Steve Paine Pockets $5,000 in Outlaw Fall Nationals Win

DUNDEE,NY – After rain halted Friday night’s portion of the Fall Nationals at Outlaw Speedway, a much better weather day greeted fans and competitors for Saturday’s scheduled portion of the race weekend, presented by Tioga Downs Casino and Resort.

The Patriot Sprint Tour ran a 27-lap ‘A’ Main to pay tribute to the late Greg Hodnett.  Dave Franek took the lead on lap 6 as Lucas Wolfe moved into second just before the yellow flew on lap 10.  Chuck Hebing blasted from fourth to second on the restart, but Wolfe took it back two laps later as Franek charged away.  A final restart on lap 20 allowed Wolfe to challenge Franek, but Franek again streaked away to take the win over Hebing, who grabbed second by inches at the line over Wolfe.  Joe Trenca and Jason Schultz rounded out the top five.

Patriot Sprint Tour 360 Sprint heats were won by Mark Smith, Jared Zimbardi, Lucas Wolfe, and Chuck Hebing.  Steve

Hutchinson and Parker Evans werre the top two in the 15-lap Dash held over from Friday night.  The B-Main was captured by Derek Locke and the Dash win went to Dave Franek.  Steve Davis took the lead at the start of the Friendly Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram ‘Gunslinger 50’ for the Outlaw Modifieds and held it till Steve Paine grabbed the top spot in traffic on lap 11.  Alan Johnson and Davis then battled for second until Marcus Dinkins slowed on lap 20 to bring out a caution.  Johnson took second when the race went back to green and  chased Paine into traffic.  The yellow flew again when Eldon Payne got hung up battling traffic and tagged an infield tire on lap 37.  Paine again pulled away on the restart and took his second straight win over Johnson, Davis, Cory Costa, and James Sweeting.

Friendly Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Outlaw Modified heats were won by Kyle Coffey, Steve Paine, and Justin Wright.

Cory Costa and Steve Davis were the top two in the 15-lap Dash held over from Friday night.

In the 30-lap Outlaw Crate Sportsman Series feature, Dustin Jordan led through the first half as Brent Ayers and Dave Marcuccilli battled for second.  The race’s first caution flew on lap 19 when Ray Bliss coasted to a stop.  Marcuccilli took second from Ayers on the restart and battled Jordan for the lead, taking the top spot on lap 21.  Marcuccilli pulled away to  collect the win over Jordan, Steve Gray, Brent Ayers, and Casey Pavlick.

Outlaw Crate Sportsman Series heats were won by Karl Comfort, Billy Paine, Chris Fisher, and Brian Fish.  Brett Buono took the victory in the consolation race.

The 20-lap Crate Late Model feature saw Jason Knowles and John Waters battle for the lead through several restarts until Knowles had trouble on a lap 8 restart, spun, and was collected by Jason McGregor.  Waters and Chad Homan fought for the lead after that, with Homan getting the lead on lap 15 and pulling away for the win over Brian Knowles, Waters, Alan Chapman, and Steve LaBarron.

Crate Late Model heats were won by Jimmy Johnson and John Waters.

Rich Michael Jr took the lead from Rodney Morgan at the start of the 20-lap IMCA Modified Fast Shaft Series contest and had pulled over a straightaway lead on Brandon Smith when the yellow flew for Bob Maynard’s stalled car on lap 10.  Michael again pulled away under green and cruised home for the win.  Brandon Smith, Eddie Sites, Rodney Moran, and  Shawn Bruce completed the top five.

IMCA Modified heats were won by Rodney Morgan and Rich Michael Jr.

In the 600 Sprint feature, Garrett Bard jumped from his third starting spot to the lead on the opening lap and went the distance to take the win.  Mickey Cilberto, Ivan Forney, Nate Hendrix, and Tim Lotz rounded ou the top five.

The 600 Sprint heat was won by Garrett Bard.

The 20-lap 4 Cylinder feature saw pole sitter Chris Woodard hold the top spot till Ray Hyer moved in to challenge, but contact between the pair damaged Hyer’s car, sending him pitside.  A yellow for Scott Lehman Jr’s crash on the fronstretch on lap 14 put Dante Mancuso on Woodard’s back bumper for the restart.  Mancuso tired to grab the lead, but Woodard was too strong and pulled away for the win as Mancuso’s car failed on the last lap.  Chris Bonoffski, Justin LaDuc, Tim Bush, and Quinn Wallis rounded out the top five.

4 Cylinder heats were won by Dante Mancuso, Ray Hyer, Justin LaDuc, and Chris Bonoffski.

In the Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stock feature, Mark Minutolo and Justin Eldridge fought for the lead the entire 20 lap distance, with Minutolo takign the win over Eldridge, Mark Chilson, Aaron Miller, and Frank Burnell.

The Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stock heat was won by Frank Burnell.

The remainder of the Outlaw Speedway Fall Nationals, presented by Tioga Downs Casino, will be headlined by features for the World Of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series, Hooiser Tire Crate Sportsman, and Street Stocks, plus a full show for the 4 Cylinders and Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks.  Hot laps will begin at 5:30 p.m. with racing starting at 6:00 p.m.  Rainchecks from Friday night will be honored for Sunday’s event.  For more information, visit


PATRIOT SPRINT TOUR 360 SPRINT ‘A’ FEATURE-DAVE FRANEK, Chuck Hebing, Lucas Wolfe, Joe Trenca, Jason Schultz, Steve Hutchinson, Johnathan Preston, Derek Locke, Parker Evans, Scott Kreutter, Justin Barger, Josh Weller, Jordan Thomas, Kyle Drum, Mitch Brown, Scott Goodrich, Steve Doell, Denny Peebles, Dan Kuhn, Jake Brown, Darryl Ruggles, Steve Glover, Thomas Radavoy, Pete Richardson, Jared Zimbardi, Mark Smith.

FRIENDLY CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM OUTLAW MODIFIED ‘GUNSLINGER 50’ FEATURE-STEVE PAINE, Alan Johnson, Steve Davis, Cory Costa, James Sweeting, Kyle Coffey, Brady Fultz, Derrick Podsiadlo, Justin Wright, Phil Vigneri, Bill Shantel Sr, Tyler Siri, Donnie Lawson, Nick Nye, Lance Dussett, Dalton Brewer, Marcus Dinkins, Todd Hayward, Wally Wade, Eldon Payne, Dylan Groover, Loren Lincoln, Ray Bliss.

OUTLAW CRATE SPORTSMAN SERIES FEATURE-DAVE MARCUCCILLI, Dustin Jordan, Steve Gray, Brent Ayers, Casey Pavlick, Tommy Collins Jr, Karl Comfort, Brian Fish, Dale Welty, Chris Fisher, Billy Paine, Billy Bowers, Kenny Hammond, Tim Guild, Joesph Brown, Garrett Rushlow, Brett Buono, Brandon Butler, Robbie Johnston, Bob Buono, Alex Payne, Josh Butler, Ray Bliss, JT Sparring.

CRATE LATE MODEL FEATURE-CHAD HOMAN, Brian Knowles, John Waters, Alan Chapman, Steve LaBarron, Dave DuBois, Darrin Hotron, Greg Mrzykwa, Zach Wech, Jason McGregor, Jason Knowles, Billy DuBois, Jimmy Johnson, Kurt Stebbins.

IMCA MODIFIED FAST SHAFT SERIES FEATURE-RICHARD MICHAEL JR, Brandon Smith, Eddie Sites, Rodney Morgan, Shawn Bruce, Mark Griffen, Tyler Stoddard, Mike Stoddard, Jake Maynard, Jeff Cardinale, Todd Stone, Rich Karlnoski, Ray McLure, Bob Maynard, Brad Smith, Logan Terry (DNS).

600 SPRINT FEATURE-GARRETT BARD, Mickey Cilberto, Ivan Forurney, Nate Hendrix, Tim Lotz, Tori Kaplan, Darryl Ruggles (DNS).

4 CYLINDER FEATURE-CHRIS WOODARD, Chris Bonoffski, Justin LaDuc, Tim Bush, Quinn Wallis, Scott Lehman, Phil Burns, John Maynard, Mike Stone, James Kreidler III, Brian Grant Jr, Joshua Oles, John Burritt, Austin LaBar, Jarred Wakefield, Clay French, Dante Mancuso, Randy Lane, Michael Burns, Derrick Puryear, Ashley Sutryck, Jack Ormsby, Scott Lehman Jr, Ray Hyer, Eric Rowely, Nick Robinson, Desi Force, Rich Wagner.

MARION DECKER AGENCY HOBBY STOCK FEATURE-MARK MINUTOLO, Justin Eldridge, Mark Chilson, Aaron Millerr, Frank Burnell, Bruce Kinner, Jeremy Perkins, Ralph Champion Jr, Brett Williams, Jamie Eldridge, Dennis French.