RUSH Sportsman Mods Set for West Virginia Debut Sunday at Tyler County


MIDDLEBOURNE, WV – Try number two for the inaugural “RUSH Night” at “The Bulling” at Tyler County Speedway will take place this Sunday evening (May 26). It’ll be a Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Racing Series powered by Pace Performance doubleheader featuring the RUSH Sportsman Modifieds in a Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Touring Series event along with the RUSH Sprint Cars in a Bonnell’s Rod Shop Weekly Series special. The event was originally scheduled for April 27 before being rained out. Warm-ups are slated for 6 p.m.

The Sweeney RUSH Sportsman Modifieds are in their sixth year of existence and will travel to the state of West Virginia for the first time in Series history. In a highly-anticipated event on the 1/4-mile, Tyler County will become the 12th different speedway to host an event all-time. This will be the first time since the inaugural 2014 season at America’s Motorsports Park in Clearfield, Pa. that the RUSH Sportsman Modifieds have raced on a 1/4-mile track.

Sunday will officially kick-off the 2019 Hovis Touring Series chase, but will also award Hovis Weekly Series points towards that $3,000 championship. The 25-lap feature will pay $800 to-win. Ohio Intra Express “Shock the Clock” Qualifying will award $100 to the fastest qualifier and will set the heat race lineups.

The Hovis Touring Series ran a non-point feature to open up the season on May 11 when Chas Wolbert won the 2018 “Apple Festival Nationals” $800 make-up for his all-time leading fifth career Tour victory. A total of 36 different cars competed in the event. Wolbert’s five-race Sharon win streak was snapped last Saturday in a Hovis Weekly Series event when Rob Kristyak won his first ever RUSH feature.

Garrett Krummert is the defending Tour and Weekly Series Champion. There has yet to be a repeat champion in the four-year Tour history with Larry Kugel winning in 2015, Brian Schaffer in 2016, and Kyle Martell in 2017. Fourteen-year-old Blaze Myers pulled off a stunning upset in the 2018 finale at Lernerville winning from 19th to capture the “Futures Cup” crown. The class has grown each year. In 2018, a total of 48 different cars competed, and home track Sharon Speedway averaged nearly 27 cars per night.

Meanwhile, the Sweeney RUSH Sprint Cars will make their second ever appearance at Tyler County after competing on Saturday night at Sharon. Gale Ruth, Jr. won the inaugural event at Tyler County last year. In the inaugural 2018 season, 21 different cars campaigned with Chad Ruhlman winning the $5,000 Bonnell’s Rod Shop Weekly Series title. Bonnell’s Rod Shop returns to present the $20,000+ Weekly Series points fund that awards points for drivers’ best 12 finishes throughout 2019. The 20-lap feature will pay $600 to-win. At least a dozen new RUSH Sprint Cars have or will debut in 2019. To date this season, only one event has been completed with Ruhlman winning at Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway over Zach Morrow.

“Our racers are really looking forward to racing at Tyler County,” stated RUSH Director Vicki Emig. “We have to thank Tyler County for bringing this event back after it was rained out to allow both divisions the opportunity to compete on their ‘bullring’ as part of RUSH Night. The Sprint Car drivers really enjoyed racing there last year and are eager to return, while several of our RUSH Modified racers have always asked about the opportunity to race at Tyler County. This night is certainly going to be a unique show for Tyler County’s fans that don’t get the opportunity to see the center-steer Modifieds or Sprint Cars compete in their area.”

RUSH Sportsman Modified Series Officials will determine the Sherwood Racing Wheels “Man of Steel” award winner as one that bounced back from an earlier mishap to finish the event strongly each night. The selected driver will receive a certificate for a free Sherwood Racing Wheel.

Precise Racing Products will award a $100 gift card for the “Pedal Down” Hard Charger that passes the most cars in the Modified feature. The TBM Brakes “Tough Brake of the Night” will award three bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate for a discount off any TBM Brakes purchase.

Dirt Defender’s “Defensive Drive” will go to the Modified driver that best defended his position throughout the night. This award chosen by RUSH Officials will award a $40 Dirt Defender product package. A Sunoco 5-Gallon Race Jug will go to the winner of each RUSH Mod Tour race in 2019.

Pit gates open at 3 p.m. A drivers meeting will take place at 5:30 p.m. with warm-ups at 6 and group qualifying for the Mods to follow. The Westhold transponders will be used for the Modifieds. There will be a $35 entry fee for the Mods. Pit passes are $35. Drivers in both divisions need to come prepared with fuel and tires.

RUSH Sportsman Modified Feature Payoff: 1. $800 2. $500 3. $350 4. $300 5. $250 6. $220 7. $180 8. $175 9. $170 10. $165 11. $160 12. $155 13. $150 14. $145 15. $140 16. $135 17. $130 18-24. $125. Tow $75.

RUSH Sprint Car Feature Payoff: 1. $600 2. $300 3. $250 4. $225 5. $200 6. $195 7. $190 8. $185 9. $180 10. $175 11. $170 12. $165 13. $160 14-18. $155 19-24. $150. Tow $75.

Tyler County Speedway is a 1/4-mile dirt oval located at 1 Boreman School Rd., Middlebourne, WV 26149. Tyler County ran its first race on June 9, 1974 and the 2019 season will mark the 46th straight year of continuous operations. Tyler County Speedway annually hosts some of the largest and most popular events in the Ohio Valley region. For more information, check out their website at Like them on Facebook at and follow them on Twitter @The_Bulling.

RUSH Racing Series is brought to you by Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC & Pace Performance along with the support of Hoosier Tire, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, MSD Performance, Holley Performance Products, Hovis Auto & Truck Supply, FK Rod Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Jones Racing Products, TBM Brakes, Performance Bodies & Parts, Racing Electronics, Dirt Defender, Wrisco Industries, Frankland Racing Supply, Landrum Performance Spring, Ontime Body & Graphic,, Bonnell’s Rod Shop, Zarin Truck & Automotive, Sherwood Wheels, Alternative Power Sources, Precise Racing Products, Lincoln Electric, Velocita-USA, Classic Ink USA,, and Valley Fashions.

E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is Like the Sportsman Modified Facebook page at and follow us on Twitter @RUSHSportMods.