James Michael Friesen, David Pangrazio, Rob Murray, and Tyler Lafantaisie Collect $1000 Canada Day Showdown Wins at New Humberstone

PORT COLBORNE, ONT – James Michael Friesen from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up the checkered flag in the Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series Canada Day Showdown presented by Product 9 at the New Humberstone Speedway on Sunday night. David Pangrazio from Batavia, NY picked up the victory in the first combined race of the Vanderlaan Building Supplies Northeast Late Model Alliance for the Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models. Rob Murray from St. Catharines, Ontario scored the win in the JC Auto Thunderstock Insta Panel Duel on the Dirt combined race. Tyler Lafantaisie from Welland, Ontario won the Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race for the Glo & Go Tanning Mini Stocks.

The Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series presented by Product 9 made their first appearance of the season and their 40-lap feature would see Emily Puchalski and James Michael Friesen on the front row with Puchalski showing the way. Friesen would take the lead on lap three with Brad Rouse and McPherson running second and third. Adam Leslie moved into second on lap 13. Off a mid-race restart, Adam Leslie challenged Friesen for the lead. At the end of the 40-lap contest, it was Friesen crossing the finish line first to pick up his second win of the season at New Humberstone. He was followed to the line by Leslie, Cody McPherson, Greg Panunte, and Brad Rouse. Race two of the 2019 Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series presented by Product 9 will take place on Monday, July 1 at Merrittville Speedway.

The Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models hosted the first Northeast Late Model Alliance combined race with Kyle Sopaz and Sam Pennacchio on the front row with Pennacchio showing the way. Pennacchio would use his track knowledge throughout the contest as he would open-up his lead over the field. Sopaz was challenged for second and was passed by Charlie Sandercock and Sandercock would start to reel in Pennacchio while working lap traffic. A car that was on the move throughout the contest was David Pangrazio. Pangrazio would be able to get around Sopaz, Sandercock, and eventually Pennacchio to take over the lead late in the event. Pangrazio would go on to score his first win of the season at New Humberstone. Pangrazio to the lead late and went on to score the win.

The JC Auto Thunderstocks had their Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race with Kyle Pelrine showing the way from the drop of the green. Rob Murray moved in second and would go after the race leader Pelrine. Murray would take the lead away from Pelrine on lap 10 as Billy Bleich Jr and Dave Bailey battled for third place for several laps. Bleich would take second away off a lap 13 restart. Bailey and Pelrine would hook together on the back straightaway to bring out the caution with 10 laps remaining. Murray would hold off and would eventually pull away from Bleich to score the win.

Jeremy Cooper and Dan McKay were on the front row for the Insta Panels Duel on the Dirt combined race for the Glo & Go Tanning Mini Stocks with Cooper showing the way in the 40-lap affair. Cooper, Kyle Wert, and Olivier Larocque would pull away from the field and would battle with lap traffic early in the main event. McKay spun in turn one to bring out the races first caution on lap 11. Off the restart, Cooper and Wert would battle for the lead with Wert taking the lead away on lap 17. Cooper would have issues and pull off after a mid-race restart, giving the lead to Tyler Lafantaisie. Lafantaisie would hold off challenges from Jay Moulton, Evan Curtis, and Kyle Wert over the last 20 laps to score the win.

NEWS AND NOTES: 108 cars signed in pitside for the racing activities.

Next Sunday night is the annual Bob St. Amand Sr Memorial night with “Papa payouts” in all classes as we honor and remember longtime racer, and regional racing official Bob St. Amand Sr. The Pen Centre will present the full Epic Racewear Weekly Racing Series Program plus a team demolition derby will cap off the night. Gates will swing open at 4pm and showtime is at 6:30pm. All kids in attendance can check out the activities with the Humbee’s Kids Club presented by the Port Colborne Dairy Queen happening at 5:00 pm each race night.

Race of Champions 602 Dirt Sportsman Modified Series: JAMES MICHAEL FRIESEN, Adam Leslie, Cody McPherson, Greg Panunte, Brad Rouse, Chad Chevalier, Jordan Cosco, Dylan Davidson, Dave DiPietro, Jay Mallory, Matt Sharpe, Andrew Smith, Lee Mallory, Rob Sauder, Justin Sharp, Tyler Puchalski, Emily Puchalski, Tom Richau Jr
Qualifying Heats: Adam Leslie, James Michael Friesen, Brad Rouse

Pro Fabrication RUSH Late Models: DAVID PANGRAZIO, Charlie Sandercock, Sam Pennacchio, Kyle Sopaz, John Pinsonneault, Chad Homan, Rob Pietz, Steve Baldwin, Tim Gillespie, TJ Downs, Josh Dolan, Adam Ferri, Brad Rayner, Mike Greene, Craig Graham, Jim Dale, Jay Liverance, Ryan Goudie, Brandon Mowat, Phil Potts, Colton Ledingham, Kevin Goudie, Jeff Dayman, Stan Zanchin, Bryan Sudsbury
Failed to Qualify: Dave Stolzenberg Jr, Ken Winfield
Qualifying Heats: Kyle Sopaz, Rob Pietz, Chad Homan
Consolation Race: Jim Dale

JC Auto Thunderstocks: ROB MURRAY, Billy Bleich Jr, Steve Shaw, Austin Reid, Ryan Beagle, Donny Lampman, Justin Ramsay, Ken Sargent, Jim Lampman, Trevor DeBoer, Go Fast Teeple, Kyle Pelrine, Dave Bailey, Bryce Richardson, Jeff Roelofs, Zach Bleich, Jason Fontaine, Rob Hoskins, Dave Small, Barry Beck Jr, Steve Shaw Jr, Christopher Hale, Doug Anderson, Barry Blanchard, Ryan Dinning, Wade Purchase
Failed to Qualify: Brandon Crumbie, Terry Gougerat, Adam Wells, Pete Reid, Mark Fawcett, Logan Schwedyk, Clinton Nicholls, Matt Wilson, Mason Smith
Qualifying Heats: Jim Lampman, Steve Shaw, Steve Shaw Jr, Kyle Pelrine
Consolation Race: Trevor DeBoer

Glo & Go Tanning Mini Stocks: TYLER LAFANTAISIE, Kyle Wert, Jay Moulton, Craig Vlasic, Olivier Larocque, Johnathon Ayrton, Dave Crumbie, Trevor Want, Mike Sarantakos, Fabio Oliveri, Evan Curtis, Cole Hardy, Dan McKay, Jason Tolton, Kourtney Kocarik, Vincent Pagnotta, Brett Walker, Victoria Gravestock, Aiden Nigh, Austyn Werstroh, Matthew Moore, Rob Shaw, Leroy Buscumb, Jeremy Cooper, Jeremy May, Sam Iftody, Adam Stevenson, David Hoyle
Qualifying Heats: Kyle Wert, Tyler Lafantaisie, Jay Moulton

About Humberstone Speedway: Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, please visit us on the World Wide Web at www.humberstonespeedway.com as well as follow us on Twitter @NewHumberstone and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 89.9FM. You can also call the speedway at (905) 834-4002 or the speedway office at Cosco Haulage (905) 935-2886