Chad Chevalier Scores Humberstone’s BEI Sportsman Series Victory on Opening Night

PORT COLBORNE, ONT – Chad Chevalier from Port Colborne, Ontario scored the inaugural event for the BEI Lightning Series at the Humberstone Speedway on Davidson Line Marking and Parking Lot Maintenance night. Chad Homan from Macedon, NY won the feature event for the Maple Leaf Foods RUSH Late Models. Dave Bailey from Hagersville, Ontario won the main event for the JC Auto Street Stocks.  Port Colborne, Ontario’s Leroy Buscumb scored the win in the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks. Dylan Llord from St. Catharines, Ontario won the main event for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks.

Chris Burek and Darrell Farraway led the field of BEI Lightning Series Sportsman to the green flag for their 40 lap feature event with Burek showing the way. Adam Leslie and Justin Sharp got together in turn four to bring out the race first caution. Leslie went to the pits with Sharp needed the assistance of the Tow Truck. Farraway would take the lead but Burek would regain the lead just one lap later. James Michael Friesen passed Farraway for second and then took the lead on lap four with Brad Rouse following into second but Rouse spun in turn three with help from Farraway to bring out the caution. Once the race got some green flag laps, Friesen took off up front but Brad Rouse was a man on a mission as he drove back up through the field and entered the top ten on lap 10. Friesen led at halfway and hit lap traffic on lap 23 as Burek, Mcpherson, Chevalier and Rouse worked in the top five. Rouse slowed on the front straightaway, just as Friesen spun after contact with the slower lap cars of Austin Susice, Garrison Krentz and Robbie Johnston on lap 26 to bring out the caution. Cody McPherson took the lead away on lap 27. Chevalier battled with McPherson for the lead in the final laps. Chevalier went to the outside and completed the pass with three laps remaining and he would hold off Chevalier to score the win.

Sam Pennacchio led the opening circuits of the feature event for the Maple Leaf Foods RUSH Late Models over Rob Pietz and Chad Homan. Pennacchio and Homan pulled away from the field. The lead duo battled for the lead for several circuits with Pietz, Jeff Dayman and Bill Holmes raced inside the top five. Homan would take the lead away from Pennacchio with just three laps remaining and would go on to pick up the win.

Kyle Pelrine and Ryan Dinning brought the JC Auto Street Stocks to the green flag for their 20 lap feature with Pelrine showing the way. Pelrine and Bill Bleich Jr battled for the lead with Dave Bailey, Jim Lampman and Jason Fontaine all battled for the lead position. Bailey would take the lead on lap nine after moving to the outside to pass Pelrine. Bleich worked around Pelrine for second with seven laps remaining. Bailey would pull away from the rest of the field to score the win.

Tom Neale took off into the lead for the start of the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature but it was Leroy Buscumb leading at the end of the opening circuit. Cole Hardy battled with Jay Moulton for the second spot for several laps prior to the halfway mark, with Moulton taking the spot on lap seven. Mike Sarantakos and Olivier Larocque spun in turn one to bring out the caution on lap nine. On the restart, it was Buscumb showing the way but the driver on the move was Kyle Haynes who battled with Moulton and Hardy for second. Buscumb would go on to score the win over Haynes and Moulton.

Mitch Dumont and Dylan Llord brought the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks to the green flag for their first feature of the season and it was Llord jumping into the lead over Danny Wurster and Mitch Dumont. Llord was on cruise control all night as the defending track champion went on to score the win.

Cooper Motorsports Minivan of Mayhem had four entrants for the first race of the season. The Minivans will be back three more times throughout the season. Max Chichuck took home the win over Jason Coutu.

Humberstone will be back in action on Sunday June 4th as we will have special guest Ken Schrader in the house as he will be competing with the UMP Modifieds. Zanchin Truck and Trailer will present the racing program that will also feature the first scheduled appearance by the Southern Ontario Sprints. Sportsman, Street Stocks, Pro 4 Trucks and Mini Stocks will also be on the program. Also on the card will be the Construction Crush Off from the Dawn of Destruction. Pit gates will open at 4:30pm. Grandstands at 5:00pm with race time scheduled for 6:30pm.


BEI Lightning Series Sportsman: CHAD CHEVALIER, Cody McPherson, Chris Burek, Jordan Cosco, Luke Carleton, Adam Leslie, Zack Sam, Jay Mallory, Greg Martin, Darrell Farraway, Dave Flannigan Jr, James Michael Friesen, Dylan Davidson, Tom Richau Jr, Dave DiPietro II, Robbie Johnston, Brad Rouse, Garrison Krentz, Austin Susice, Ray Bliss Jr, Mark Chiddy, Brian Bellinger, Chris Storm, Justin Sharp  Did Not Qualify: Tyler Puchalski, Jeff Armstrong, Derrick Borkenhagen, AJ Custodi, Rob Goulding, Emily Puchalski, Justin McKay
Qualifying Winners: James Michael Friesen, Jay Mallory, Brad Rouse, Justin Sharp

Last Chance Qualifier: Ray Bliss Jr


Maple Leaf Foods RUSH Late Models: CHAD HOMAN, Sam Pennacchio, Rob Pietz, Jeff Dayman, Mike Greene, Tim Gillespie, Bill Holmes, Ken Winfield, David Pangrazio, Jay Liverance, Dave Stolzenberg Jr
Qualifying Winners: Chad Homan, Rob Pietz

JC Auto Street Stocks: DAVE BAILEY, Kyle Pelrine, Bill Bleich Jr, Jason Fontaine, Jim Lampman, Ryan Dinning, Bryce Richardson, Teeple, Rich Champigny, Ronnie Reece (DNS)
Qualifying Winners: Billy Bleich Jr, Dave Bailey

Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks: LEROY BUSCUMB, Kyle Haynes, Jay Moulton, Cole Hardy, Jason Coutu, Jeremy May, Fabio Oliveri, Brandon Iudiciani, Clinton Nicholls, Mike Sarantakos, Evan Curtis, Sam Iftody, Kourtney Kocarik, Rob Sauder, David Hoyle, Car #17x, Olivier Larocque
Qualifying Winners: Fabio Oliveri, Kyle Haynes

Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks: DYLAN LLORD, Danny Wurster, Kyle Tomaski, Taylor Vanderzanden, Andy Imbeault, Craig Vlasic, Nathan Monahan, Kevin Conley, Mitch Dumont, Stephanie Ayers
Qualifying Winner: Dylan Llord