Cory Hedgecock Handles Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Field For $10,053 Win At 411

SEYMOUR, TN – Seventh-starting Cory Hedgecock became the eighth different winner in eight Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series races this year with a strong performance tonight, July 30 at 411 Motor Speedway! Cory, who stopped the clock second fastest in Group A during FK Rod Ends qualifying, slipped to second in his heat race to finish behind only Pierce McCarter. The Loudon, Tennessee native then turned up the wick on the competition in the 53-lap headliner at the Seymour, Tennessee facility, as he stormed towards the front and eventually overtook polesitter Ross Bailes to grab the point on the fourteenth circuit.

With only one caution slowing the action on the initial start of the contest, Cory was able to drive away from the field to capture the $10,053 paycheck by 4.127 seconds ahead of ninth-starting Randy Weaver, of Crossville, Tennessee. Pierce McCarter overcame a poor start to the race to finish right where he started in the third spot. Series point leader Donald McIntosh battled for the lead early in the distance before falling to fourth, while leading Dirt Draft Rookie of the Year contender Cody Overton rounded out the top five in his Rum Runner Racing entry.

“I know I kind of got behind there in the heat and everything, but I told Dad that we’re going to win this thing somehow,” commented Hedgecock after capturing the five-figure payday at 411 Motor Speedway. “Man, I’m just glad we finally got us another Super Late Model win. It has been a long time. We’ve worked hard on this new car – a Black Diamond – and I have to thank everyone at Stuckey Enterprises that helped out on it. We also have a brand new Eagle powerplant and it drove real smooth!”

Cory’s third career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series triumph moved him up to a tie for eleventh all-time on the miniseries win list. Hedgecock’s Black Diamond Chassis is powered by an Eagle Race Engine with sponsorship from E-Z-GO, Green’s Recycling, Brucebilt Performance Parts, I-75 Raceway, Budget Transmission, Cobb’s Auto Parts, Ohlins, and Pro Fabrication.

Round eleven of the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series drew a 34 car field to 411 Motor Speedway, which hosted the popular summer tour for the eighth time. Warrior House Car driver Ryan King earned Fast Time honors on the evening with his quick lap of 14.025 seconds around his hometown track. Ross Bailes, Pierce McCarter, Donald McIntosh, and Cody Overton recorded heat race victories, while Heath Hindman and David Payne emerged victorious in their respective B-Mains. Kenny Collins and Jeff Neubert received series provisionals to gain access into the 53-lapper, while Benjamin Cranford and Ahnna Parkhurst utilized emergency provisionals to start shotgun on the feature field.

The final point event now awaits the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series competitors on Saturday night, July 31 at the bad-fast Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, Tennessee. Not only will another $10,053 winner’s check be up for grabs, but the Champion of the miniseries will also receive another $10,053 prize. Donald McIntosh, of Dawsonville, Georgia, currently finds himself atop of the point standings and will try to collect the Championship spoils tomorrow evening. Also up for grabs is Dirt Draft Rookie of the Year honors and the extra $1,000, which Evans, Georgia driver Cody Overton is primed to receive in post-race ceremonies.

Tazewell has been a fixture at the back end of the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series schedule since 2005 and previous winners at the high-banked oval on Championship Night include: Billy Ogle, Jr. (’05), Jimmy Owens (’06), Chris Madden (’07 & ’08), Jimmy Owens (’09), Jonathan Davenport (’10), Vic Hill (’11), Chris Madden (’12), Jonathan Davenport (’13), Eric Jacobsen (’14), Vic Hill (’15), Scott Bloomquist (’16), Brandon Overton (’17 & ’18), Dale McDowell (’19), and Dakotah Knuckles (’20). View additional information on the ‘Ray Varner Ford 53’ by clicking on

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels
Point Event #11 of 12
Race Summary
Friday, July 30, 2021
411 Motor Speedway – Seymour, Tennessee

Schaeffer’s Oil Feature Finish (53 Laps):
1. (7) Cory Hedgecock $10,053
2. (9) Randy Weaver $5,000
3. (3) Pierce McCarter $2,500
4. (2) Donald McIntosh $1,800
5. (4) Cody Overton $1,250
6. (11) Dale McDowell $900
7. (1) Ross Bailes $800
8. (13) Michael Chilton $700
9. (6) Jensen Ford $675
10. (14) Dalton Cook $650
11. (10) Sam Seawright $625
12. (18) David Payne $600
13. (19) Dalton Polston $575
14. (21) Kenny Collins $550
15. (20) Stacy Boles $525
16. (16) Garrett Smith $500
17. (23) Benjamin Cranford $75
18. (5) Ryan King $500
19. (24) Ahnna Parkhurst $75
20. (22) Jeff Neubert $500
21. (17) Heath Hindman $500
22. (12) David Crabtree $500
23. (8) Mack McCarter $500
24. (15) Vic Hill $500

Entries: 34
Lap Leaders: Ross Bailes (Laps 1-13), Cory Hedgecock (Laps 14-53)
Cautions: 1 (Initial start of the race for Ryan King’s spin)

FK Rod Ends Time Trials:
Fast Time Overall: Ryan King 14.025 seconds
Group A: Ryan King 14.025 seconds
Group B: Jensen Ford 14.052 seconds

Sunoco Race Fuels Heat Race #1 Finish (Top Four Transfer): 1. Ross Bailes, 2. Ryan King, 3. Randy Weaver, 4. Michael Chilton, 5. Clay Coghlan, 6. Benjamin Cranford, 7. Jeff Neubert, 8. Kyle Strickler, DNS. Robby Moses

American Racer South Heat Race #2 Finish (Top Four Transfer): 1. Pierce McCarter, 2. Cory Hedgecock, 3. Dale McDowell, 4. Vic Hill, 5. Heath Hindman, 6. Dalton Polston, 7. Kenny Collins, 8. Ryan Winchester

E-Z GO Heat Race #3 Finish (Top Four Transfer): 1. Donald McIntosh, 2. Jensen Ford, 3. Sam Seawright, 4. Dalton Cook, 5. David Payne, 6. Jed Emert, 7. Ahnna Parkhurst, 8. Craig Greer, 9. Dakota Smith

Delph Communications Heat Race #4 Finish (Top Four Transfer): 1. Cody Overton, 2. Mack McCarter, 3. David Crabtree, 4. Garrett Smith, 5. Stacy Boles, 6. Dusty Carver, 7. Mitchell Burke, DNS. Steve Smith

Collins Signs B-Main #1 Finish (Top Two Transfer): 1. Heath Hindman, 2. Dalton Polston, 3. Clay Coghlan, 4. Benjamin Cranford, 5. Kenny Collins, 6. Jeff Neubert, 7. Ryan Winchester, DNS. Kyle Strickler, DNS. Robby Moses

Arizona Sport Shirts B-Main #2 Finish (Top Two Transfer): 1. David Payne, 2. Stacy Boles, 3. Ahnna Parkhurst, 4. Dusty Carver, 5. Craig Greer, 6. Mitchell Burke, 7. Jed Emert, DNS. Dakota Smith, DNS. Steve Smith

Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Provisionals: Kenny Collins, Jeff Neubert
Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Emergency Provisionals: Benjamin Cranford, Ahnna Parkhurst