Alex Stanton Shines In Penn Can Victory

By Nathan Aldrich

SUSQUEHANNA, PA –-Fans flocked to the Penn Can speedway Friday night for fan appreciation. With the meet and greet concluded, Matt Sobiech and Travis Brockner led the way for the modifieds out of turn 4. Alex Stanton aggressively worked off of turn two to nab the third spot from Brad Shaffer. Stanton wouldn’t stop there, working the low side of turn four to grab second from Brockner with two laps complete.

Behind Stanton the battle for fourth was on with Brockner, Brad Szulewski and Danny Creeden three wide down the back stretch. As the trio shuffled out, Creeden would take over the fourth spot with Darwin Greene in tow. Creeden would move into third on lap 7, but as Greene tried to follow contact was made with Shaffef, sending Greene spinning and bringing out the first yellow.

Sobiech elected for the bottom on the restart with Stanton leading the way as the pair came down the frontstretch. Creeden would move into the second spot before the yellow graced the air once again for Nick Petrilak. At first Stanton would head for the outside, then reconsidering and restarting on the bottom with 11 laps complete. The decision paid off as Stanton was able to stay ahead of Creeden on the restart, building up a two car length lead with 17 laps complete. Brett Tonkin and Kevin Hartnett were putting on a show battling for the fourth place spot with ten laps to go as the pair closed in on third place running Szulewski.

Stanton would struggle with the lapped machine of Dan Burman, allowing Creeden to close in with 7 laps remaining. Just as it looked like Creeden would catch the leader, Frank Yankowski’s night came to an end with a stop at the top of turn 2, creating a five lap dash to the finish. Stanton would ace the single file restart, building up a 5 car length gap to take the checkered flags for his first win of the season. Creeden would arrive second with Hartnett eclipsing Szulewski for third and Tonkin rounding out the top 5.

Stafursky Paving Modifieds

WINNER – 117 – ALEX STANTON, 2.) 16X-Danny Creeden 3.) 5-Kevin Hartnett 4.) 14Z-Brad Szulewski 5.) 27K-Brett Tonkin 6.) 119-Brian Malcolm 7.) 1-Darwin Greene Sr. 8.) 66M-Matt Sobiech 9.) 17-George Kostelansky 10.) D9-Dennis Clapperton 11.) 23JR-John Michael Phillips 12.) 72-Nick Petrilak 13.) 88-Alan Komar 14.) 23P-Bud Phillips 15.) 484-Travis Brockner 16.) 014-Brad Schaffer 17.) 57-Dan Burman 18.) 127-Frank Yankowski 19.) 14A-Brian Franko 20.) 73-Casey Plummer 21.) 52B-Brandon Fritsch

Erik Hines Trucking LLC 602 Crate Sportsman

WINNER – 26 – BRAD WEAVER, 2.) 197-Mike Schane 3.) M7-Mike Nagel Jr. 4.) 14K-Alex Konopka 5.) 3R-Ray Leonard 6.) 30+-Brandon Oleski 7.) 70J-Joe Novak 8.) 711X-Allen Kellogg 9.) 88A-Amanda Scholtisek 10.) 11-Brett Wooster 11.) 484-Eric Bonham 12.) 10K-Kolyn Schane 13.) 44-Jim O’Hara 14.) 117-Adam Mudge 15.) 54T-Travis Rooney 16.) 0-JT McCrackin 17.) 88S-Michael Samony 18.) 55-Marty Goodwin 19.) 5T-Charlie Towner 20.) 711-Ralph Mele 21.) 16-Ned Fitch 22.) 7R-Tommy Groover DNS: 8S-Rich Sharpsteen, DQ: 00-Brad Burman

A & E Tire and Auto Center 600cc Modifieds

WINNER – 11 – BRENTON PAYNE, 2.) 5-Chuck Lohmeyer 3.) 217-Larry Furman 4.) 30NN-Nate Oropallo 5.) 2H-Eric Boynton 6.) 108-Ali Scutt 7.) 314-Kyle Percy 8.) 17-Jeff Baldwin 9.) 67-Tori Straway 10.) 134-Tracy Oliver 11.) 424G-Mollie Mroz 12.) 117-Jeffrey Martin 13.) 124-Matt Cole 14.) 99K-Phil Burns 15.) 1JR-Darwin Greene Jr 16.) 12J-John Dinniny DNS 28H-Sam Hubbard, 24X-Todd Titus, 424-Devan Sieban

Factory Stock

WINNER – 23S – KYLE SPOOR, 2.) 28X-Adam Gilbert 3.) 7-Mahlon Shoemaker 4.) 28-Charlie Gilbert 5.) 35H-Justin Slezak 6.) 187v-Buck Mills Jr.83T-Rich Sharpsteen 7.) 28M-Mike Chilson 8.) 617-Eric Beach 9.) 10-Kevin Welch 10.) 9J-Jordan Towner 11.) 23B-Brad Chilson 12.) 74-John Picchio 13.) 62-Mike Girjatowicz 14.) 83T-Rich Sharpsteen 15.) 33D-Neil DeBlasi 16.) 2-Nate Shay DQ: 73-Steven Deinhardt

Gary’s U-Pull It 4 Cylinders

WINNER – 23 – COLLIN MILLS, 2.) 56-Jeff Sterling 3.) G55-Dakota Fuller 4.) 21MJ-Mike Jenks 5.) 8W-Rich Wagner 6.) 22-David Benson 7.) 77-Brian Salmini 8.) 354-Andy Bolle 9.) 5L-Bryant Beach 10.) 21-Scott Beach DNS: 127RW-Toby Sparks Jr. 27-Ronnie Welch