Mid-Atlantic Championship Weekend Oct. 29-30 at Georgetown Speedway

GEORGETOWN, DE – This one decides it all!

For the fourth time, Georgetown Speedway will crown Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco champions on Mid-Atlantic Championship Weekend Friday, Oct. 29 and Saturday, Oct. 30.

The Velocita-USA South Region presented by Design for Vision and Sunglass Central concludes on (Saturday) October 30. The STSS Modifieds battle for 40 laps around the Sussex County half-mile in the final points-paying race of the 2021 STSS season.

STSS Modifieds will compete for a potential $7,000 top prize, based on their pre-race Stockley Materials ‘Gambler’s Fee.’ Should the winning driver post the $100 ‘Gambler’s Fee,’ they will receive the full $7,000 payday. If the winning driver elects to post a $50 ‘Gambler’s Fee,’ their winning payoff will be $6,000 and if the winning driver posts no ‘Gambler’s Fee,’ they will take home $5,000.

The ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ will take place for the fifth time since 2016 at the progressively banked half-mile. The event has been on the schedule every year since its inception in ‘16 with the 2018 edition being cancelled due to weather.

Along with the Modifieds, the Super Late Models have been a part of the ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ weekend since 2016, making it a double-headliner weekend.

The 2016 affair was not a Short Track Super Series-sanctioned race, as the season concluded at the ‘Blast at the Beach’ in 2016.

Hellertown, Pa.’s Rick Laubach was the inaugural ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ Modified winner over Danny Johnson and Jimmy Horton.

Thompson, Pa.’s Dan Stone claimed the first Super Late Model ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ race. ‘Big Brother’ topped Austin Hubbard and Dale Hollidge for the victory.

Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown won the first STSS-sanctioned ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ race back in 2017 over Ryan Watt and Jamie Mills. The win is Godown’s most recent STSS triumph, nearly four years ago.

‘The Rocket,’ Ricky Elliott won the Super Late Models in 2017 over Hubbard, who was the runner-up for the second consecutive year.

Despite several attempts, including trying to run two programs on the same day, Mother Nature nixed the 2018 event.

In 2019, Milford, Del.’s Jordan Watson won a dramatic feature that saw leader Stewart Friesen run out of fuel in the final laps. Watson is a two-time STSS winner, with both coming on his home turf at Georgetown.

Georgetown, Del.’s Ross Robinson made it a clean sweep for the southern Delaware gang in 2019, picking up the Super Late Model win.

The most recent ‘Mid-Atlantic Championship’ race went to Savannah, N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard. The win was Sheppard’s first career triumph at the famed half-mile. ‘Super Matt’ has since added another win in this year’s ‘Melvin L. Joseph Memorial’ back in March.

York, Pa.’s Rick Eckert invaded the Sussex County half-mile in 2020 and picked up the Super Late Model triumph.

The STSS is back at Georgetown Speedway for the third time in 2021 with championships on the line.

King Ferry, N.Y.’s Mike Mahaney leads the STSS South Region brigade into the final race by 44-points over Matt Sheppard. Mahaney is in pursuit of his first career STSS title.

Newtown, Pa.’s Joe Toth leads the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman on the Belmont’s Garage South Region into the championship race by 54-markers over Horseheads, N.Y.’s Ajay Potrzebowski.

The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman will be on hand on Saturday for a full championship program and a 25-lap, $1,500 to win feature event.

It all begins on Friday (Oct. 29), as the ‘Spectacular’ 30 headlines night No. 1 of the weekend, in a 30-lap, up to $5,000 to win affair for the PA/NJ Spec Small-Blocks. The RUSH Late Models will also run a full program culminating in a 20-lap, $1,000 to win feature event.

The STSS Modifieds and Super Late Models will run heat races on Friday night as well and the Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Delmarva Chargers, and Delaware Super Trucks will run 12-lap features only races.

On Saturday (Oct. 30), the weekend and the season concludes as the STSS Modifieds and STSS Crate 602 Sportsman round out their South Region season at the Sussex County half-mile.

The Super Late Models will also be on hand to co-headline the season finale at the Georgetown Speedway.

The Little Lincolns, Delmarva Chargers, and Delaware Super Trucks join the program in 12-lap features only events.

The entire weekend will be broadcast live on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv) as part of the annual subscription.

The weekend breakdown and rules have been posted on the Georgetown Speedway and Short Track Super Series websites.

Weekend Breakdown: http://www.thegeorgetownspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/MidAtlanticWeekendBreakdown2021.pdf

Weekend Rules: http://www.thegeorgetownspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/2021MidAtlanticChampionshipRules.pdf

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at www.thegeorgetownspeedway.com. Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail georgetownspeedway@gmail.com or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloRacing, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Penske Racing Shocks, Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz, Algonkin Motel, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Belmont’s Garage, Superior Remodeling, Spyder High Performance Filters, Fastline Performance, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, WELD Racing & Wilwood.


October 31, 2020 – MATT SHEPPARD – Billy Pauch Jr. – Anthony Perrego – Stewart Friesen – Tyler Dippel

November 2, 2019 – JORDAN WATSON – Mike Gular – Rick Laubach – Brandon Grosso – Jeff Strunk

October 28, 2017 – RYAN GODOWN – Ryan Watt – Jamie Mills – Duane Howard – Anthony Perrego

November 5, 2016 (unsanctioned) – RICK LAUBACH – Danny Johnson – Jimmy Horton – Neal Williams – Richie Pratt Jr.


October 31, 2020 – RICK ECKERT – Max Blair – Kyle Hardy – Michael Maresca – Ross Robinson

November 2, 2019 – ROSS ROBINSON – Amanda Whaley – Trevor Feathers – Danny Snyder – Dale Hollidge

October 28, 2017 – RICKY ELLIOTT – Austin Hubbard ­– Kyle Hardy – Jamie Lathroum ­– Mark Pettyjohn

November 5, 2016 – DAN STONE – Austin Hubbard – Dale Hollidge – D.J. Troutman – Shaun Jones