Smith Passes Cannon Late for Mach 1 Chassis 360 Sprint Car Open Win at Selinsgrove

SELINSGROVE, PA – Mark Smith of Sunbury has won a lot of races in four different open wheel divisions throughout his career at Selinsgrove Speedway. On Saturday night he finally captured what had been an elusive first victory in the Mach 1 Chassis 360 Sprint Car Open after making an exciting late-race pass by Pat Cannon of Etters.

Smith earned $5,075 for the win in the 30-lap championship race at the wheel of the CRC Brake Cleaners/NTK Spark Plugs No. M1.  It was Smith’s 29th overall 358-360 sprint car win at the track.

Garrett Bard of Wells Tannery scored his third Selinsgrove win of the season in the 20-lap 305 sprint car feature, while Adam Campbell of Danville notched his first career roadrunner win in the division’s 12-lap race.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 75th Anniversary Race featuring 410 sprint cars and super late models plus a professional fireworks display at 7:30 p.m. TUESDAY, JULY 20, the actual anniversary date of the track’s opening in 1946. Each of the 25-lap main events will pay $5,075 to win. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

Polesitter and former four-time 360 Open winner Blane Heimbach took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the main event. Heimbach was trailed by second-place starter Davie Franek for the first lap until sixth-place starter Pat Cannon stormed into second. A lap later, third-place starter Michael Walter got by Franek for the third spot.

On the fourth lap, a water line reportedly broke loose from the engine block on Heimbach’s car and ended his hopes of a fifth victory in the race. Cannon inherited the lead and had Walter and Franek lined up behind him. On the sixth lap, fifth-place starter Mark Smith took the third position and set his sites on the leaders.

At the halfway mark, Cannon led Walter, Smith, seventh-place starter Jason Shultz, and 11th-place starter Derek Locke. On the 18th lap Smith got by Walter for second and started to reel in Cannon.

The final caution flag unfurled on lap 26 when Brett Wright stopped in turn four with a flat tire. On the ensuing restart a war on wheels unfolded between Cannon and Smith for the lead and win.

With two laps to go Smith made the winning pass using the inside line on the frontstretch. He went on to take the checkered flag by the slimmest of margins over Cannon, Shultz, Locke, and Walter.

Fourth-place starter Garrett Bard shot into the lead at the start of the 305 sprint car main event. Bard was chased by polesitter Nick Sweigart for the entire distance. By lap five, eighth-place starter Kassidy Kreitz moved into the top five.

At the halfway point, Sweigart and sixth-place starter Derek Hauck dueled for the runner-up position. Three laps later, Kreitz powered into the third position.

While Bard was holding the lead, Kreitz closed in on Sweigart in a race for second. At the checkered flag, Bard was victorious by 3.2 seconds over Sweigart, Kreitz, Hauck, and Domenic Melair.

Polesitter Adam Campbell wired the field for his first roadrunner win but not without several challenges from second-place starter Curtis Lawton.

On the sixth circuit, third-place runner Jake Jones got sideways off turn two and collected Tom Underwood. Jones was able to rejoin while Underwood was sidelined for the remainder of the event.

When the race resumed, Campbell kept his No. 2 at the front of the pack with Lawton and fourth-place starter Keith Bissinger in pursuit. Campbell was victorious over Lawton, Bissinger Terry Kramer, and Jones.


360 Sprint Cars – 26 Entries

30-Lap Open: 1) M1 Mark Smith ($5,075)  2) 23 Pat Cannon  3) 35 Jason Shultz  4) 77 Derek Locke  5) 33 Michael Walter  6) 27 Devin Borden  7) 63 Josh Weller  8) 79 Jordan Thomas  9) 47 Adam Carberry  10) 7 Alex Bright  11) 28F Davie Franek  12) 4S John Smith  13) 3 Todd Gracey  14) 66 Ryan Kissinger  15) 75 Nash Ely  16) 11 Ryan Stillwaggon  17) 23T John Stehman  18) 669 Brandon McGough  19) 1Q Thomas Radivoy  20) 14B Brett Wright  21) 12 Blane Heimbach  22) 07 Colby Womer  23) 10K Joe Kata III  24) 5Z Zach Burd

Heat Winners:  Joe Kata, Michael Walter, Jason Shultz

B-Main Winner:  Thomas Radivoy

305 Sprint Cars – 37 Entries

20-Lap A-Main:  1) 95 Garrett Bard  2) 8 Nick Sweigart  3) 69K Kassidy Kreitz  4) 33 Derek Hauck  5) 36 Dominic Melair  6) 20 Doug Dodson  7) 99A Devin Adams  8) 97 Kenny Heffner  9) 67 Ken Duke  10) M1 Justin Mills  11) 2 Erin Statler  12) 11M Mikell McGee  13) 19 Kruz Kepner  14) 71 Josh Spicer  15) 1M Paul Moyer  16) 25 Dustin Young  17) 54 Mike Melair  18) 14 Logan Spahr  19) 7 Drew Young  20) 41 Jared Zionkowski   21) 44 Christian Rumsey  22) 46 Mike Alleman  23) 35 Buddy Schweibinz  24) 24 Will Brunson  25) 0Z Zach Rhodes  26) 03 Branstin Shue

Heat Winners:  Josh Spicer, Garrett Bard, Kenny Heffner, Doug Dodson B-Main Winner:

Logan Spahr Roadrunners – 10 Entries 12-Lap A-Main:  1) 2 Adam Campbell  2) 33 Curtis Lawton  3) 11 Keith Bissinger  4) 992 Terry Kramer  5) 7 Jake Jones  6) 60 Jimmy Kessler  7) 60K Keegan Strawser  8) 12 Tom Underwood  9) 28 Miranda Minium  10) 25 Nate Romig

Heat Winners:  Adam Campbell, Curtis Lawton