Caleb Dillard Becomes First STSS Cajun Region Repeat Winner by Inches Saturday at Chatham

CHATHAM, LA – The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco ‘Cajun Region’ has its first repeat winner: by the narrowest of margins.

In a photo finish to Saturday night’s 20-lap Day Motor Sports point series event at Chatham Speedway, Caleb Dillard edged Shane Hebert to become the first driver to win more than one event in the first-year STSS Cajun Region.

The Many, La., driver picked up the $1,075 payday by inches in a photo finish that was decided by the speedway’s transponder system.

Dillard launched off the outside pole to take the lead at the outset. Shane Hebert, who took the green in third position, worked to the outside to take the runner-up spot on the third tour of the quarter-mile oval.

Hebert spent the remainder of the main event chasing Dillard as the pair diced through lapped traffic.

After an extended nose-to-tail battle on a slick racing surface, Hebert made his move coming to the checkered flag.

Working the top groove, Hebert built momentum on Dillard, who was momentarily slowed behind another car. Hebert drew even with Dillard as the pair raced under the checkered flag.

Officials went to the transponder system to determine the winner and sent Dillard’s TCB Motorsports No. 18 to Victory Lane.

Dillard, the series point leader, previously won at Chatham on May 29.

Hebert, of Lafayette, La., placed second in the Brandon Hightower-fielded No. 9, followed by David Forbis of Bossier City, La., Richard Holt of McLeod, Texas and Tommy Rascoe of Converse, La.

Heat winners were Caleb Dillard and Hebert.

The series returns to action next Saturday, July 31 at Derek Perkins’ Thunder Valley Speedway in Glenmora, La., for Race No. 6 of the Day Motor Sports point series.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Cajun Region, visit, call Tim Bates at 318.773.7704 or e-mail  Like “Short Track Super Series Cajun Region” on Facebook or follow @shorttrackss_cajun_region on Instagram.


Short Track Super Series Cajun Region Modified Event No. 5 Feature Finish (20 laps): CALEB DILLARD, Shane Hebert, David Forbis, Richard Holt, Tommy Rascoe, Jimmy McCommas, Keith Badiali, Brent Buckley, Keith Meek, Gerald Cook, Mike Krompagel, Corey Oltz, Greg Dillard.

APE Racing Engines Bonus ($75): Caleb Dillard
Day Motorsports American Racer Bonus (FREE Tire Certificate): 
Brent Buckley
Shed Road Auto Parts Hard Charger ($50): Brent Buckley (10th to eighth)