Emerling Kicks of 65th Season at Spencer with Win

WILLIAMSON, NY – Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., made a dramatic move in traffic to get past Andy Jankowiak of Buffalo, N.Y., to take the lead and go on and win the Tribute to Don Pratt ‘62’ at Spencer Speedway presented by Wilbert’s U Pull-It in Williamson, N.Y., which began the tracks 65th consecutive season of competition.

The win was the 15th of Emerling’s Race of Champions career and his third Series victory at Spencer. He’s just 1 win away from tying his crew chief, Jan Leaty, for 4th on the all-time win list.

“We had a good night tonight,” stated Emerling in victory lane. “Things went our way. We raced Andy (Jankowiak) really hard and I knew Eric (Beers) and Mike (Leaty) my teammate were coming behind me. It’s great to pay tribute to another great Modified competitor in Don Pratt and thank you to Curt Tooley for working extra hard to raise additional lap money.”

Jankowiak ended up in the turn four wall on a restart, before Eric Beers of Northampton, Pa., gave Emerling a challenge to the finish.

Beers finished second with Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., recovering from an early race spin to finish third.

Daren Scherer of Binghamton, N.Y., finished fourth and Daryl Lewis, Jr., of Ontario, N.Y., rounded out the top-five.

Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y., posted the Speed51.com “Top of the Board” overall fast time in group time trials with a lap of 18.893 seconds with an average speed of 95.273 mph.

Leaty; Tommy Catalano of Ontario, N.Y., and Hossfeld won the qualifying races.

Tom Barron of Ontario, N.Y., scored the win in the Race of Champions Super Stock opener. Barron topped Tommy Krawczyk of West Seneca, N.Y., who finished second and Zack Willis of Williamson, N.Y., who finished third.

Dave Milbrand of Clarence, N.Y., won the Wilbert’s U Pull-It Four Cylinder division race. Milbrand topped Ryan Brown of Ontario, N.Y., (second) and Allison Montgomery of Ontario, N.Y. (third).

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey with primary marketing partners Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, US Army, Upstate Automotive Group, Waddell Communications, Pilat Graphic Design, TDH Refrigeration, Sherwood Racing Wheels, PavedTrackDigest.com and Speed51.com. The 69th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2019 at Lake Erie Speedway in North East, Pennsylvania and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact;

Race of Champions Media at media@rocmodifiedseries.com

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com

Feature Finish

Tribute to Don Pratt ‘62’ (62-laps)

Spencer Speedway, Williamson, N.Y.

Feature Finish

Tribute to Don Pratt ‘62’ (62-laps)

Spencer Speedway, Williamson, N.Y.

Finishing Position, Car Number, Driver, Laps Completed, Reason Out (If Any)




Starting Position








Patrick Emerling




2 3 45 Eric Beers    
3 6 25 Mike Leaty    
4 2 3 Daren Scherer    
5 5 10 Daryl Lewis, Jr.    
6 14 66 Austin Kochenash    
7 18 88 Scott Wylie    
8 15 2 Kevin Miller    
9 7 54 Jack Ely    
10 24 45 Timmy Catalano    
11 9 64 Amy Catalano    
12 19 01 John Barber    
13 8 32 Tyler Rypkema    
14 20 40 Jake Rought    
15 11 22 Chuck Hossfeld 50 Mechanical
16 22 1 Chris Risdale 47 Mechanical
17 1 12 Andy Jankowiak 41 Accident
18 21 8 Chris Finnachario 39 Mechanical  
19 17 19 Austin Beers 38 Accident  
20 13 59 Karl Hehr 23 Mechanical  
21 10 65 George Skora, III 8 Accident  
22 12 54 Tommy Catalano 8 Accident  
23 16 72 TJ Potrzebowski 8 Accident  
24 23 40 Alan Bookmiller 7 Mechanical  

Time of Race: 53 minutes & 38 seconds                   Average Speed: 34.676 mph               Margin of Victory: .740 seconds Lead Changes: 1among 2 drivers. [12, Andy Jankowiak 1-41, [07, Patrick Emerling] 41-62,

Speed51.com “Top of the Board” Award; Chuck Hossfeld (18.893 seconds @ 95.273 mph)

Dirt Track Qualifying Race Winners; Mike Leaty (2); Tommy Catalano; Chuck Hossfeld (2)

US Army Top Performer Award; Patrick Emerling (19.284 seconds @ 93.342 mph)

Wilwood Engineering Certificate Award (5th Place) – Matt Hirschman

MyRacePass “Free Pass” Award – Jake Rought