Chevalier, Homan, Ramsay, Buscumb, and Llord Score Opening Night Wins at New Humberstone Speedway

PORT COLBORNE, ONT – The New Humberstone Speedway started their 59th season of racing on Sunday night in front of a great crowd as the Seaway Mall presented the night’s racing program. Chad Chevalier from Port Colborne, Ontario won the feature event for the Harvey’s-Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman. Chad Homan from Macedon, NY won the main event for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models. Justin Ramsay from Belleville, Ontario picked up the win in the JC Auto Thunder Stocks. Leroy Buscumb from Port Colborne, Ontario scored the win in the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks. Dylan Llord from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up the victory in the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks.

Greg Panunte and Chad Chevalier battled for and exchanged the lead early in the 25-lap feature for the Harvey’s Swiss Chalet of Port Colborne DIRTcar Sportsman. Chevalier would clear for good off a lap five restart. Cody McPherson would reel in and challenge Panunte for second as Chevalier would open his advantage. After a couple of mid-race cautions that bunched the field back together, Chevalier and Panunte would battle for the lead again and in the end, it was Chevalier, the 2017 track champion, BEI Lightning Series Champion, and Race of Champions Sportsman Series Champion in victory lane to back up his 2017 championship performance.

In the first Home Track race for the Northeast Late Models Alliance for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models, qualifying heat winner John Pinsonneault and Chad Homan set the front row with Homan showing the way. Adam Ferri would quickly move into the runner-up position by lap three and would start to reel in Homan. Homan, the 2017 track champion from Central New York, dominated the 20-lap feature in route to the victory.

Trevor DeBoer and Jason Fontaine brought the JC Auto Thunder Stocks with Fontaine showing the way. Justin Ramsay would take the lead on lap four and then would have a battle with Dave Bailey for the lead. Bailey would take the lead just one lap later. Rob Hoskins spun in turn two to bring out the caution. Justin Ramsay would regain the lead on the restart. Ramsay and Bailey would battle throughout the main event with Ramsay holding off Bailey to score the win.

Kyle Rothwell led from the drop of the green flag as the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks had their first home track race as part of the Insta-Panels Duel on the Dirt. Jillian Hils quickly worked through the field and would challenge Rothwell and Leroy Buscumb for the lead. Buscumb would take the lead away on lap nine. Buscumb would hold off Hils to score the win.

Mitch Dumont and Craig Vlasic were on the front row for the 15-lap main event for Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks with Dumont showing the way. Dylan Llord would take the lead away from Dumont on lap four. Stephanie Ayers would bring out the races first caution on lap nine. Llord would hold off Mitch Dumont to get the victory.

NEWS AND NOTES: Nearly 90 race cars signed in pitside for Opening Night. The final checkered flag flew at 9:45 pm.

The 59th season of racing continues next Sunday, May 27 as Walters Excavating presents Don Simpson Memorial Night. A full card of racing will be held featuring the first home race for the Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt for the JC Auto Thunder Stocks. Gates will open at 4:00 pm with racing getting underway at 6:30 pm. Kids are encouraged to join the Humberbee’s Kids Club for their activities starting at 4:30 pm on race nights.


Harvey’s Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman: CHAD CHEVALIER, Greg Panunte, Cody McPherson, Brad Rouse, Darrell Farraway, Dylan Davidson, Luke Carleton, Jordan Cosco, Tyler Puchalski, Jay Mallory, Justin Sharp, Chris Storm, Zack Sam, Emily Puchalski, Ryan Ferri, Brandon Gruhl, Adam Leslie, Derek VanMil, Chris Waters

Qualifying Heats: Brad Rouse, Adam Leslie, Chad Chevalier

Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models: CHAD HOMAN, John Pinsonneault, Sam Pennacchio, TJ Downs, Kyle Sopaz, Andy Mahew, CJ Field, Mike Greene, Jeff Dayman, Jay Liverance, Brad Simpson, Adam Ferri, Rob Pietz, Colton Ledingham, David Pangrazio, Steve Baldwin, Rob Wilson, Ken Winfield

Qualifying Heats: Chad Homan, John Pinsonneault, Adam Ferri

JC Auto Thunder Stocks: JUSTIN RAMSAY, Dave Bailey, Jason Fontaine, Kyle Pelrine, Pete Reid, Rob Murray, Teeple, Trevor DeBoer, Jim Lampman, Rob Hoskins, Barry Blanchard, Champ Champigny, Donny Lampman, Barry Beck Jr, Wade Purchase

Qualifying Heats: Kyle Pelrine, Justin Ramsay

Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks: LEROY BUSCUMB, Jillian Hils, Kyle Rothwell, Olivier Larocque, Rob Sauder, Anthony Kelly, Evan Curtis, Kyle Haynes, Cole Hardy, Jay Moulton, Tyler Lafantasie, Sam Iftody, Vincent Pagnotta, Dan McKay, Fabio Olivieri, Clinton Nichols, Jeremy Cooper, Kourtney Kocarik, David Hoyle, Sean Iftody, Jason Tolten, Brandon Iudiciani, Kenny Hair, Trevor Want

Qualifying Heats: Leroy Buscumb, Cole Hardy, Alex Riley

Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks: DYLAN LLORD, Mitch Dumont, Craig Vlasic, Danny Wurster, John Cote, Justin Towers, Jay Dupuis, Stephanie Ayers

Qualifying Heat: Craig Vlasic

About Humberstone Speedway: Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, please visit us on the World Wide Web at as well as follow us on Twitter @NewHumberstone and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 90.3FM. You can also call the speedway at (905) 834-4002 or the speedway office at Cosco Haulage (905) 935-2886