Milestone Short Track Super Series Cajun Region Opener March 27 at Chatham Speedway

CHATHAM, LA – Another milestone date for the Short Track Super Series (STSS) is set for Saturday, March 27.

The Short Track Super Series Cajun Region hosts its inaugural event at Jerry Hobson’s Chatham Speedway on the 27th of March, kicking off the series’ first year on the Bayou for Northeast-style Modifieds.

The Day Motor Sports point series begins at Chatham with a 25-lap main event preceded by 8-lap heat races. The event carries a rain date of Saturday, April 3.

Chatham has been a key player in the growth of the division in Louisiana. Last season, Hobson gave the Northeast drivers an opportunity to race in May during the COVID-19 restrictions in May with a pair of events won by Larry Wight and Matt Sheppard.

In November, the STSS made a trek to “the Boot” for the ‘Mods in the Marsh 75’ at Chatham and Sheppard walked off with a $20,000 payday.

Now, with the STSS taking the reins of the former Southern Super Modified Series, continued growth is expected throughout the season. A successful pre-season Competitor Meeting in Shreveport, La., set the stage for solid car counts at ’21 events.

On March 27, pit gates open at 3 p.m. Hot laps begin at 6 p.m., with racing at 7 p.m.

Pit admission is $35. Transponders are required for STSS Modifieds and rentals are available for $10.

Grandstand admission is $15. Kids 10 and under are FREE.

A reminder to race teams: if you have not filed a membership for the 2021, season it can be turned in at Chatham. The link follows:

All current STSS Cajun Region information has been posted on the new series website at

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Cajun Region, visit, call Tim Bates at 318.773.7704 or e-mail Like “Short Track Super Series Cajun Region” on Facebook or follow @shorttrackss_cajun_region on Instagram.

STSS Cajun Region Registrations Filed (*as of March 16)

G1 – Gerald Cook/Robeline, La.
4 – Thomas Holt/Atlanta, Texas
7 – Cody Robbins/Mansfield, La.
9R – Tommy Rascoe/Converse, La.
18 – Caleb Dillard/Many, La.
21 – Jimmy McCommas/Mesquite, Texas
22 – Keith Meek/Pitkin, La.
28 – David Forbis/Bossier City, La.
29 – Corey Oltz/Lake Charles, La.
33 – Richard Holt/McLeod, Texas
35 – Keith Badiali/Benton, La.
42X – Joe Boswell/Shreveport, La.
44 – Brother Fowlkes/Woodworth, La.
B52 – Brandon Hightower/Natchitoches, La.
55X – Brent Buckley/Shreveport, La.
77X – Glenn Stone Jr./White Oak, Texas
85 – Tim Bates Racing (Driver TBA)
97 – Greg Dillard/Robeline, La.