James Michael Friesen Wins Bob St. Amand Sr Memorial at New Humberstone

PORT COLBORNE, ONT – Third-generation driver James Michael Friesen from St. Catharines, Ontario was victorious in the 30-lap main event for the Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman on Bob St Amand Sr Memorial Night at the New Humberstone Speedway on Sunday evening. For Friesen, it was his second victory of the 2018 campaign at the Port Colborne speedplant. The finish is unofficial pending a technical review. Cody McPherson from St. Catharines, Ontario won his first feature of the season at New Humberstone in the make-up feature for the Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman. Chad Homan from Macedon, NY won his third Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models feature of the season. Dave Bailey from Hagersville, Ontario won his second JC Auto Thunder Stocks feature of the season. Olivier Larocque from Port Colborne, Ontario won his second straight main event for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks. Mitch Dumont from Welland, Ontario won his third Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Truck feature of the season.

James Michael Friesen and Jay Mallory led the field down to the green flag for the 30-lap feature for the Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman with Friesen jumping into the lead. Jordan Cosco would move into second and would challenge Friesen for the lead for several circuits. Cody McPherson and Chad Chevalier moved up through the field. After a lap 12 restart, Chad Chevalier would battle with Friesen for the lead. Chevalier would go to the outside to pass Friesen on lap 14. With Chevalier showing the way, Friesen and McPherson would battle for second place, with Friesen holding McPherson off. Brad Rouse would make it a three-car battle in the closing stages as that trio would reel in Chevalier. Friesen would regain the lead back from Chevalier with three laps remaining and would go on to score the win, his second straight feature win at New Humberstone. Friesen offered in victory lane that “it is special to win tonight. I grew up knowing the St. Amand family and it is an honor to win on the night to honor Bob Sr”. The finish of the race is unofficial pending a technical review.

The Sportsman also ran the completion of the 25-lap feature from June 10th with Jay Mallory and Brad Rouse battling for the lead with Rouse taking the lead. After a lap nine restart, Greg Panunte would take the lead away after Mallory and Rouse got together, in turn, one, with both losing several positions on the speedway. Cody McPherson would move into the top two and would go after race leader Panunte. McPherson would then pass Panunte with five laps remaining and would go on to score the victory.

Rob Pietz and Sam Pennacchio led the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models to the green flag for their 20-lap main event with Pietz showing the way early. Chad Homan moved into the top three and would go after second place, Sam Pennacchio. Homan would take second just before the halfway mark as Pietz would open-up the lead. The races first caution would come out on lap 13 as Adam Ferri slowed after hitting the front stretch wall. Homan would take the lead off the restart and would go to score his third win of the season.

The JC Auto Thunder Stocks was brought to the green flag for their 20-lap feature by Jason Fontaine and Dave Bailey with Fontaine showing the way early. Fontaine and Bailey would battle throughout the event, including splitting lap cars and still battling for the lead, having the crowd on the edges of their seats throughout the race. After battling for much of the event, Bailey would clear Fontaine late and would go on to score the win.

Jay Moulton led from the pole in the 15-lap feature for the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks. Olivier Larocque took second away off an early race restart and would start out to pull away from the field. Larocque would hold off challenges from several competitors including Leroy Buscumb, Jay Moulton, and Cole Hardy. Larocque would go on to score his second straight feature win.

Adam Nicholls led the opening circuits in the main event for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks. Danny Wurster, Dylan Llord, and Mitch Dumont battled for the lead Dumont took the lead on with two laps to go. Dumont would go on to score the win, his second in a row, and third of the season.

NEWS AND NOTES: Huge thanks to the St. Amand family along with all the lap sponsors and contingency sponsors that helped put on the event. Also, a huge thank you to all the sponsors of the bike giveaways that took place throughout the night.

Next Sunday night, July 15, the Metro Group of Companies presents the fan favorite Autograph Night and Super Hero Night! A full card of racing of Sportsman, Late Models, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks and Pro 4 Trucks will be presented. Gates will open at 4:30 pm with racing getting underway at 6:30 pm. Kids are encouraged to join the Humbee’s Kids Club for their activities starting at 5:00 pm on race nights.


Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman (From 6-10): CODY MCPHERSON, Greg Panunte, James Michael Friesen, Adam Leslie, Jay Mallory, Jordan Cosco, Emily Puchalski, Robbie Johnston, Dalton Martin, Dylan Davidson, Justin Sharp, Derek VanMil, Scott Sonnenberg, Tyler Puchalski, Chad Chevalier, Chris Storm, Vince Fargnoli, Trevor Wright, Brad Rouse

Harvey’s/Swiss Chalet DIRTcar Sportsman (UNOFFICIAL PENDING TECHNICAL REVIEW): JAMES MICHAEL FRIESEN, Chad Chevalier, Brad Rouse, Cody McPherson, Adam Leslie, Luke Carleton, Dylan Davidson, Jordan Cosco, Greg Panunte, Jay Mallory, Justin Sharp, Emily Puchalski, Robbie Johnston, Dave Small, Rob Sauder, Lee Mallory, Brandon Gruhl, Dalton Martin, Noah Mamo, Derek VanMil, Tyler Puchalski, Scott Sonnenberg

Qualifying Heats: Dylan Davidson, Cody McPherson, Greg Panunte

Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models: CHAD HOMAN, Jeff Dayman, Sam Pennacchio, Rob Pietz, Tim Gillespie, Colton Ledingham, Mike Greene, Ken Winfield, Stan Zanchin, Jay Liverance, Adam Ferri

Qualifying Heats: Jeff Dayman, Adam Ferri

JC Auto Thunder Stocks: DAVE BAILEY, Jason Fontaine, Ken Sargent, Billy Bleich Jr, Kyle Pelrine, Jim Lampman, Dave Small, Pete Reid, Barry Blanchard, Trevor DeBoer, Barry Beck Jr, Jesse McDonald, Rob Murray, Teeple

Qualifying Heats: Dave Bailey, Kyle Pelrine

Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks: OLIVIER LAROCQUE, Cole Hardy, Jeremy Cooper, Jay Moulton, Evan Curtis, Sean Iftody, Mike Sarantakos, David Hoyle, John Lubeck, Sam Iftody, Craig Vlasic, Austyn Werstroh, Brandon Iudiciani, Leroy Buscumb, Kyle Rothwell, Cameron Lane, Paul Longboat, Fabio Oliveri

Qualifying Heats: Jeremy Cooper, Jay Moulton

Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks: MITCH DUMONT, Danny Wurster, Craig Vlasic, Adam Nicholls, Jay Dupuis, Matt Cayouette, Justin Towers, Dylan Llord, Stephanie Ayers Did Not Start: Terry Ronning

Qualifying Heats: Terry Ronning, Dylan Llord

About Humberstone Speedway: Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, please visit us on the World Wide Web at www.humberstonespeedway.com as well as follow us on Twitter @NewHumberstone and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 89.9FM. You can also call the speedway at (905) 834-4002 or the speedway office at Cosco Haulage (905) 935-2886