Stone is Late Model Winner at Selinsgrove

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Dan Stone of Thompson scored a thrilling victory with a last-lap, final-corner pass by defending track champion Bryan Bernheisel of Lebanon in Saturday night’s 30-lap KRS Graphics Super Late Model Challenge Series main event at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Stone earned $3,000 for his first win of the season and seventh career at the track. He became the division’s sixth different winner in as many races on Jeff’s Auto Body Night.

Jason Covert of Dover was the night’s fast qualifier over the 26-car super late model field with a lap time of 19.233 seconds.

Jared Fullkroad of Mifflintown won his first career race in the 20-lap Mason Dixon Limited Late Model Series event following an intense three-car battle for the lead and win. Fulkroad, who started his racing career in go karts on the speedway’s one-fifth mile track, became another driver to  win races on both the small and big tracks.

Shaun Lawton of Bloomsburg drove to his first win of the season and his first in the annual A&A Auto Stores Pro Stock 20 that was worth $1,000.

Tom Brunson of Middleburg held off late-race challenges from Jake Jones of Cogan Station for his first career win in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway will be back in action at 7 p.m. Saturday, June 15, with the Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 360 sprint cars sanctioned by the Patriot Sprint Tour. The super late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners will round out the four division racing program sponsored by Advanced Concrete Systems. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

Front row starter Bryan Bernheisel won the drag race down the fron stretch to take the late model lead over polesitter Rick Eckert, Jason Covert,  Gene Knaub, Tyler Horst, and Brett Schadel.

The top three ran the first third of the race nose to tail but on lap 12 Eckert used a lapped car to pick off Bernheisel and take the lead as the pair came off turn four.  Two laps later, it was Covert taking over second.

Chris Casner slowed off turn four to bring out the first caution on lap 16.  Using the Delaware double file restart, Eckert held the restart lead over Covert.

Eckert continued to open the lead and looked like a sure winner when he hit the first turn wall in turn one after the front spoiler reportedly bent under the front end of his race car and ended his night on lap 24. When the lead was handed over to Covert, his car developed a flat tire while pacing under caution due to debris, according to reports from the pit area.  As Covert withdrew from the race, Bernheisel re-assumed the point.

With Bernheisel running the high groove, second place Dan Stone tested him on the low side and raced side by side. Stone then went to the top looking for a lane and just nosed ahead at the line for the win.  Coleby Frye, Knaub and Hayes Mattern rounded out the top five.

Gene Knaub, Rick Eckert and Brett Schadel won the late model heats.

Kyle Bachman took the Pro Stock 20 lead from the pole and was followed by Shaun Lawton, Brandon Moser, AJ Hoffman and AJ Stroup.  Lawton shot low off the fourth turn on lap three for the front spot and immediately opened a lead.

John Schoch brought out the yellow flag when he spun on lap eight.

Lawton continued to lead but on the final lap Bachman pulled even.  As the pair entered turn one, they touched with Bachman spinning out.   Lawton led the final lap winning over Stroup, Hoffman, Tommy Dawson and Brandon Moser.

Pro stock heats were won by Bachman and Lawton.  Lawton’s fast time trial lap was 23.608 seconds

Jared Fulkroad, Shaun Miller and Kenny Yoder shot into the limited late model lead with Brad McGinnis and Taylor Farling in tow.

Miller continued to stalk Fulkroad and really started to press with five laps to go.  On the last lap a lapped car got together with Miller.  Miller bicycled through the second turn allowing McGinnis to get by.

The win was Fulkroad’s first in the full sized cars after winning many times on the 1/5th mile inner oval.  McGinnis, Miller, Derick Garman and Yoder rounded out the top five.

Limited late model heats went to Joe Westerman, Shaun Miller, and Todd Snook. Andrew Yoder won the consolation.

After several tries to get the roadrunner feature underway, Cory Lindenmuth took the lead only to give it up a lap later to Curtis Lawton on the backstretch.  Tom and Will Brunson also got by Lindenmuth for second and third.  Terry Kramer rounded out the top five.

Kramer and Jake Jones were soon battling for fourth as Will Brunson pressured Lawton with the pair getting together and spinning in the fourth turn handing the lead to Tom Brunson.

Jones, who had gotten by Kramer was now dogging Brunson for the lead.  With a lap to go the caution flew again for Jimmy Kessler.

Brunson ran the final laps winning over Jones, Will Brunson, Kramer and Lawton.

Roadrunner heats were won by Lawton and Will Brunson.


30-Lap KRS Graphics Challenge Series A-Main:  1) Dan Stone  2) 119 Bryan Bernheisel  3) F1 Coleby Frye  4) 1 Gene Knaub  5) 9 Hayes Mattern  6) 22 Brett Schadel  7) 14 Tyler Horst  8) 61 Ken Trevitz  9) 6 Donnie Schick  10) 45 Jamie Lathroum  11) 3 Tim Wilson  12) 26 Jerry Bard  13) 63 Nathan Long  14) 10 Dave Stamm  15) 14Z Dave Brouse Jr.  16) 0 Rick Eckert  17) 72 Jason Covert   18) 2J  Jeff Rine  19) C33 Chris Casner  20) 11B Jake Buck  21) 7 Dick Houtz   22) 14 Bill Conrad  23) 76 Andy Haus  24) 8 Matt Sponaugle

Heat Winners:  Gene Knaub, Rick Eckert, Brett Schadel Time Trials:  1) 72 Jason Covert 19.233  2) 0 Rick Eckert 19.276  3) 119 Bryan Bernheisel 19.334  4) 1 Gene Knaub 19.472  5) 2 Dan Stone 19.516  6) 9 Hayes Mattern 19.562  7) 76 Andy Haus 19.600  8) 2J Jeff Rine 19.762  9) 45 Jamie Lathroum 19.781  10) 8 Matt  Sponaugle  19.790  11) 22 Brett Schadel 20.070  12) 33 Chris Casner 20.159  13) F1 Coleby Frye 20.166  14) 61 Ken Trevitz 20.265  15) 6 Donnie Schick 20.405 16) 14 Tyler Horst 20.486  17) 3 Tim Wilson 20.574  18) 10 Dave Stamm 20.607  19) 26 Jerry Bard 20.802  20) 63 Nathan Long 21.192  21) 14 Bill Conrad 22.171  22) 14Z Dave Brouse Jr. 23.942  23) 74 Randy Christine DNT  24) 66 Matt Cosner DNT  25) 7 Dick Houtz DNT  26)11 Jake Buck DNT LIMITED LATE MODELS– 29 Entries

20-Lap Mason Dixon Series A-Main:  1) 12K Jared Fulkroad  2) 13 Brad McGinnis  3) 115S Shaun Miller  4) 11 Derick Garman  5) 7 Kenny Yoder  6) 8 Taylor Farlilng  7) 21 Chad Myers  8) 23 Todd Snook  9) 62 Devin Frey  10) 115 Troy Miller  11) 16 Matt Cochran  12) 48 Donny Farling  13) 2Y Andrew Yoder  14) 40 Tommy Slanker  15) 11 Joe Westerman  16) 93 Steve Todorow  17) 000 Paul Cursey  18) 28 Ryan Zook  19) 21M Matt Murphy  20) 19 Drew Weisser  21) 68R Kevin Probst   22) 1 Chuck Shultz  23) 17X Jim McBee  24) 57 Mike Smith

Heat Winners:  Joe Westerman Jr., Shaun Miller, Todd Snook B-Main Winner:  Andrew Yoder PRO STOCKS – 14 Entries 20-Lap A-Main:  1) 92 Shaun Lawton  2) 26 AJ Stroup  3) 6C AJ Hoffman  4) 16 Tommy Dawson  5) 8M Brandon Moser  6) 99B Kyle Bachman  7) 85 Terry Lauver  8) 77T John Troxell  9) 1 Ray Rothfuss  10) 55 Lori Croop  11) 89 John Schoch  12) 81 Jason Geesaman  13) 9 Noah Jensen  14) 00 Cory Long Heat Winners:  Kyle Bachman, Shaun Lawton ROADRUNNERS –  17 Entries 12-Lap A-Main:  1) 3 Tom Brunson  2) 7J Jake Jones  3) 8 Will Brunson  4) 992 Shaun Lawton  5) 33 Curtis Lawton  6)15 Hunter Shelley  7) 60 Jimmy Kessler  8) 2B Brian Mabus  9) 14 Cory Lindenmuth  10) 1 Smith Cope  11) 12 Tom Underwood  12) K2 Jesse Krasnitsky  13) 32 Ken Schreffler  14) 42 Josh Bender  15) 76 Bob Bussey  16) 28 Nick Decker  17) 28M Miranda Minium Heat Winners:  Curtis Lawton, Will Brunson