 

moving from starting spots in mid pack toward the top five.  Michael hit traffic at the halfway point as Keith Lamphere 

passed Jake Karlnoski to move into fourth spot.  Lamphire was able to pass Phil Yaw for third on lap 20 but had a flat right 

rear tire on lap 21 and went pitside, which brought out the yellow for the first time.  On the restart, Michael pulled away 

again as Will Ward battled Yaw for third.  Keith Lamphire made a tire change and charged back through the field and was 

knocking at the door of the top five on the final lap.  At the finish, Michael ahd a dominant win, followed by Bruce, Yaw, 

Rich Karlnoski, and Will Ward.

Rich Michael, Brandon Smith, and Keith Jack Lamphire won the IMCA Modified heats.

After James Kreidler III led the first two laps of the 20-lap Street Stock feature, Quinn Sutherland took the lead on a lap 3 

restart and Bob Buono moved into second.  The pair battled hard for the lead as Glenn Whritenour broke free of the pack 

to take third and try and chase down the lead duo.  Buono grabbed the lead from Sutherland as Kreidler fell into a battle 

with Gene Balmer.  Kriedler dropped out at halfway as Whritenour battled Sutherland for second while Buono built up a 

lead.  Whritenour took second on lap 13 but Buono could not be stopped as he took home his first Outlaw win of the 

season.  Whritenour, Sutherland, Balmer, and CJ Guererri rounded out the top five.

Chuck Winslow and Bob Buono won the Street Stock heats.

Mike Stone jumped into the lead at the start of the 20-lap 4 Cylinder feature with Billy Bowers breaking out of the pack to 

go into second place.  Ray Hyer was on the move from the 18th spot, moving into third at lap 7.  Hyer caught Bowers and 

Stone and they started a battle for the lead which was halted on lap 10 when Desi Force cut a tire and brought out the 

yellow flag.  Hyer jumped into second on the restart, then took the lead from Stone on a lap 12 restart and pulled away 

while a great battle raged inside the top five between Derrick Puryear, Adam Delgrosso, and Scott Lehman.  At the finish, 

Hyer grabbed another win over Stone, Bowers, Delgrosso, and Lehman.

Desi Force, Ray Hyer, and Mike Stone won the 4 Cylinder heats.

Marc Minutolo led from green to checker to win the Farmers Insurance/Marion Decker Agency IMCA Hobby Stock 

feature over Dave Decker and Allison Pierce.

In the Winner’s Circle Deli Bandit division feature, Cole Youse took the lead with three laps to go to capture the win over 

Braden Buchanan, Matt Irwin, Austin LaBar, and Steven Perkins III.



Dinkins, Justin Wright, Cory Costa, Don Lawson, Tyler Siri, Eric Fisher, Eldon Payne, Brady Fultz, Kyle Coffey, Jim 

LaRock, Colton Wilson, Dave Rauscher, Steve Davis, Ray Bliss, Lee Bills, Dillon Groover, Joe Dgien, Derrick Podsiadlo, 

Steve Perry.

CRATE SPORTSMAN FEATURE-CHRIS FISHER, Dale Welty, Brett Ayers, Doug Smith, Brett Buono, Tommy Collins 

Jr, Rob Bussey, Karl Comfort, Josh Keesey, Fran Hilton, Eric Williams, Mike Buchanan, Dean Laughlin, Doug Kline, Jake 

Dgien, Brian Fish, Zach Zigenhagen, Todd Heyward.

CRATE LATE MODEL FEATURE-CHRIS FLEMING, Brad Smith, Billy DuBois, Wayne Robertson.


Bruce, Phil Yaw, Rich Karlnoski, Will Ward, Keith Lamphire, Will Ward, Billy Ward, Todd Stone, Mike Stoddard, Glenn 

Whritenour, Brad Smith, Brandon Smith, Todd Stone, Tyler Stoddard, Keith Jack Lamphire, Sparky Hills, Jake Karlnoski, 

Gary Lamphire, John Sutryck (DNS). 

STREET STOCK FEATURE-BOB BUONO, Glenn Whritenour, Quinn Sutherland, Gene Balmer, CJ Guererri, Carl 

Cleveland, Jared Hill, Dan Mazzaresse, Dave Matwiejow, Billy Bowers, Jayson Smart, Allison Teed, Brian DeStephen, 

James Kreidler, Arty Teed, Chuck Winslow, Jason Clugstone.

4 CYL FEATURE-RAY HYER, Mike Stone, Billy Bowers, Adam Delgrosso, Scott Lehman, Chad Ayres, John Babbitt, 

Timmy Borden Jr, Bruce Kinner, Jack Ormsby, ShiAnn LaBar, Desi Force, Joey Clark, Steven Perkins Sr, Derrick Puryear, 

Erica Bell, Timmy VanEtten, Chris Percy, Justin Richie, Robert Gardner, Brad Rathburn, Harold Fenton Jr, Scott Lehman Jr, 

Cody Baker, Dan Smart.


Decker, Allison Pierce.

WINNERS CIRCLE DELI BANDITS FEATURE-COLE YOUSE, Braden Buchanan, Matt Irwin, Austin LaBar, Steven 

Perkins III.