Tonkin Takes Penn Can Speedway Season Opener

SUSQUEHANNA, PA – Penn Can speedway opened its season Friday night with 22 modifieds set to take the green. Frank Yankowski and Dan Vauter charged out of turn 4 with Yankowski pulling out to the early lead. Disaster struck early as a six car pileup in turn 4 stopped the action and included 2022 track champion Kevin Hartnett. Yankowski rocketed ahead on the restart as Vauter was challenged by Danny Creeden the next lap. In 3 laps Creeden had advanced from with to second and set his sights on leader Yankowski.

Contact between Justin Holland and Alex Stanton brought out the second yellow on lap 6, putting Creeden on the outside of Yankowski for the restart. Creeden took the lead as Alext Tonkin edged out Vauter for third. Vauter’s night came to an unexpected end the following lap as his car slowed setting up a lap 9 restart. Creeden and Yankowski would battle hard through turns 1 and 2 with Yankowski beginning to pull ahead as the pair darted down the backstretch. The pair would touch, sending Yankowski into the back stretch wall and Creeden to the tail for contact.

Alex and Brett Tonkin took over the front row, as Alex would lead through a slew of yellows. By the lap 14 restart Creeden had worked his way back to second, squeezing to the inside of Brett Tonkin as the field settled into a green flag run. Alan Komar’s machine went up in smoke with 8 laps remaining, creating an opportunity for Creeden to close the gap on Tonkin.

Tonkin would prove to be too much as the pair hit lapped traffic with one lap remaining. At the line it was Alex Tonkin by a car length, followed by Creeden, Brett Tonkin, Alan Rudalavage and Kevin Hartnett. Alex would like to thank his sponsors Stafursky Paving and Stafursky Auto Parts.

Stafursky Paving Modifieds


2.) 16X-Danny Creeden 3.) 27K-Brett Tonkin 4.) 145-Alan Rudalavage 5.) 5-Kevin Hartnett 6.) 14Z-Brad Szulewski 7.) 72-Nick Petrilak 8.) 1-Darwin Greene Sr. 9.) 23JR-John Michael Phillips 10.) 52B-Brandon Fritsch 11.) 73-Casey Plummer 12.) KP1-Doug Polhamus 13.) 88-Alan Komar 14.) 17-George Kostelansky 15.) 484-Travis Brockner 16.) 127-Frank Yankowski 17.) 280-Justin Holland 18.) 84Y-Brian Franko 19.) 85-Dan Vauter 20.) 117-Alex Stanton 21.) 119-Brian Malcolm 22.) 66-Matt Soblechi

Erik Hines Trucking LLC 602 Crate Sportsman


2.) 3R-Ray Leonard 3.) 14K-Alex Konopka 4.) 197-Mike Schane 5.) 10K-Kolyn Schane 6.) 711-Tyler Peet 7.) 7R-Tommy Groover 8.) 30+-Brandon Oleski 9.) 117-Adam Mudge 10.) 88S-Michael Samoni 11.) 44-Jim O’Hara 12.) 00-Brad Bummar 13.) 32-Eddie Kudrako 14.) 11-Brett Wooster 15.) 26-Brad Weaver 16.) 3D-Dave Leyshon 17.) 16-Nied Fitch 18.) 61-Dave Rosa 19.) 72-Josh Fedo 20.) 711X-Ralph Mele

Factory Stock Tommy Boy 25


2.) 9J-Jordan Towner 3.) 57ND-Rich Green 4.) 10-Kevin Welch 5.) 28-Charlie Gilbert 6.) 23B-Brad Chilson 7.) 919-Jeremie Hale 8.) 28X-Adam Gilbert 9.) 27M-Kevin MacDonald 10.) 23S-Kyle Spoor 11.) 3-CJ Swanson 12.) 19-Derren Davies 13.) 35H-Justin Slezak 14.) 83-Rich Sharpsteen DNS: 1X-Daniel Stevens

A&E Tire and Auto Service Center 600cc Modifieds


2.) 108*-Bumps Scutt 3.) 17-Jeff Baldwin 4.) 1JR-Darwin Green Jr 5.) 11-Brenton Payne 6.) 217-Larry Furman 7.) 999-Ethan Johnson 8.) 117-Jeffrey Martin 9.) 67-Tori Straway 10.) 30NN-Nate Oropallo 11.) 607-Jack Sherwood 12.) 99K-Phil Burns 13.) 1-Jared Green DNS: 21-Scott Beach

Gary’s U-Pull It 4 Cylinders


2.) 8W-Rich Wagner 3.) 5-Josh Wilder 4.) 24Y-Chris Yob 5.) 23-Collin Mills 6.) 71-Rob Sterling 7.) 21MJ-Mike Jenks 8.) 22-Davd Benson 9.) 354-Andy Bolles 10.) 27M-Mike Abbott 11.) 77-Brian Salmini 12.) 5L-Bryant Beach 13.) 107-Tim Vandermark 14.) 944-Jeremy Trunzo

Limited Sportsman


2.) 225-Derrick Schaffer 3.) 88A-Amanda Scholtisek