Zack Carley and Andrew Smith Claim Third Wins of 2017 at Genesee

Genesee Speedway at Genesee Speedway Batavia, New York on July 29, 2017 Photo Rick Franclemont/Francletography


BATAVIA, NY – Zack Carley had his No. 31 set up the way he wanted and proved on Saturday Night that if he didn’t mess up on the top of the track, nobody was going to get by him.

Carley, of Freedom, claimed his third Crate Late Model win of the year at the Genesee Speedway on Saturday Night, a beautiful evening for racing which featured all six regular divisions competing on the 1/3-mile oval on AJ’s Trailer Sales and Marx Vinyl Signs Night.

Carley was strong in each element of the 20-lap feature run last in the program, staying up on the small berm with a ton of power that kept his nearest competitors at bay. Bill Holmes would move up to second but would have nothing for Carley and would settle for his second runner-up showing of the year. Brad Mesler was also stout, coming home in third while Jimmy Johnson and Jon Rivers scored top five finishes.

The Sportsman ran a caution-free race, which was just what outside polesitter Andrew Smith wanted to see as he jumped out in front on the initial green and never looked back, winning by over a half-track. Smith, of Lockport, lapped up to seventh place while building a massive lead to claim his third win of the season at Genesee, his second straight. The win moves Smith closer to the point lead, but only margainly, as point leader Kyle Inman made a last-lap pass on polesitter Ray Smith to steal away second place. Rounding out the top five were Tony Muscato and Sarah Johnson, each in a 94 car.

Dave DuBois captured his third 360 Late Model win of the season, as he was proficient on restarts to build a lead and then keep it during the green flag stretches to help pad his point lead. DuBois, of Corfu, started on the pole and after an initial challenge from Zack Carley had smooth sailing through the rest of the feature. Carley would end up second after Tommy Kemp placed third. Brian Kotarski and Tom Baker rounded out the top five.

Last race, Byron Dewitt suffered another mechanical failure and was unable to start the feature, surrendering his point lead in the process; on Saturday Night, with the motor tuned up and their back against the wall, Dewitt made a statement with a dominant performance. Dewitt, of LeRoy, led all 20 laps to win his fourth feature win of the year. Dewitt was grateful to be back in Victory Lane so soon, but know he is mired in a tight point battle, as Mike Jackson worked hard to finish in the second spot, holding off Butch Zimmerman for much of the race. Jesse Qutermous and Tracy Dunn completed the top five.

Don Newton Jr. won his third Mini Stock feature of July on Saturday, taking the lead on lap three from his teammate James Gayton and then holding off defending champion Brad Shepard down the stretch. The event was caution-laden, but Newton was steady on the top of the track, daring anyone to pass him on the bottom. Shepard made two bids underneath the No. 54 but did not have the bite off the fourth corner to take over the top spot and would settle for second. James Gayton rallied from two mid-race spins to finish third while Ray Hyer and Mike Taddonio rounded out the top five.

Brooke McClain made her first appearance at Genesee Speedway pay off as she led all 12 laps of the Bandit feature to claim the checkered flag. McClain, from Duke Center, NY, had point leader Jessica Traxler applying pressure for much of the race, but down the backstretch on the final circuit, Adam Jackson made a hard run and drove to the infield to go for the win, coming up just a few feet short. Traxler slipped back to third while Bailey Logsdon and Olivia Conbier rounded out the top five.


Genesee Speedway Results: 7/29/2017-
AJ’s Trailer Sales and Marx Vinyl Signs Night

MHL Performance Crate Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- ZACK CARLEY, Bill Holmes, Brad Mesler, Jimmy Johnson, Jon Rivers, JJ Mazur, Doug Ricotta, David Pangrazio, Kyle Murray, Billy DuBois, Carl Shetler, Carl Stephens.

Lap Leaders- Carley 1-20.
Heat Winners- Johnson, Mazur.

Cornerstone Eye Associates Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- ANDREW SMITH, Kyle Inman, Ray Smith, Tony Muscato, Sarah Johnson, Ray Bliss, Ray Bliss Jr., Greg Mrzywka, Matt Steffenhagen, Shane O’Grady, Chuck Kuhn, Tim Downs, Zach George, Jeff Sonnenburg, TJ Newton (DNS).

Lap Leader- A. Smith 1-20.
Heat Winners- A. Smith, Muscato.

Ken’s Charcoal Pits BBQ 360 Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- DAVE DUBOIS, Zack Carley, Tommy Kemp, Brian Kotarski, Tom Baker, Austin Kotarski, Tommy Butler, Shawn Hazlitt, John Zimmerman, Bob Bartlett, Rich Hale, Brian Farnsworth (DNS), Aaron Johnson (DNS).

Lap Leaders- DuBois 1-20.
Heat Winners- Zimmerman, DuBois.

Yasses Trucking & Construction Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- BYRON DEWITT, Mike Jackson, Butch Zimmerman, Jesse Qutermous, Tracy Dunn, Bill Kowsky, Tommy Cooper, Morgan Dewitt, Ryan Allen, Bill Tice, Dennis Cummings, Jason Babbitt, Glenn VanCise, David Liles, Bill Taylor, Pat Powers, Kenny Begnouche, Dalton Martin, Tiffany Rumsey.

Lap Leaders- B. Dewitt 1-20.
Heat Winners- Jackson, B. Dewitt, Zimmerman.

Pellegrino Auto Sales Mini Stock Feature (15 Laps)- DON NEWTON JR., Brad Shepard, James Gayton, Ray Hyer, Mike Taddonio, Doug Brown, Dante Mancuso, Eddie Kowalczyk, Eric Weis, Cole Hicks, Gary Hopkins, Steven Krawczyk, Jenn Galbo, Tony Kulesza, Ruben Coffey, Caleb Wolcott.

Lap Leaders- Gayton 1-2, Newton 3-15.
Heat Winners- Gayton, Mancuso.

DML Sealing Bandits (12 Laps)- BROOKE MCCLAIN, Adam Jackson, Jessica Traxler, Bailey Logsdon, Marcus Jackson, Olivia Coniber, Trinity Reynolds, Jessica Schleede, Allison Dewitt, Gavin Pearal (DNS).

Lap Leaders- McClain 1-12.
Heat Winner- Traxler.