Penn Can Speedway Closes 2017 Season with Banquet

A night of celebration was held at the Inn at Abington for Penn Can Speedway and 5 divisional champions were crowned. The top 4 were also recognized for their efforts. The 2017 season was officially put in the record books and talked turned to the 2018 season. Penn Can promoter Doug Borger handed out the beautiful trophies and checks as Craig Hawley emceed the nights events.

Modified champion, Dan Pompey, relished the nights events celebrating with family and friends. The driver of the popular #11 earned his first championship with 5 wins on the season. “Mr. Consistent” never crossed the line out of the top 5 all season. He was the first to call out the bounty after winning three in a row. Hopefully the dream season will continue for the 2017 champion.

Kevin Hartnett, Nick Petrilak, Joey Colsten, Joey Grammes would all receive hardware and checks to round out the top 5 in the modified division.

Mike Schane, 602 crate sportsman stand out, is no stranger to victory lane. A total of 8 checkered flag finishes earned him the 2017 championship. The Sharkey Fuel #m16 can always be up front and center. Can Schane make it three championships in a row? Dusty Barton, Moose Gulley, Mike Nagel jr. and Ray Leonard were all in attendance to receive their awards and monies earned.

The factory stock division champion, Chuck Culbertson had 2 wins of the year and a solid performance to put him into the top spot. This was the toughest division of the season with 9 different winners in 14 races. Culbertson is ready to lend a hand as all the drivers do on and off the track. You never know who is going to be in victory lane on any given night. Ned Fitch, Alecia Towner, Paul Conklin and Tommy Groover were happy to join their friend as the top 5 in the division.

The 4-cylinder division saw some nail biters this past season. Champion Mike Robinson had 7 wins on the season. The Harpursville native continued the weekend with a 21st birthday celebration on Sunday. Nick Kennedy, Joshua Wilder, Jeremy Warren and Mike Wilmot were ready to start celebrating after receiving their awards and monies.

Xcel 600 modified champion Bailey Boyd had the season many drivers dream of. 4 wins of the season and never out of the top 5 kept Boyd on top. The Xcel division have the most diversified field of drivers at the speedway. Ages of the drivers range from 14 to 50 on any given night. Young gun Boyd is a respected veteran of the series. Kam Maby, Travis Fichter, Grant Schibilia and Shawna Schibilia rounded out the top 5 and look forward to the 2018 season.

The 2018 schedule has been released and can be found on the website at

The Can Opener is scheduled for April 27th. Open practices are on the calendar for April 7th, 14th and the 21st. Driver Registration is now open for the 2018 season along with updated 2018 rules for all divisions.