Another Friday Night, Another Win For Sheppard At Outlaw Speedway

DUNDEE, NY – Friday night was Boy Scout night at Outlaw Speedway as racers battled on the final night of points before the double point Championship Night in two week’s time.

In the Friendly Dodge Outlaw Modified feature, Dillon Groover snagged the lead at the start of the 30-lap contest over Donnie Lawson, but Tyler Siri battled his way to the point on lap 7, with Matt Sheppard behind them.  Sheppard took the lead two laps later and pulled away out front as Alan Johnson had worked his way to fourth spot.  Alan took third from Groover just past halfway, then got second spot away from Siri with eleven laps to go.  Sheppard continued to charge through traffic in the closing laps, and cruised home for the win over Johnson, Siri, Justin Wright, and Groover in a caution-free affair.

Friendly Dodge Outlaw Modified heats were won by Donnie Lawson and Alan Johnson.

Todd Hayward outdragged Rob Bussey at the start of the 25-lap Crate Sportsman main event to take the lead, with Karl

Comfort jumping into second on a lap 2 restart, taking his turn at the top on lap 4.  Comfort pulled out a good advantage by halfway as Brett Ayers moved past Hayward and battled Bussey for third.  As Comfort ran up front, there was a solid battle for positions behind them as point leader Dale Welty, Jake Dgien, and Tommy Collins Jr tried to move into the top five.  Comfort was able to bring home his second win of the year as the rest of the race ran off with no cautions, with Bussey, Ayers,

Hayward, and Welty rounding out the top five.

Crate Sportsman heats were won by Brett Ayers and Todd Hayward.

The Crate Late Models contested another round of the Double Down Series held in conjunction with Genesee Speedway.  JJ Mazur took the lead at the end of lap 1 of the feature and pulled away from Jeremy Wonderling as John Waters put on a charge to move into the top five on lap 7, then to fourth at the halfway point.  Wonderling ran down Mazur and made the pass for the lead on lap 16 and took the win by three car lengths over Mazur, with Steve LaBarron, Waters, and Brian Knowles rounding out the top five.

Crate Late Model heats were won by Steve LeBarron and Chris Fleming.

Jake Maynard was the early leader in the IMCA Modified 20-lap feature, but Brad Smith took the lead on a lap 3 restart.  Glenn Whritenour and Tyler Stoddard also moved up into second and third, and lined up behind leader Smith when the yellow flew on lap 11.  Smith maintained his lead over Whritenour through some late race restarts and brought home his second win in a row, followed by Whritenour.  Tyler Stoddard held off Phil Yaw in a battle over the closing laps for third and early leader

Maynard took the fifth spot in only his second start of the season.

IMCA Modified heats were won by Tyler Stoddard and Glenn Whritenour.

After a crash involving Glenn Whritenour, Jayson Smart, and Quinn Sutherland on the first attempt to start the 20-lap Street Stock feature, the action resumed with James Kreidler III in the lead as the rest of the top ten battled two and three wide behind him.  Kreidler got a flat on lap 8 and collected CJ Guererri, giving the lead to Carl Cleveland.  Chuck Wiinslow also had a tangle with Dave Matwiejow which took him out of the lead battle.  After several mid-race restarts, Jared Hill had the lead and survived a lap 18 restart and challenges from Cleveland to get his first win of the year.  Quinn Sutherland came back from the opening lap tangle to take third, followed by Bob Buono and Whritenour.

Street Stock heats were won by Jared Hill and Kurt Stebbins.

Chad Ayers led the first four laps of the 20-lap 4 Cylinder feature until Desi Force grabbed the lead.  Four laps later Force slid high off turn four and spun on the frontstretch, collecting several other cars, including Ayers.  Erica Bell inherited the lead and was challenged by Scott Lehman as James Kreidler III drove up to third and caught the lead duo with four laps to go.  Bell bobbled coming to the white flag, allowing Lehman to take the lead, but Kreidler made a run off the outside of turn four on the final lap, making it an all out drag race to the finish.  Lehman won by inches as they crossed the line.  Bell, Bruce Kinner, and Derrick Puryear rounded out the top five.

4 Cylinder heats were won by Chad Ayers and Desi Force.

Shawn Lloyd grabbed the lead at the start of the 10-lap Farmers Insurance/Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stock feature and battled Marc Minutolo for the lead in the second half of the race.  Minutolo took the lead on a lap 7 restart and took the win over Lloyd, Miller, Allison Pierce, and Dave Decker.

Cole Youse led all 10 laps of the Winner’s Circle Deli Bandit feature to take the win.  Austin LaBar was running second, but spun on the last corner, handing the spot to Jared Wakefield.  LaBar recovered for third, followed by Steven Perkins III and Braden Buchanan.

Outlaw Speedway returns to racing action after its late summer break on Friday, September 1st, with the double point

Championship Night featuring a Super 6 Show.  For more information, visit


FRIENDLY DODGE OUTLAW MODIFIED FEATURE-MATT SHEPPARD, Alan Johnson, Tyler Siri, Justin Wright, Dillon Groover, Steve Paine, Kyle Coffey, Derrick Podsiadlo, Donnie Lawson, Brady Fultz, Jim LaRock, Dave Rauscher, Eldon Payne, Joe Dgien, Patrick Emerling, Matt Roberts, Brett Ayers, Cory Costa, Eric Fisher.

CRATE SPORTSMAN FEATURE-KARL COMFORT, Brett Ayers, Todd Haward, Dale Welty, Tommy Collins Jr, Jake Dgien, Brian Fish, Mike Buchanan, Brett Buono, Loren Lincoln, Doug Smith, Chris Silvers, Brandon Butler, Zach Zigenhagen, Chris Fisher, Matt Cole, Jeff Daugherty, Rob Bussey (DQ).

CRATE LATE MODEL FEATURE-JEREMY WONDERLING, JJ Mazur, Steve LaBarron, John Waterrs, Brian Knowles, Chris Fleming, TJ Downs, Kurt Stebbins, Zack Carley, Doug Ricotta, Jimmy Johnson, Brad Smith, Jason Knowles (DNS).

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE-BRAD SMITH, Glenn Whritenour, Tyler Stoddard, Phil Yaw, Jake Maynard, Shawn Bruce, Gary Roberts, Todd Stone, Sparky Hills, Jake Karlnoski, Scott Sebring, Brandon Smith, Rich Karlnoski, Mike Stoddard, Will Ward, Bruce Tinsley (DNS).

STREET STOCK FEATURE-JARED HILL, Carl Cleveland, Quinn Sutherland, Bob Buono, Glenn Whritenour, Arty Teed, Kurt Stebbins, John Burritt, James Kreidler III, Dave Matwiejow, Chuck Winslow, Allison Teed, Brian DeStephen, CJ Guererri, Gene Balmer, Jayson Smart, Zach Teed (DNS).

4 CYLINDER FEATURE-SCOTT LEHMAN, James Kreidler III, Erica Bell, Bruce Kinner, Derrick Puryear, Timmy Borden Jr, Scott Lehman Jr, ShiAnn LaBar, Billy Bowers, Justin Riche, Chris Percy, Steven Perkins Sr, Harold Fenton Jr, Desi Force, Chad Ayers, Joey Clark, John Hand (DNS).

FARMERS INSURANCE/MARION DECKER AGENCY HOBBY STOCK FEATURE-MARC MINUTOLO, Shawn Lloyd, Aaron Miller, Allison Pierce, Dave Decker, Keith Veidheffer, Jeremy Trank, Luke Decker, Eric Williams, Mike Minutolo.

WINNER’S CIRCLE DELI BANDIT FEATURE- COLE YOUSE, Jared Wakefield, Austin LaBar, Steven Perkins III, Braden Buchanan.