Selinsgrove Speedway $4,075-to-Win Late Model Open Aug. 14

SELINSGROVE, PA – Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 23rd annual Late Model Open at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 14, on Fairfield Chevrolet Night. The 30-lap Open will pay $4,075 to win and $350 to start for the super late models.

The Late Model Open was originally scheduled on June 19 with the World of Outlaws Late Model Series but was rained out. The race has been rescheduled on Aug. 14 as a non-sanctioned event. Time trials and heat races will be the qualifying format.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. with grandstand gates at 5 p.m.

Six super late model races this season have produced six different winners. Matt Cosner of Ridgeley, W.V.; Kyle Knapp of Brookville; Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills; Dan Stone of Thompson; Jeff Rine of Danville; and most recently Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove have taken wins in 2021.

13-time champion Rine is currently tied with Dylan Yoder of Middleburg for the Jeff’s Auto Body points lead for the super late models.

In the Apache Tree Service 305 sprint cars, the Aug. 14 race will be the division’s sixth of the year at the track. Garrett Bard of Wells Tannery, the current points leader, is a three-time winner along with one-time winners Justin Mills of Bloomingburg, N.Y., and Nick Sweigart of Myerstown.

In limited late model competition, Devin Hart of Port Royal leads the division in the point standings with three feature wins. Andrew Yoder of Middleburg is the only other winner with two checkered flags.

The A&A Auto Stores roadrunners will compete in their tenth race of the season with three-time winner and two-time defending champion Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek leading the standings. Keith Bissinger of Orangeville is on top of the division’s win list with four victories. Single roadrunner wins have gone to Adam Campbell of Danville and Brad Mitch of McClure.

The 410 sprint cars will make their next appearance at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday, Aug. 28, in the 41st annual Jack Gunn Memorial plus limited late models and roadrunners.

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY: A Motorsports Tradition for Generations

Selinsgrove Speedway’s grand motorsports tradition began July 20, 1946, when Bill Holland of Philadelphia won the first race. Since that historic day, Holland went on to win the 1949 Indy 500, and many of motorsports’ most famous drivers have turned laps at the iconic half-mile dirt track designed by legendary Hollywood stuntman and race car driver Joie Chitwood. The speedway, celebrating its momentous 75th anniversary in 2021, will continue its legacy of rip-roaring open wheel and stock car racing this season and for future generations!

For a complete schedule, the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow the track on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can be reached at 570.374.2266.

Super Late Models
305 Sprint Cars
Limited Late Models
Pits 4PM
Grandstand 5PM
Adults $20
Students (12-17) $10
Kids 11 & Under FREE GA
Pits $30
Purse for August 14 Late Model Open: 1) $4,075 2) $1,800 3) $1,400 4) $1,200 5) $1,000 6) $800 7) $600 8) $550 9) $525 10) $500 11) $450 12) $425 13) $400 14) $375 15) $365 16) $360 17) $355 18-24) $350