Tilley Classic Sunday at Selinsgrove for the 410 Sprint Cars plus Super Late Models

Ray Tilley Classic- Selinsgrove Speedway - M1 Mark Smith

SELINSGROVE, PA – Selinsgrove Speedway will honor the memory of the track’s all-time career leading sprint car feature winner with the running of the Icon Legacy Custom Modular Homes Ray Tilley Classic for the Lelands.com 410 sprint cars at 6 p.m. Sunday, April 25.

Joining the 410 sprint cars on the special Sunday night racing card will be the Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center super late models. Track gates will open at 4 p.m.

The 30-lap Tilley tribute race will pay $5,088 to win and $400 to start out of a total purse of $19,888. Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format. The April 25 race will be the first of the season for the Lelands.com 410 sprint cars.

The super late models will compete in a 25-lap race paying $3,000 to win and $300 to start. Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills scored the late model season opener at the track on April 10.

For fans who cannot attend the race, the event can be purchased as a live streaming broadcast on sprintcarunlimited.tv.

The late Ray Tilley of Pine Grove clinched four career sprint car titles (1965-66 and 1968-69) at Selinsgrove Speedway at the wheel of the Bud Grimm Special No. 88 and remains on top of the track’s all-time sprint car win list with 69 career victories. Tilley passed away on Aug. 9, 2011, from complications of a stroke at the age of 77.

The Tilley Classics in 2012, 2014, and 2019 were cancelled due to weather. Last year’s race fell victim to the COVID-19 pandemic shutdown. The 2013 race was won by Brent Marks of Myerstown. Greg Hodnett of Thomasville was the 2015 winner and Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg scored the victory in the 2016 race. Lucas Wolfe of Mechanicsburg was the winner in 2017, with Mark Smith of Sunbury taking the checkers in 2018.

Title sponsor Icon Legacy Custom Modular Homes is located adjacent to the speedway in Selinsgrove, where the company is transforming the systems-built, modular components industry. High-quality custom modular homes are delivered to customers from Maine to Florida. Visit iconlegacy.com for more information.

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series (ASCS) will return to Selinsgrove Speedway at 6 p.m. Saturday, May 1, in the RiteWay Sealing & Paving “Battle of the Groves” for the 360 sprint cars. The 25-lap main event will pay $4,000 to win. The limited late models and roadrunners will also be on the May 1 card.

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY: A Motorsports Tradition for Generations

Selinsgrove Speedway’s grand motorsports tradition began July 20, 1946, when Bill Holland of Philadelphia won the first race. Since that historic day, Holland went on to win the 1949 Indy 500, and many of motorsports’ most famous drivers have turned laps at the iconic half-mile dirt track designed by legendary Hollywood stuntman and race car driver Joie Chitwood. The speedway, celebrating its momentous 75th anniversary in 2021, will continue its legacy of rip-roaring open wheel and stock car racing this season and for future generations!

For a complete schedule, the latest news, results, and race status, visit selinsgrovespeedway.com or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The track office can be reached at 570.374.2266.

410 Sprint Cars (30-Lap A-Main)
Super Late Models (25-Lap A-Main)
Adults: $22
Students (12-17): $15
Kids 11 & Under: FREE GA
Pit Passes (All Ages): $35
Purse for 30-Lap 410 Sprint Car Ray Tilley Classic: 1) $5,088 2) $2,000 3) $1,500 4) $1,200
5) $1,000 6) $700 7) $675 8) $650 9) $625 10) $600 11) $500 12) $475 13) $450 14) $425
15-24) $400
TOW: $100
Purse for 25-Lap Super Late Model A-Main: 1) $3,000 2) $1,300 3) $1,000 4) $700 5) $600 6) $500 7) $475 8) $450 9) $425 10) $400 11) $375 12)$350 13) $325 14-24) $300
TOW: $100