Maresca Wins The Modified Tour Lou Blaney Memorial at Sharon

HARTFORD, OH –  It was a packed house and packed pits for the Lou Blaney Memorial. The BRP Modified Tour hosted 32 cars to battle for the coveted trophy in the 35-lap feature. Going into the night Rex King Jr. would hold the points lead, looking to pick up his first Tour win since opening night 2017. When the checkered flag flew, Michael Maresca would win his first modified win, in one of the most prestigious races for the modifieds in the region.

It was the largest car count of the season as big block modified drivers from around the area gathered to vie for the win in the 10th Annual Lou Blaney Memorial. After the 12-car invert, Michael Maresca and Kevin Hoffman would find their spots on the front row.

Maresca, who also drive late models, is in his first full year as a modified driver. He would jump out to the lead right from the start, with Hoffman and Rex King Sr. falling in behind him. After five (5) laps, the field would start to spread out with most cars dropping to the bottom of the track, the preferred line during the night. Maresca would have a healthy lead after just five laps.

The top three of Maresca, Hoffman and King Sr. would start to get into heavy lap traffic by lap 14. As drivers were running side-by-side in front of the leader, Hoffman and King Sr. would start to close the gap Maresca had opened up. At one point, there was only 2 cars lengths separating first and second, and second and third. By lap 24, fourth place Jim Weller Jr. would join the battle as the top three are still working through heavy lapped traffic. On lap 28, Weller and King Sr. rub a little as they battle for third. Weller would get the position.

The race would go green for the entire 35 laps. In the end, it was Maresca celebrating in Victory Lane, picking up his first ever modified win. Hoffman, Weller, King Sr. and Rex King Jr. would round out the top five.

Unofficial Results
Heat 1 results: 1. Rick Richner 2. Tom Holden 3. Jim Weller Jr. 4. Jeremiah Shingledecker 5. Sidney Unverzagt 6. Kimmy Holden 7. Steve Barr 8. Shawn Fleeger

Heat 2 results: 1. Rick Regalski 2. Jim Rasey 3. Rex King Sr. 4. Chris Haines 5. Will Thomas 6. Brian Swartzlander 7. Kyle Fink 8. Erik Martin

Heat 3 results: 1. Garrett Krummert 2. Rex King Jr. 3. Kevin Hoffman 4. Lonny Riggs 5. Tyler Willard 6. JR McGinley 7. Tom Glenn 8. Richard Whitney

Heat 4 results: 1. Dave Murdick 2. Travis Shingledecker 3. Michael Maresca 4. Bob Warren
5. Colton Walters 6. Skip Moore 7. Chris Rudolph 8. Mark Frankhouser

B-Main results: 1. Jimmy Holden 2. Kyle Fink 3. JR McGinley 4. Brian Swartzlander 5. Skip Moore 6. Erik Martin 7. Shawn Fleeger 8. Chris Rudolph 9. Mark Frankhouser 10. Tom Glen (DNF) 11. Richard Whitney (DNF)

Unofficial Feature Results: 1. Michael Maresca 2. Kevin Hoffman 2. Jim Weller Jr. 3. Rex King Sr. 4. Rex King Jr. 5. Jim Rasey 6. Dave Murdick 7. Garrett Krummert 8. Travis Shingledecker 9. Rick Richner 10. Rick Regalski 11. Jeremiah Shingledecker 12. Will Thomas 13. Tyler Willard 14. Chris Haines 15. JR Mcginley 16. Sidney Unverzagt 17. Lonny Riggs 18. Colton Walters 19 . Kyle Fink 20. Jimmy Holden 21. Bob Warren 22. Skip Moore 23. Mark Frankhouser 24. Tom Holden 25. Brian Swartzlander

The Modified Tour, Inc is a nonprofit organization, started in 1998.and We are proud to be partnered with our Series Sponsors: Bicknell Racing Products, Hoosier Race Tires, Bazell Oil providing the official fuel of Sunoco Race Fuels the Official Race Fuel of the BRP Modified Tour.

We thank our Associate Sponsors: Big Daddy’s Speed Center, Inc., Engles Trucking, Hall’s Safety Equipment, King Brothers Feed & Supply, McCool’s Signs and Graphics, RaceQuip, Slippery Rock Sportswear, Wrisco Industries, Inc., McCandless Ford, Engles Leasing, K. Hoffman Door, The Rockhouse Bar and Grill, Eperthener’s Auto Wrecking, Moore’s Auto Body and X Factor Racing Bodies.

The schedule, rules, and all Tour information can be found on our website We can also be found on Facebook (The Modified Tour Inc.) and on Twitter (@ModifiedTourInc).