Malcolm Collects ‘The Can Opener’ Victory at Penn Can Speedway


SUSQUEHANNA, PA – Brian Malcolm of Lake Ariel, PA scored the Modified Feature victory Friday night at the Penn Can Speedway.  Malcolm shot to lead after an early three wide race and went on to take the checkers first.  Malcolm in his Grim Construction No. 119 was followed to the checkers by Jeff Crambo of Factoryville, PA; Alan Barker of Norwich, NY; Paul Rooney of Thompson, PA and Nick Petrilak of Greenfield Township, PA.

“It’s been rolling along good it’s been a good start to the year.” stated winner Malcolm from victory lane “We got some new shocks tonight and they made a world of difference.  I’d like to able to win the championship here this year.  I have to thank all of my great sponsors and my crew.”

In other action Mike Schane grabbed the win in 602 Sportsman, Shane Wolf dominated the Street Stock feature and Josh Mudge bested Bailey Boyd for 600cc Modified win.  The other winners at the Susquehanna, PA oval were Tommy Groover (Factory Stocks), Mike Robinson (4 Cylinders), Steve Simpson (Wingless Sprints) and Matthew Backus (Juniors).

In the headlining Modified division’s 30 lap feature Dominic Roselli and Jeff Crambo led the field to the green flag.  Roselli and Crambo were joined by Brian Malcolm in a three wide race for the lead on lap one.  Crambo fell back to third while Roselli led narrowly with Malcolm looking to move to the point.  Roselli slammed the door shut on Malcolm but couldn’t keep it shut as he washed up the track in the turns.  Malcolm powered into the lead on lap four leaving Roselli and Crambo to dual for second.  Crambo bypassed Roselli and Paul Rooney followed him by on the sixth circuit.  Fourth row starters Nick Petrilak and Alan Barker were making their way toward the front of the field at the ten lap mark.  Malcolm entered lapped traffic with a straightaway lead over Crambo who was trailed by Rooney, Byron Worthing and Roselli.  At the halfway mark Malcolm maintained the lead meanwhile Barker took over fifth place when Petrilak washed up the banking in turn one.  Barker started to pick up the pace in the second half of the event bypassing Worthing and closing in on Rooney as the laps clicked off.  Malcolm held a steady lead until he struggled with a lapper allowing Crambo to close in a little bit but once Malcolm cleared he quickly built his lead back up in his Morrison powered ride.  Dan Pompey who was running in the sixth spot pulled off with power plant issues.  Rooney and Barker battled for third amongst lapped traffic in the final circuits.  Malcolm took the checkers by a straightaway over Crambo.

“We’re happy with the car it’s pretty much the first race on it after we broke an axle the other week at Five Mile.” said Crambo of his Scranton Craftsman No. 77 “After hot laps we made some little changes and it was good there’s still a few little things to work on.  I think it was who got the lead first and Malcolm was able to get by when we were three wide.”

Barker bypassed Rooney and crossed the line just ahead to take third, Petrilak rounded out the top five.  Worthing, Roselli, Steve Deinhardt, Mike Loney and Alan Kellogg completed the top ten.  Modified heat races were won by Crambo and Malcolm.

“I couldn’t get out of my own way in the heat race and we threw the book at the car.” stated Barker of the McCain Gas and Electric No. 77 “I’m very happy with the car the changes worked.  I was able to roll through the corners when some of the guys seemed to struggle through the bumps.”

The 602 Sportsman race started out exciting with a three wide race for the lead between Brian Franko, Ryan Stone and Mike Schane.  Stone and Schane still battled side by side while Mike Nagel Jr. took over third place.  Schane pulled ahead leaving Stone to battle Nagel for second on the third lap.  Schane and Nagel pulled away from an entertaining race for third between Stone, Ray Leonard, Rich Talada and Matt Brewer.  Talada eventually pulled ahead for third and started to chase down Nagel for second place.  Over the final laps Schane maintained his lead while Talada challenged Nagel with a few laps to go Talada charged to the inside of Nagel but Nagel held him off.  Schane crossed the finish line first with Nagel just ahead of Talada the rest of the top five were Brewer and Leonard.

In the Street Stock division Shane Wolf made a bold three wide move entering the turns after the first lap was completed and went on to take a commanding victory over George Miller and Dan Force.  The 600cc Modified race saw Josh Mudge utilize a late race restart to come out ahead of Bailey Boyd in a race long battle for the lead.

The Factory Stocks of Nate Hill, Tommy Groover and Dusty Decker raced hard for the top spots in the second half of their feature.  Last year’s track champion Groover slid by Hill in lapped traffic and pulled away Decker grabbed second and Hill placed third.  In the 4 Cylinder class Michael Robinson shot from row two into the lead and was never challenged he was followed at the finish by Nick Kennedy and Frank Kennedy.  Matthew Backus took the victory in the Juniors division ahead of Joshua Landers and Trevor Houghton.  Steve Simpson dominated in the Wingless Sprints Brandon Clapperton was second.

Notes: The night started with all cars coming to the front stretch so the fans could get a closer look and to join in celebrating the careers of Southern Tier Fan Favorites Carl Nagel and Doug Worthing.  Several drivers had eventful nights.  In Modified heat race action Mike Nagel rolled his car the car and driver were okay and returned for the feature.  Travis Rooney wrecked hard in the 600cc Modifieds after riding the outside dirt bank and Brian Salmini clobbered the front stretch wall and rolled his 4 Cylinder ride.

Penn Can Speedway Results 5-17-19

Sunoco Racing Fuels Modified Feature Finish: Brian Malcolm, Jeff Crambo, Alan Barker, Paul Rooney, Nick Petrilak, Byron Worthing, Dominic Roselli, Steven Deinhardt, Mike Loney, Alan Kellogg, Dan Soloman, Nick Mady, Brad Schafer, Dan Pompey, Jon Morris, Mike Nagel.

Stone Bros. Automotive 602 Sportsman Feature Finish: Mike Schane, Mike Nagel Jr., Rich Talada, Matt Brewer, Ray Leonard, Randy Brokaw, Ryan Stone, Brandon Fritch, Jim O’Hara, Brian Franko, Tommy Oleski, Brandon Oleski, Mark Longstreet, Frank Payne, Mark Clauss.

Insinger Performane Street Stock Feature Finish: Shane Wolf, George Miller, Dan Force, Ned Fitch, Jim Sykes, Frank Bonham, Eric Bonham.

Leeward Construction 600cc Modified Feature Finish: Josh Mudge, Bailey Boyd, John Ayre, Jamie Frantz, Ali Sutt, Chace Scutt, Doug Lattner, Ayden Morgan, Travis Rooney, Kaden Ayre, Bill Johnson.

Factory Stocks Feature Finish: Tommy Groover, Dusty Decker, Nate Hill, Cyrus Homer, Sheldon Whitman, Cody Fassett, Jerry Lee Fassett Jr., Paul Conklin, Phil Burns, Dustin Fassett, Levi Frink, Alecia Towner, Rich Wagner, Charlie Towner, Ken Washburn.

4 Cylinder Feature Finish: Mike Robinson, Nick Kennedy, Frank Kennedy, TJ Kapish, Jason Colwell, Josh Wilder, Steve Motiska, Cory Brown, Lynn Highhouse, Raymond Leonard Jr., Zeb Farbee, Ronnie Welch, Mike Farris, Andy Bolles, Dave Bainbridge, Brian Salmini.

Wingless Sprints Feature Finish: Steve Simpson, Brandon Clapperton.

Cobble Creek Landscape and Florist Juniors Feature Finish: Matthew Backus, Joshua Landers, Trevor Houghton, Aubrey Ayre.