Jason Genco and Kyle Inman Night One Winners of Topless Crate Nationals at Genesee

Sportsman Feature Race at Genesee Speedway Batavia, New York on September 16, 2017 Photo Rick Franclemont/Francletography


BATAVIA, NY – Jason Genco combined his great handling car with a supreme starting position but still a win was not handed over to him.

Genco, of Frewsburg, NY, led all 25-laps en route to the $1,500 win on night one of the Topless Crate Nationals. Genco quickly jumped in to the lead but saw Bryce Davis hound him for much of the race. On lap 20, as the two were dicing through lapped traffic, a car came up in to Genco’s No. 29J which set off a chain reaction; Genco would receive cosmetic damage, but Davis would get spun around and be done for the night.

In the final five laps, Jeremy Wonderling, who had started 16th, would get by Zack Carley for second and apply pressure on the leader. As hard as “Mr. Excitement” would try, the No. 29J was too strong and able to capture the win. Wonderling would settle for second for the fourth time this year at Genesee. Carley would hang on for third while defending champion Beamer Guzzardi was fourth. Mikey Wonderling moved by Chad Homan late to complete the top five.

Kyle Inman capitalized on a front row starting spot to get out in front of the Sportsman field and never look back, as the 2017 Track Champion scored his sixth win of the year. Inman, of Darien, said it felt a little different perspective with the roof off, but in a 25-lap feature that only featured on caution flag, he used it to his advantage to slice through the dense lapped traffic to hold off Dave Conant for the $1,500 top prize. The strong field kept things running clean and green, which did not afford Conant a second opportunity to restack and go after the No. 20k for the lead, so he would settle with a runner-up effort. Austin Susice would battle with Ricky Newton for most of the race and hold him off for third while Newton crossed in fourth. John Venuto held off James Henry to round out the top five.

Vic Earle Jr. travelled north to Genesee with just his wife for a weekend getaway and ended up walking away with a win in the $1,000 Street Stock Feature. Earle started in fifth but quickly moved up to second in pursuit of early leader Kyle Couchenour. On the race’s first restart on lap 7, Couchenour powered back to the lead by selecting the top lane, but on a lap eight restart, the leader chose the bottom lane, which Earle knew was his chance to pounce. Earle would put his No. 00 in the lead and never look back, even though he had to withstand a late-race effort from Couchenour to capture the checkered flags. Adam DePuy would move by 2017 Track Champion Byron Dewitt in the closing laps for third while 360 Late Model regular John Zimmerman finished fifth in his father’s No. 0.

Zack Carley finished the 360 Late Model season on fire, as he dominated his second race in a row to claim another big race. Carley, of Freedom, led all 20 laps in impressive fashion to claim the victory. Early in the race, Carley was hotly pursued by 2017 Track Champion until the only caution of the race occurred on lap nine; on the ensuing restart Carley pulled away while DuBois fell back after an issue in turn two. Carley would hold back fellow double-duty drivers Glenn Whritenour and Mikey Wonderling back to the line while DuBois would settle for fourth. Rounding out the top five was Tom Baker.

Dante Mancuso also went back-to-back, as the 2017 Mini Stock Track Champion scored his fifth win of the season in dominating fashion. Eric Weis led the first 11 circuits of the 20-lap feature but just after Mancuso, of Batavia, was able to move on by, Weis broke and was done for the race. James Gayton gave chase to the finish but would have to settle for second while Cole Susice completed the top three. Olivia Coniber and Ashley Blech completed the top five.

Over 110 race cars helped to fill the pits on an amazing September evening. For more information, visit www.Genesee-Speedway.com.

Genesee Speedway Results: 9/16/2017-
Topless Crate Nationals Night 1

$1,500-to-Win Topless Crate Late Model Feature (25 Laps)- JASON GENCO, Jeremy Wonderling, Zack Carley, Beamer Guzzardi, Mikey Wonderling, Chad Homan, Jon Rivers, JJ Mazur, Sam Pennacchio, TJ Downs, David Pangrazio, Carl Shetler, Kurt Stebbins, Alan Chapman, Doug Smith, Jimmy Johnson, Erin Peters, Mike Lozowski, Dylan Goodman, Kyle Murray, Bret Belden, Bryce Davis, John Lacki, Sean Beardsley.

Did Not Qualify: Billy DuBois, Brandon Carvey, Darin Horton, Randy Ralyea.

Lap Leaders- Genco 1-25.
Heat Winners- Lacki, Guzzardi, Carley, M. Wonderling.
Consolation Winner- Ricotta.

$1,500-to-Win Topless Crate Sportsman Feature (25 Laps)- KYLE INMAN, Dave Conant, Austin Susice, Ricky Newton, John Venuto, James Henry, Scott George, Matt Steffenhagen, Fred Carleton, Zack Sam, Adam Leslie, Brett Buono, Tyler Thompson, Brad Rouse, Tony Muscato, Ray Bliss, Austin Fugle, Mark Effner, Loren Lincoln, Ray Smith, John Sekoll, Rob Pratt, Jim Harbison, Zach George.

Did Not Qualify: Ray Bliss Jr, Doug Smith, Gordy Hermanson, Sarah Johnson, Tim Schram, Mike Denning.

Lap Leader- Inman 1-25.
Heat Winners- Harbison, Conant, Inman, Susice.
Consolation Winner- Thompson.

$1,000-to-Win Street Stock Feature (20 Laps)- VIC EARLE JR., Kyle Couchenour, Adam DePuy, Byron Dewitt, John Zimmerman, Quinn Sutherland, Bob Buono, Barry Payne, Jared Hill, Tracy Dunn, Brett Marlatt, Rob Stromecki, Bob Babbitt, Ryan Allen, Roy Amadick, Kurt Stebbins, Doug Jones, Dylan Cecce, Bill Kowsky, Glenn Whritenour, Kenny Begnouche, Morgan Dewitt, Marc Minutolo, Nate Arnold, Jeremy Wonderling (DNS).

Did Not Qualify: James Thompson, Michael Kelly, Jason Quigley, Pat Powers, Screaming Kenny Cook, Kenny Cook, Bryan Faulkner, Shawn Lloyd, Jesse Qutermous,

Lap Leaders- Couchenour 1-7, Earle Jr. 8- 20.
Heat Winners- B. Dewitt, Wonderling, Whritenour, Depuy
Consolation Winner- Begnouche.

$600-to-Win Topless 360 Late Model Feature (20 Laps)- ZACK CARLEY, Glenn Whritenour, Mikey Wonderling, Dave DuBois, Tom Baker, Wally Wade, Shawn Hazlitt, Brian Kotarski.

Lap Leaders- Carley 1-20.
Heat Winner-DuBois.

$300-to-Win Mini Stock Feature (20 Laps)- DANTE MANCUSO, James Gayton, Cole Susice, Olivia Coniber, Ashley Blech, Steven Krawczyk, Tony Kulesza, Jenn Galbo, Jessica Schleede, Dan Brumsted, Ruben Coffey, Brian Gregory, Eric Weis, Matt Mead (DNS).

Lap Leaders- Weis 1-11, Mancuso 12-20.
Heat Winners- Weis, Mancuso.