Champions and Individuals Honored at Race of Champions 2017 Season-Ending Celebration

MOUNT MORRIS, NY – The Race of Champions Series family of participants, officials and fans gathered at the Genesee River Restaurant & Reception Center in Mount Morris (NY) for an evening of awards, accolades and celebration to conclude the 2017 championship season.

Honored as series champions were Mike Leaty of Ontario, NY (Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series), Tim Gullo of Elmira, NY (Race of Champions Super Stock), Tommy Catalano of Ontario, NY (Race of Champions Sportsman Modified and Race of Champions Late Models), and Chad Chevalier of Port Colborne, Ontario, CAN (Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified).

“This is a great accomplishment for our team,” stated Leaty, accepting his awards in regard to his first Race of Champions Modified Series championship. “I have a great family, a great team and this is a great Series. I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished and we are going to enjoy it.”

Many others will receive special recognition, in addition to recognizing the accomplishments of all, for an entire season of passion and dedication.

Scott Wylie of Blasdell, NY, Dylan Davidson of Saint Catharines, Ontario, CAN and Joel Gleason of Webster, NY were all recognized as Race of Champions Rookie-of-the-Year.

Point fund contributions come from Hoosier Racing Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, the US Army, Colton RV, Presque Isle Downs and Casino and TDH Refrigeration. will present the Most Popular Driver Awards which will be revealed that evening along with other special Race of Champions recognition awards, those awards went to Tommy Catalano (Modified, Sportsman Modified and Late Model); Justin Sharp of Saint Catharines, Ontario, CAN (602 Dirt Sportsman Modified) and Joe Gleason (Super Stock).

Special awards were presented to Amy Catalano of Ontario, NY as she received the first-ever FOAR (Friends of Auto-Racing) Score Fan Club Perseverance Award, with a $500 donation to the Elizabeth Wende Cancer Fund in Rochester, NY in Catalano’s name.

Mary Jo “Grandma” Smith of Henrietta, NY and Mother to Todd Smith, Race of Champions Series Technical Inspector was honored posthumously with a service and dedication award to the Series.

Sunoco Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, Ithaca Gun Company, Sports Insurance Specialists, Speedway Illustrated, Product 9, Competition Products, Area Auto Racing News and Rock Auto handed out a variety of awards including product certificates, race tools, discount certificates and gift cards.

Noted New York racing announcer Mike Mallett of Brewerton, NY, performed as the Master of Ceremonies.

The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey. The 68th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2018 and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

For more information, contact Race of Champions Media at

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website:

-30- *eof

List of Award Recipients;

Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series; Race of Champions Asphalt Sportsman Series;

1.) Mike Leaty, Williamson, N.Y. 1.) Tommy Catalano, Ontario, N.Y. (Speed 51 MPD)

2.) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y. 2.) Andy Jankowiak, Tonawanda, N.Y.

3.) Andy Jankowiak, Tonawanda, N.Y. 3.) Scott Wylie, Blasdell, N.Y.

4.) Tommy Catalano, Ontario, N.Y. (Speed 51 MPD) 4.) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y.

5.) George Skora, Eden, N.Y. 5.) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y.

6.) Matt Hirschman, Northampton, Pa. 6.) Shawn Nye, Bowmansville, N.Y.

7.) Tyler Rypkema, Owego, N.Y. 7.) Amy Catalano, Ontario, N.Y. ***

8.) Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y. 8.) Neal Dietz, Holland, N.Y.

9.) Austin Kochenash, Danielsville, Pa. 9.) Connor Sellars, Owego, N.Y.

10.) Daren Scherer, Binghamton, N.Y. 10.) Tyler Rypkema, Owego, N.Y.

11.) Bryan Sherwood, Binghamton, N.Y.

12.) Amy Catalano, Ontario, N.Y.

13.) Daryl Lewis, Ontario, N.Y. ***

14.) Karl Hehr, Cheektowaga, N.Y.

15.) Scott Wylie, Blasdell, N.Y.

Race of Champions Dirt Sportsman 602 Modified Series; Race of Champions Asphalt Late Model Series;

1.) Chad Chevalier, Port Colborne, Ontario 1.) Tommy Catalano, Ontario, N.Y. (Speed 51 MPD)

2.) Brad Rouse, St. Catharines, Ontario 2.) Sammy Fullone, North Collins, N.Y.

3.) Adam Leslie, Port Colborne, Ontario 3.) Terry Weldy, Clarence, N.Y. ***

4.) Luke Carleton, Port Colborne, Ontario 4.) Bobby Weber, Clarence, N.Y.

5.) Cody McPherson, St. Catharines, Ontario 5.) Frank Batista, Jr., Alden, N.Y. ***

6.) Dylan Davidson, St. Catharines, Ontario ***

7.) Jay Mallory, St. Catharines, Ontario Race of Champions “Rookie-of-the-Year” Awards;

8.) Tyler Puchalski, Port Colborne, Ontario

9.) Justin Sharp, St. Catharines, Ontario (Speed 51 MPD) Scott Wylie, Blasdell, N.Y. – Modifieds

10.) Jordan Cosco, St. Catharines, Ontario Dylan Davidson, St. Catharines, Ontario – 602 Sportsman

Joel Gleason, Webster, N.Y. – Super Stocks

Race of Champions Super Stock Series; (Note: First year of Asphalt Sportsman, Late Model

Series, therefore no eligible rookies)

1.) Tim Gullo, Elmira, N.Y. ***

2.) Josh Hunter, Angola, N.Y. *** TDH Refrigeration “Coolest Move” Super Stock (3 race)

3.) Joe Mancuso, Buffalo, N.Y. ***

4.) Joel Gleason, Webster, N.Y. (Speed 51 MPD) 1.) Tim Gullo, Elmira, N.Y.

5.) Rob Misczak, Springville, N.Y. 2.) Rob Misczak, Springville, N.Y.

6.) Bobby Schosek, Strykersville, N.Y. *** 3.) Zach Willis, Williamson, N.Y.

7.) Dana Novoa, Springville, N.Y.

8.) Zach Willis, Williamson, N.Y.

9.) Vern Hedderick, Erie, Pa. ***

10.) Tommy Reese, West Seneca, N.Y.