Hebert Becomes 4th Cajun Region Winner In As Many Events Saturday

VIVIAN, LA – Four-for-four.

Shane Hebert became the fourth Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco ‘Cajun Region’ Modified victor in as many events Saturday night at Ark-La-Tex Speedway.

Hebert, making his first 2021 start with the series in a Hightower family backed No. 9, earned $1,000 for his efforts in the 20-lap feature at Gene Boyter’s quarter-mile, D-shaped facility.

Hebert took part in the ‘Cajun Swing’ STSS events in Louisiana last November subbing for Hightower.

With Hightower now sidelined due to injuries sustained at Georgetown (Del.) Speedway in May, Hebert was called upon to wheel the renumbered ‘9’ car in the Cajun Region.

The Lafayette, La., driver made his first start of the season count, joining Cody Robbins, Tommy Rascoe and Caleb Dillard as winners on the series in ’21.

Hebert led the event from start-to-finish after picking the pole in the pre-feature redraw.

Point leader Caleb Dillard of Many, La., drove from fifth to finish second in the Tim Bates Painting No. 18. Tommy Rascoe of Converse, La., Red Oak, Texas native Jon White in his first start of the season and Greg Dillard of Robeline, La., completed the top five.

Heat winners were Dillard and Hebert for the season-high 16 cars in attendance.

The next event for the STSS Cajun Region is Saturday, July 17 at Jerry Hobson’s Chatham Speedway in Chatham, La., Round No. 5 of the Day Motor Sports point series.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Cajun Region, visit www.shorttracksuperseriescajun.com, call Tim Bates at 318.773.7704 or e-mail TCBMotorsports@aol.com. Like “Short Track Super Series Cajun Region” on Facebook or follow @shorttrackss_cajun_region on Instagram.


Short Track Super Series Cajun Region Modified Event No. 4 Feature Finish (20 laps): SHANE HEBERT, Caleb Dillard, Tommy Rascoe, Jon White, Greg Dillard, Thomas Holt, Richard Holt, Cody Robbins, Joe Boswell, Corey Oltz, Brother Fowlkes, Glenn Stone, Mike Krompegal, Keith Meek.

Did Not Start: Brent Buckley, Jimmy McCommas

APE Racing Engines Bonus ($75): Caleb Dillard
Day Motorsports American Racer Bonus (FREE Tire Certificate): Tommy Rascoe (third)
Shed Road Towing and Recovery Hard Charger ($50): Thomas Holt (14th to sixth)