James Michael Friesen Scores RoC Sportsman Series Win at New Humberstone

PORT COLBORNE, ONT – For the second season in a row, the New Humberstone Speedway hosted their $1,000-to-win showdown for all classes to celebrate Canada Day. Was victorious in the main event for the Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series. Charlie Sandercock from Carrying Place, Ontario took home the victory in the Northeast Late Model Alliance combined event for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models. Rob Murray from St. Catharines, Ontario crossed the line first in the Insta-Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race for the JC Auto Thunder Stocks. However, Murray failed post-race inspection. Port Colborne, Ontario’s Olivier Larocque picked up the victory in the Insta-Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks, his first feature win of the season at Humberstone. Redboss Pyrotechnics lit up the sky after the racing action with a Canada Day Fireworks spectacular.

Darrell Farraway raced away from his pole position in the 40-lap main event for the Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series. Adam Leslie would move into the second position and would go after Farraway on lap six as James Michael Friesen moved into third place. Cody McPherson would work his way through the field from his seventh starting position to take over third from Friesen on lap 12. Friesen would go three wide with McPherson and Farraway to move into second place on lap 17 and would challenge Leslie for the lead. Friesen would take the lead on lap 19. With Friesen well in command out front, McPherson would take second away from Leslie with seven laps remaining. The caution would come out for a spin by Dave DiPietro in turn four, setting up a five-lap shootout.

Chad Homan took off from his outside pole position to take the lead in the main event for the North East Late Model Alliance combined race for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models. Charlie Sandercock would take the lead away from Homan on lap seven as he and Homan pulled away from Sam Pennacchio, Tim Gillespie, and Kyle Sopaz. Sopaz would take third away from Pennacchio on lap 13 and would reel in Homan and race leader Sandercock. A late race restart would bunch the field back up but Sandercock would regain the lead and would lead the final seven circuits to pick up the victory over Chad Homan.

Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race for the JC Auto Thunder Stocks was brought to the green flag for their 40-lap feature by Austin Reid and Jason Fontaine with Fontaine leading lap one with Justin Ramsay running in third. Pete Reid would take over second position on lap three and would go after race leader Fontaine. Rob Murray would move into second after a lap six restart and would challenge Fontaine. Murray and Reid would battle for several laps in second place as Fontaine would start to pull away from the field. After a mid-race caution, Rob Murray was able to get to the outside and would take the lead away from Fontaine on lap 23. Once the field got some green flag laps laid down, Murray would open up the lead as Doug Anderson battled with Dave Bailey for second place. Murray would drive away to what would appear to be a $1000 payday. However, Murray failed post-race inspection. Doug Anderson, and Dave Bailey would complete the top three.

Jay Moulton and Olivier Larocque shared the front row for the Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks with Moulton showing the way. Austyn Werstroh took over second with Larocque, Tony Kelly, and Leroy Buscumb racing inside the top five early on. Kyle Wert, and Gillian Hils made contact on the front stretch to bring out the red flag on lap seven. All drivers were alright and climbed out of their cars under their own power. On the restart, Leroy Buscumb moved into the top three. Olivier Larocque would take the lead on lap 11 after Moulton went over the edge of the racetrack exiting turn two. Tony Kelly Jr took over second place on lap 15 and would set his sights on the race leader. Larocque would continue to show the way throughout the second half of the 40-lap feature.

NEWS AND NOTES: 112 cars signed in pitside for the #CanadaDayShowdown.

Next Sunday night will be a special one as it is the Bob St. Amand Sr Memorial Night. All divisions will be receiving Papa Payout bonuses. A full card of racing of Sportsman, Late Models, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks and Pro 4 Trucks will be presented. Gates will open at 4:30 pm with racing getting underway at 6:30 pm. Kids are encouraged to join the Humbee’s Kids Club for their activities starting at 5:00pm on race nights.


Race of Champions 602 Sportsman Modified Series: JAMES MICHAL FRIESEN, Cody McPherson, Brad Rouse, Adam Leslie, Darrell Farraway, Luke Carleton, Chad Chevalier, Jay Mallory, Dylan Davidson, James Henry, Tyler Puchalski, Emily Puchalski, Dave DiPietro, Matt Sharpe, Derek VanMil, Dave Small, Dean Scott, Scott Sonnenburg, Justin Sharp, Rob Sauder Did Not Start: Jordan Cosco

Qualifying Heats: James Michael Friesen, Adam Leslie, Jay Mallory

Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models: CHARLIE SANDERCOCK, Chad Homan, Colton Ledingham, Kyle Sopaz, Adam Ferri, John Pinsonneault, Rob Pietz, Steve Baldwin, Ken Winfield, Sam Pennacchio, Stan Zanchin, Jeff Dayman, Austin King, Phil Potts, Jay Liverance, Tim Gillespie, Mike Greene

Qualifying Heats: Sam Pennacchio, Chad Homan, Kyle Sopaz

JC Auto Thunder Stocks: UNOFFICIAL RESULTS Doug Anderson, Dave Bailey, Dave Small, Kyle Pelrine, Ryan Beagle, Justin Ramsay, Pete Reid, Ken Sargent, Brandon Crumbie, Jason Fontaine, Billy Bleich Jr, Blake Bomberry, Donny Lampman, Wade Purchase, Chris Hale, Trevor DeBoer, Austin Reid, Barry Blanchard, Bryce Richardson, Steve Shaw, Adam Wells, Barry Beck Jr, Brad Sheehan, Steve Shaw Jr, Jim Lampman, Rob Murray (DQ)

Failed to Qualify: Ryan Dinning, Rob Hoskins, Steve Vanderzanden, Angie Kirby, Todd Shaw, Jeff Roelofs, Mark Bazuin, Matt Willson, Jesse McDonald, Zach Bleich, Tony Fraiser, Kevin Kocarik, Logan Schwedyk, Go Fast Teeple

Qualifying Heats: Wade Purchase, Jim Lampman, Dave Bailey, Doug Anderson, Ken Sargent

Consolation Winners: Blake Bomberry, Steve Shaw Jr

Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks: OLIVIER LAROCQUE, Tony Kelly, Jay Moulton, Leroy Buscumb, Dale Millard, Alex Riley, Vincent Pagnotta, Cole Hardy, Matt Nuell, Sean Iftody, Mike Sarantakos, Dave Crumbie, Anthony Kelly Jr, Fabio Oliveri, Craig Vlasic, Austyn Werstroh, Dan McKay, Jeremy May, Aiden Nigh, Sam Iftody, Jason Dixon, Gillian Hils, Kyle Wert, Kyle Rothwell Did Not Start: Rob Sauder, Jeremy Cooper

Failed to Qualify: Jason Tolton, Blake Wadham, Cameron Lane, Kevin Kocarik, Clinton Nichols

Qualifying Heats: Rob Sauder, Jay Moulton, Gillian Hils, Austyn Werstroh

Consolation Winners: Cole Hardy, Jason Dixon

About Humberstone Speedway: Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, please visit us on the World Wide Web at www.humberstonespeedway.com as well as follow us on Twitter @NewHumberstone and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 89.9FM. You can also call the speedway at (905) 834-4002 or the speedway office at Cosco Haulage (905) 935-2886