Port Royal Has World Of Outlaws Late Models Saturday With 410 Sprints

PORT ROYAL, PA – Port Royal Speedway will welcome back the World of Outlaws Late Models for a contest with their Pennsylvania Posse counterparts this Saturday night, August 19 at 7 pm.

A fantastic Saturday night dirt track doubleheader will include the Weikert’s Livestock 410 sprints also in competition.

Gates open at 4 pm.

Adult general admission is set at $27 with students ages 12 – 18 priced at $10.

It has been since 2008 that the World of Outlaws Late Models competed at historic Port Royal, when Clint Smith of Senoia, Georgia, took the victory.

Prior to that, Darrell Lanigan of Union, Kentucky, took a win in the only other Port Royal circuit visit in 2007.

Weekly late model competition sponsored by River Valley Builders at Port Royal this season has been unparalleled in intensity and action with only one driver able to repeat in the 14 races held.

Jeff Rine of Danville has taken four wins while single victories have gone to Trent Brenneman, Jason Covert, Rick Eckert, Coleby Frye, Austin Hubbard, Mike Lupfer, Rick Singleton, Gary Stuhler, Dylan Yoder and Jim Yoder.

Shermansdale’s Lupfer is currently leading the season point standings in a quest for a third track title.

On the World of Outlaws side of the equation, Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Illinois, has been the top point getter and winner.

Sheppard recently scored his list-leading 12th season victory on the circuit and leads series points by more than 250 markers over Chris Madden of Gray Court, South Carolina.

Other winners on the outlaws trail this season have been Shane Clanton, 4; Chris Madden, 3; Brandon Overton, 2; Rick Eckert, 2; Don O’Neal, 1; Timothy Culp, 1; Brian Shirley, 1; Mike Marlar, 1; Devin Moran, 1; and Max Blair, 1.

With the 2017 Port Royal point season heading toward the checkers, both Mike Lupfer and 410 sprint point leader Dylan Cisney need to continue their string of 2017 qualifying and up-front runs in order to claim their respective track titles.

The sprint division has a tight race ongoing with hometown Port Royal driver Cisney leading the way by
155 markers over TJ Stutts with Brock Zearfoss chasing in third, just 185 points out of the lead.

Stay up to date with all the latest Port Royal news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.portroyalspeedway.com or by following the track on Facebook or Twitter.