Ricky Sanville Shines with a Dominating Sportsman Modified Victory at Legion

The O’Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series saw Ricky Sanville take the win in the Peanut’s Auto Sportsman Modifeds, Toby Stark top the Homestead Creations Sportsman Late Models and reigning track Champion Rich Willey best in the Mini Stocks. Also on the card was an Enduro won by Alex Kelly with the Wingless Auto Club also making their First appearance of the season.

The Peanut’s Auto Sportsman Modifieds Feature found Ricky Sanville taking full advantage of his outside pole position start by flying into the lead before the exit of turn two on the initial start. While Ricky Sanville was building a comfortable lead in the caution free non-stop event T.C. Forward settled into second with Jason Sanville and Lenny Pillsbury swapping the third position a few times before Jason Sanville slowly pulled away from Pillsbury. At the Checkers it was Ricky Sanville claiming his first win of the season with T.C. Forward second and Jason Sanville third. Lenny Pillsbury and Todd Buckwold rounded out the top five.

The Homestead Creation Late Model Sportsman Main Event saw lots of action up front. At the drop of the green Matt Pike bolted into the lead with Scott Heath a strong second. That changed for Heath on lap four as he cut a little low out of turn two and collected one of the marker tires in the infield, getting it stuck under him causing the only caution of the race. On the restart Pike once again took command with Jesse Durkee second and last week’s winner Toby Stark third. Stark moved into second at the halfway mark and set his sights on the leader. After a prolonged battle with Matt Pike Toby Stark took the lead with just three laps to go and went on to his second consecutive win. Pike finished second with Travis Smith third, Bob Crawford fourth and Scott Heath fifth.

The Rand’s Hardware Outlaw Mini Stocks saw ageless veteran Jack Cook jump to the lead and hold the top spot through a couple of cautions until Rich Willey took the lead with ten laps complete. Before the next lap was complete Cook was part of a caution on the backstretch along with Mike McClay. When racing resumed Rich Willey once again held the top spot with Jason Porter the man on the move from his nineteenth starting spot. Porter passed Sean Lantas for second with six laps to go and started to apply pressure to Willey but couldn’t quite get it done. At the checkers it was Rich Willey taking the win, Jason Porter was second with Sean Lantas third, Erin Akin fourth and Jacob Brown fifth.

The Wingless Auto Club made their first appearance of the season with Jamie Glidden leading the entire distance to take the win. Mark Cole ran second until his car shut down in turn two, causing a caution. This allowed Doug McPhail to take second with Sam Comeau moving to third. That is how they finished with Jamie Glidden taking the win, Doug McPhail second and Sam Comeau third. Adam Trott and Jack Cook completed the top five.

A 50 lap Enduro completed the evening with Shane LaBraney dominating, holding a full lap lead before his motor went with just a few laps to go. This allowed Alex Kelly to take the lead and the victory.

Joining the regular divisions of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series this week will be the Sportsman Coupes of the Bear Ridge Speedway.

The Legion Speedway is located on Route 25 at the Wentworth/Rumney NH Town line with racing every Friday Night at 7:00 PM. For more information visit www.LegionSpeedway.com

Unofficial Results-Legion Speedway, Friday May 18th 2018

Peanut’s Auto Sportsman Modified Feature: 1. Ricky Sanville 2. T.C. Forward 3. Jason Sanville 4. Lenny Pillsbury 5. Todd Buckwold 6. Jeff Huntington 7. Matt Lashua 8. Ryan Christian 9. Brent Warren 10. Wayland Childs 11. Adam Piper 12. Andy Badger 13. David Heath-DNS 14. Derek O’Hearn-DNS

Homestead Creations Sportsman Late Model Feature: 1. Toby Stark 2. Matt Pike 3. Travis Smith 4. Bob Crawford 5. Scott Heath 6. Tyler Trembley 7. Jesse Durkee 8. Kelly Miller

Rand’s Hardware Outlaw Mini Stock: 1. Rich Willey 2. Jason Porter 3. Sean Lantas 4. Erin Aiken 5. Jacob Brown 6. David Flanders 7. Nicolas Comeau 8. Eric Prescott 9. #2
10. Ryan French 11. Justin Carbee 12. Austin Tallman 13. Mike Lique 14. William Partridge
15. Jack Cook 16. Mike McClay 17. Chris Conroy 18. Kelly Miller Jr 19. Tim St. John 20. Jed Fligg-DNS

Wingless Auto Club: 1. Jamie Glidden 2. Doug McPhail 3. Sam Comeau 4. Adam Trott 5. Jack Cook 6. Doug Boucher 7. Mark Cole 8. Dan Bowne-DNS 9. #36-DNS 10. #22-DNS