Jimmy Johnson Races to Front While Kyle Inman Dominates for Win at Genesee

Genesee Speedway at Genesee Speedway Batavia, New York on August 12, 2017 Photo Rick Franclemont/Francletography


BATAVIA, NY – It was a rather typical night at Genesee Speedway: it rained in the afternoon, even for a little while during the program, the car count was impressive, the track was in great shape and some familiar names went back to Victory Lane on the 14th consecutive show of 2017.

Jimmy Johnson notched his third Crate Late Model win of the year, taking the lead from Beamer Guzzardi on a lap 10 restart and then riding the rim to hold him off on Dickinson’s Automotive Night.

Johnson, of Batavia, drove up from third to second by the second lap of the 20-lap feature, but found himself chasing the defending track champion to the first caution a quarter of the way through the event. On the lap 6 restart, Johnson nearly jumped the start but saw Guzzardi hold him off anyways, on the ensuing restart, “Kid Lightning” waited until the leader fired first and then rocketed in to the lead with a slide job in turns one and two. Johnson becomes the second Crate Late Model driver to win three races at Genesee this year, joining Zack Carley. Carley would rally to finish third, just behind Guzzardi, who had his best finish of the year. Point leader JJ Mazur was fourth, with Doug Ricotta rounding out the top five.

A week after having a win taken away on the final lap, Kyle Inman capitalized on his pole starting spot to score his fifth Sportsman feature win of the season. The Darien driver had to only endure one restart coming after the first lap and then used the long green flag run on a fast, tacky track to hit his marks and win by a straightaway. Inman also won his third heat race of the year earlier in the night, and has now won the feature on each of those heat winning nights. Inman’s teammate Matt Steffenhagen would charge forward to finish second, his best finish of the year in the No. 86. Ray Smith would run steady in third while Ray Bliss Jr would hold of his dad, “Zeke”, to also earn a season-best in fourth.

The NY6A Micro Sprint Tour made their second and final appearance of the season with Matt Smith, of Canandaigua, sweeping the season. Smith took the lead coming to complete lap one from Nick Groff but Groff, along with Tyler Walker, challenged the No. 1 for the top spot throughout the 15-lap feature. Groff would have to settle for second, with Walker completing the podium. Heat winner Brian Vetter and Mickey Ciliberto rounded out the top five.

The Street Stocks led off the feature lineup, and thus had a fast and tacky track to attack. Jesse Qutermous, of Castile, took the lead from Bill Taylor on a lap 7 restart and then held off the red-hot point leader Byron Dewitt over the second half of the race for his second win of the year. Qutermous started in fourth but was going for second place on lap six when the first of two cautions occurred; with a double-file restart he used his opportunity to pounce on the lead then get up to the cushion. Dewitt would settle for second to pad his point lead while part-time competitor Pat Powers got up to third. Bill Taylor crossed in fourth with Kenny Begnouche completing the top five.

To conclude Dickinson’s Automotive Night, the Mini Stocks put on another amazing showcase, featuring four official lead changes. Rookie Eddie Kowalczyk showed the way until just after halfway when James Gayton finally moved underneath the No. 56. Gayton moved to his prefer top line thereafter but defending champion Brad Shepard found his way to the lead on lap 12. Shepard’s lead would be short-lived as Gayton was determined to get back out in front and would race right back in to the lead and hold on to win his fourth feature of the year. Gayton had won three of the first five features of the season but was more than relieved to get his first checkered flag in over two months. Shepard would hold on for second with Kowalczyk scoring a career-best third place. Eric Weis and Lee Hicks complete the top five.

Bailey Logsdon scored her third Bandit win of the season, getting by point leader Jessica Traxler on a lap five restart and then driving away for a comfortable win. Logsdon, of LeRoy, started in fourth but quickly got to second and began to apply pressure on the 34J, making her move after the second and final caution flag of the event. Traxler would settle for second, while Marcus Jackson held off his brother, Adam, for fourth. Trinity Reynolds rounded out the top five.

Racing will roll right along next Saturday with Dale Valley Diecast presenting a “Super 6 at 6:00” program, which will include the return of the 360 Late Models. For more information, visit www.Genesee-Speedway.com.

Genesee Speedway Results: 8/12/2017-
Dickinson’s Automotive Night

MHL Performance Crate Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- JIMMY JOHNSON, Beamer Guzzardi, Zack Carley, JJ Mazur, Doug Ricotta, Jon Rivers, Alan Chapman, Bill Holmes, Tim Gillespie, Erin Peters, Val Stephens, TJ Downs, Kyle Murray, Billy DuBois, Carl Shetler, Mark Sundt.

Lap Leaders- Guzzardi 1-9, Johnson 10-20.
Heat Winners- Ricotta, Rivers.

Cornerstone Eye Associates Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)- KYLE INMAN, Matt Steffenhagen, Ray Smith, Ray Bliss Jr, Ray Bliss, Andrew Smith, Dave Conant, Greg Mrzywka, Cameron Tuttle, Zachary George, Austin Susice, Tony Muscato, Zach Zam, Sarah Johnson, Chuck Kuhn, Shane O’Grady, Mike Denning, Tim Downs (DNS), Dan Ferguson (DNS).

Lap Leader- Inman 1-20.
Heat Winners- Inman, Mrzywka, Conant.

NY6A Micro Sprint Feature (15 Laps)- MATT SMITH, Nick Groff, Tyler Walker, Brian Vetter, Mickey Ciliberto, Brandon Oddo, Katy Knoll, Eric Wise, Jordan Noody, Gary Kratzer, Danny Knoll Jr, Shelby Ogozaly, Lisa Kratzer, Johnny Kolosek, Wyatt Walker, Jerry Gurney (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Groff 1, Smith 2-15.
Heat Winners- Smith, Vetter.

Yasses Trucking & Construction Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- JESSE QUTERMOUS, Byron Dewitt, Pat Powers, Bill Taylor, Kenny Begnouche, Bill Kowsky, Butch Zimmerman, Mike Jackson, Ken Camidge, Jason Babbitt, Tommy Cooper, David Liles, Morgan Dewitt, Bill Tice, Tiffany Rumsey, Roy Amadick.

Lap Leaders- Taylor 1-6, Qutermous 7-20.
Heat Winners- B. Dewitt, Jackson.

Pellegrino Auto Sales Mini Stock Feature (15 Laps)- JAMES GAYTON, Brad Shepard, Eddie Kowalczyk, Eric Weis, Lee Hicks, Dante Mancuso, Brandon Shepard, Cole Hicks, Mike Jackson, Cole Susice, Steven Krawczyk, Chad Dickinson, Jason Babbitt, Tony Kulesza, Jenn Galbo, Bobby Dickinson.

Lap Leaders- Kowalczyk 1-8, Gayton 9-11, Shepard 12, Gayton 13-15.
Heat Winners- Brad Shepard, Gayton.

DML Sealing Bandits (12 Laps)- BAILEY LOGSDON, Jessica Traxler, Marcus Jackson, Adam Jackson, Trinity Reynolds, Olivia Coniber, Ally Rider, Allison Dewitt, Jessica Schleede.

Lap Leaders- Traxler 1-4, Logsdon 5-12.
Heat Winner- Logsdon.